We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortune Resort Bay Island
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I will remember this hotel for its location. With a scarcity of five star hotels in Port Blair I was not very sure when I booked this hotel on booking.com. I found it expensive but the best based of reviews online.

Its an old style property with wooden floors, a very open layout and a spectacular view of the Bay of Bengal. Its the view that blew my mind when I walked into the hotel and that is what will stay with me.

Its overpriced given that its not a premium hotel and an old property without world class amenities. The rooms are nice and spacious with huge french windows into the balcony. There is an old model TV, fridge and music system in the room. This reminded me of the early 90s.

The hotel staff are polite and helpful. The breakfast spread was super tasty and the Nico Bar was well stocked.

Definitely a place to stay if visiting Port Blair.

Room Tip: Make sure you are booking a sea facing room. An absolute must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPallavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    195
    133
    42
    31
See reviews for
199
218
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is ideally located on picturesque point really gives lot of relaxing. Wonderfully made of wooden structure over looking the Bay of Bengal. The swimming pool was not functional, the rooms gives a peculiar smell but got used to after a while, bath rooms are too small and not of great maintenance while looking at the promoter, the ITC group. The service is good and the food quality is good.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the Bay of Bengal in my view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venugoapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Without a doubt, this should be the best property in Port Blair. Excellent food topped with a further great service! The staff make you feel very important :)

The size of the rooms and especially bathrooms could have been bigger considering what they charge. The wooden floor smells in a peculiar way, although this was not a put-off.

I would recommend that one should stay this property if you can get this in your budget. When checked out, I made a promise to myself that I will come back to Andamans and stay in this property again...really nice experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swami_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I visited the Andaman and Nicobar islands last week with my wife and stayed at the splendid Fortune Resort Bay Island ( courtesy a cheap’n’best 5n/6d package by 99andaman.com) bordering the Marine Hills in Port Blair. This is probably the best restaurant in Port Blair and when compounded with the beauty of the idyllic beaches bordering the resort the beauty of this resort is really unparalleled.

Being a part of the famous ITC group the Fortune Resort Bay Island was a tad bit expensive on extra services( dryclean.fone,landline,laundry etc) but the comfort and convenience justified the cost. Almost all rooms opened to a view of the Bay of Bengal, and hence the choice of rooms makes little importance. However the rooms on the corner provided the best view because of its panoramic feature and hence if available these should be on your radar.

We got a room in the ground floor on the eastern side facing the sea as well as the garden. The room was around 50 sqmt in area and was replete with all the facilities you would expect in a far off island. The room balcony provided an amazing view, something which we again enjoyed from the restaurant and the Bar.

The Service is excellent and the staff were very well mannered and always ready to help. The manager also liked giving personalized attention and reserved a table for us on most days from where the sight was again breath taking. Amidst this entire quixotic milieu the food invariably felt delicious.

The bar is known as the "Nico Bar" was superb and had a wide collection of wines and had good options to choose from. Although there was only one restaurant at the resort but the delectable preparation and smiling chef made up for it in more ways than one. Overall, it was a great experience and would gladly recommend this resort to everyone travelling to Andaman.

Room Tip: all rooms open up to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanchit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I really liked the Hotel. The food was Awesome, Hospitality was awesome, the room condition, pool side area, dining area all of them were very neat & clean maintained. I must stay it is the best place to stay with in Port Blair. Also always ask for the Sea Facing Room which will cost you extra however its worth spending it. Overall best place to stay.

Room Tip: Always opt for Sea Facing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aashish0963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Well full points for view ! I am sure that this resort has the best location in Port Blair. Mount Hariot, Nothbay, Light house, Saw Mill, Jetty and the Water Sport complex is all visible from there. We really enjoyed soaking in hours of the view, enjoying the chirping of birds on the breezy open air deck of the restaurant or the bar or for that matter our very own room balcony. Just too good!
The service is good with eversmiling front office staff.
The atmosphere is lively and the Bay is teaming of activities with the harbour nearby..... Lovely!
They could though use some renovation of the property especially the bathrooms to match with the name of the Fortune Hotels.
But the view made up for it so we did not mind.

Room Tip: Since the main attraction of this property is the view, it is wiser to spend extra for a Sea Facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bithika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

though the property was good but shows signs of being worn out...it needs to be rebuilt.
food is mediocre,though food should have some exotic seafood in buffet since I beleive the local catch could be cheaper in terms of cost.overall the breakfast is sad and so is the menu.
the chef etc were not accomodative in preparing something special for their guests..everyone stuck to the cliches"
one thing to cheer about is the view from the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drvivek13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
0.0 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#17 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#10 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#3 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#6 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Resort Bay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Resort Bay Island

Property: Fortune Resort Bay Island
Address: Bay Island, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune Resort Bay Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fortune Resort Bay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Bay Island Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Hotel Bay Island
Fortune Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Resort Bay Island Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing