We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fortune Resort Bay Island
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Anugama Resort(Port Blair)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sentinel(Port Blair)
$112
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
J Hotel(Port Blair)
$72
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SeaShell, Port Blair(Port Blair)
$121
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Haywizz(Port Blair)
$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sun Sea Resort(Port Blair)
$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aparupa(Port Blair)
$33
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
158
214
143
45
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
214
143
45
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnico barsea facing roommandalay restaurantrupee noteneeds renovationwooden flooringlight housetravel desktable tenniscoconut waterwelcome drinkexcellent viewsea breezeview of the baynorth baybeautiful propertyreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 596 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we ended our andaman vacation with one night at this hotel- amazing views , and a hotel with character , acknowledging the terrain and local weather - built into the hill - so rooms at different levels , big airy spaces for the bar and restaurant. Lovely rooms - but obviously redone ( rooms reduced from orignal design? - with poky bathrooms) . excellent service and decent food ( stay with indian food)
good way to end the holiday

Room Tip: choose sea facing rooms, they cost a bit more but are well worth it
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The place is amazing, new, clean, great design, amazing view to the ocean. The room is spacious, very clean, forniture not really new. Clean toilet with hot water. Excellent toilet service. A four star hotel, three for european strandards. Nice view from the room with balcony and seats outside. Reception staff is unfriendly and not helpfull. Everithing that you can do by yourself for a chep price, done through them is 10 times more expensive. The tried to offer us some trip packets for incredibly high prices. Same tours taken outiside (ask a tuk tuk driver for help) were really cheaper. Everything is done under payment (even internet connection and a phone call). We expected that because of the high price of the room at least the wi-fi (that didn't work) were free. A very good point was the food and the restaurant staff. A buffet dinner for less than 500 rupies, excellent food, very friendly staff, amazing ocean view. Go there just for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adras81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We started our Andaman vacation at Fortune Bay Resort in Port Blair - we were greeted with a breath-taking view of the sea along with Welcome Drinks. We got delayed at the airport and arrived in the late afternoon. The rooms were pretty ordinary and the bathroom was atrociously small and poorly ventilated. We asked the hotel to pack some lunch (curd rice given that there were a lot of kids and we didn't want to risk their stomachs on the first day). The packing was so poor that more than half of the packets had leaked and had to be thrown away.

The dinner buffet selection was good but the service was quite ordinary - while the staff were quite courteous and polite, they were not responsive and did not do justice to the ITC brand.

We had an early morning start the next day and sure enough, the hot water was not switched on (the manager later blamed it on a "internal communication disconnect"). The hotel also goofed up on the sandwiches we had ordered (blamed again on "internal communication disconnect"). The evening high-tea was good but the Christmas "gala" dinner was quite ordinary (except for the price). The Christmas Cake was exceptionally terrible and none of the 9 children in our group touched it after the first taste.

We didn't see a lot of choices when it came to hotels in Port Blair and our only other experience was worse than Fortune Bay so I would recommend travelers to go to this place with very low expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Frotune Resort Bay Island. We booked this place as it is part of the Fortune group. However, the very first interaction with the Manager disappointed us. He was rude and not accomodative. People take their own time to get to your requests and it is High time Fortune starts to rennovate the rooms as they are really old

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the resort. Loved the location, specially the dining hall overlooking the bay! The view from the restaurant was awesome. The service was good too. For 2 days out of 3, we got good rooms with a view of the sea from the balcony, even though we had asked only for std rooms. But the room we recd on 1 day on the ground floor was disappointing.

The hotel was built many years back and could do with some renovation. Some of the wooden floorboards were creaking and the bathroom could be modernised.

However, we enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skakar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews