We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good...but can be lot Better”
Review of J Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good...but can be lot Better”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I had stayed there with family for 7 days and had mixed experience which i think worth sharing.

Pros:
====
1. Location. Right in the heart of the city and easy access to every touch points.
2. Restaurant with good quality food.
3. Very neat and hygienic.
4. The ambiance is good.

Cons:
=====
1. Except the restaurant every department needs lots of training. Right from the security to reception to the housekeeping... a very casual and merry go lucky approach. It makes me feel sometimes that they are very confused to see me there and like asking me why I am here. The laundry service is pathetic.
2. The buffet breakfast is very limited and repetitive. You will feel allergic to it if taken for 2-3 days. The buffer dinner is also not worth the price. Go for the a-la-carte menu instead.
3. The food again is very costly. There are lots of good restaurants just outside the hotel where you can have your meals and save money only to spend it on sight seeing and water sports.

But overall I would recommend this hotel due to its locational advantage and cleanliness. If the above cons are taken care of and hopefully so then this hotel can be the ideal destination to stay in Port Blair

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms. Not too great...but is the best among the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atanu_Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    141
    54
    16
    17
See reviews for
137
121
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visakhapatnam, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stay here ONLY if you want a decent place for a night layover before your ferry/ flight back. While the hotel is clean, that's only the good thing to say about it. They have tried to give it a upmarket feel but failed miserable in the attention to detail.
Worst part though are the staff, who can make even producing a bill during check out a nightmare. We checked in to find no curtain in our bathroom and were told its gone for a wash and would come after 2 days (by when we were checking out).
It's located in the market, so you wont get any vistas, but it comes in real handy when as most transport options are within 15 minutes by cab (a big plus for a transit stay).
Food isn't great either, so as I said earlier - decent for a night's stay, but nothing more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icexvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is located in the city
Food is very good.
Rooms are good.

Bad experience:
1. When first arrived in the evening we were really tired and wanted to take shower. But only hot water was coming. No cold water. Made several calls to the reception but no once came to fix the issue. After waiting for almost an hour had to go to the reception in person then a person was sent to fix it.
2. Didn't change the towels and had to call up service to do it.
3. Had given clothes for laundry and the laundry guy woke us up at 12 o clock middle of the night to return the clothes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeep550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

When I reached to Hotel area, I could not trust that the hotel will be so luxurious as they mentioned on their website as it is in the centre of the town, near Tower. But I found myself wrong when I entered in the Hotel. It is superbly maintained and clean. Best part is their decore of room. I was really felty relaxed when entered in room. Green area is also very clean. Room service was fast, Restaurant was quiet expensive but food was good and well located (Roof-top). View of City from top is also a good experience. Staff was very polite and helpful, hence need improvement a bit. I only had trouble for get liquor as they don't serve liquor in their hotel so I had to wander in city for that and after when I did not found anything, they sent a Waiter to my room and then he managed something from outside with more money. I request the hotel yo utilize their space and start serve liquor for thirsties like me. Overall its chillaxing hotel to get refresh.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsm_sidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J HOTEL A, General Manager at J Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2017
"Greetings from 'J' Hotel - Port Blair, Andaman Islands"

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Apologies for a delayed response. It is feedback about your experience which helps us to strive and better our service standard for an overall better experience for the guest choosing our hospitality.
Would request you to kindly provide your contact details for further communication.
For further clarification please feel to contact us on 03192 24600 / 03192 243700-01
Thanks & Regards,
Faraz Ahmed
General Manager
J Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed for honeymoon during feb 2013.. Pardon me for writing a review so late..but indeed i loved d hotel all d way.. Breakfast buffet spread was not as sumptuous as tsg emrald view but nonetheless i was served jain food on request..rooms were good though a little compact..i got my travel tour booked at the last minute from mountain edge which is just opp dis hotel..even annapurna veg restaurant is quite near by...in heart of the city so liked it all d more..n yaa i too faced some hot water issues but its quite manageable given d andaman temperatures..it was just one week since opening of the hotel so was quite fresh...however dont know about it now..

Room Tip: No view from any room as such...landmark of d hotel is clock tower aberdeen bazaar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monilshah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J HOTEL A, General Manager at J Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2017
"Greetings from 'J' Hotel - Port Blair, Andaman Islands"

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Apologies for a delayed response. It is feedback about your experience which helps us to strive and better our service standard for an overall better experience for the guest choosing our hospitality.
Would request you to kindly provide your contact details for further communication.
For further clarification please feel to contact us on 03192 24600 / 03192 243700-01
Thanks & Regards,
Faraz Ahmed
General Manager
J Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed during November and it's a bit busy season in Andaman. The hotel is located in the heart of the city - Aberdeen Bazaar. Rooms were maintained well with needed amenities except hair dryer. The restaurant in the top floor is an added advantage, although we have other hotels nearby. Overall a good experience but, the check-in check-out time is a minus.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navaneekrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J HOTEL A, General Manager at J Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2017
"Greetings from 'J' Hotel - Port Blair, Andaman Islands"

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Apologies for a delayed response. It is feedback about your experience which helps us to strive and better our service standard for an overall better experience for the guest choosing our hospitality.
Would request you to kindly provide your contact details for further communication.
For further clarification please feel to contact us on 03192 24600 / 03192 243700-01
Thanks & Regards,
Faraz Ahmed
General Manager
J Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

place had a foul smell... room and bathroom were stinking...ants everywhere - on dinner table, in food, in coffee mug....
When raised issue about dirty dining condition and demanded some adjustments in the final bill - what i deserved was INR 22.0!! :O still trying to digest...

one good point - property is new...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Varun_Jain2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J HOTEL A, General Manager at J Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2017
"Greetings from 'J' Hotel - Port Blair, Andaman Islands"

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Apologies for a delayed response. It is feedback about your experience which helps us to strive and better our service standard for an overall better experience for the guest choosing our hospitality.
Would request you to kindly provide your contact details for further communication.
For further clarification please feel to contact us on 03192 24600 / 03192 243700-01
Thanks & Regards,
Faraz Ahmed
General Manager
J Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
0.5 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 32 in Port Blair
413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 32 in Port Blair
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in Port Blair
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)
22.1 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Neil Island
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Hotel

Property: J Hotel
Address: Near Clock Tower, Aberdeen Bazaar, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of this beautiful town is the comfort and convenience of J Hotel.A boutique hotel,strategically located in the city center offering spacious and elegantly designed rooms located in the business district and near major tourist attractions like national memorial cellular jail, water sports complex, corbyns cove beach etc. The hotel is about 10 minutes drive to the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Hotel Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing