We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel, Not very good.”
Review of TSG Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TSG Grand
Ranked #11 of 77 Port Blair B&B and Inns
Guwahati, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An average hotel, Not very good.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days during my Andaman visit. A very average hotel with less than basic amenities available. They don't provide complementary mineral water bottles. Service is very very poor. The staff is very unprofessional. They will make you hurry up to the restaurant for dinner and breakfast as they closes the restaurant very early. If you are expecting a relaxing period at Andaman, this is obviously not the kind of hotel I would recommend. Location of the hotel is a residential area surrounded by private residences. It is near to the airport but away from the main Port blair market. Food is not at all good. House keeping was worst as they didnt changed the bedsheet used by the previous guests. I had to get into their head to get everything changed. They need to work upon their services to get into that cadre of good hospitality hotels.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biswajit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    39
    12
    11
See reviews for
49
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed one night before moving to Havelock and two nights after returning from Havelock as part of a Make My trip tour. The rooms were spanky clean, spacious and the linen was good. AC was efficient and bathrooms were modern and good. Location is very near to airport and you can see the flights taking off and landing. There is a sense of security . A bit far from the city centre, Aberdeen bazar.
Overall impression was very good. Would like to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaushikchowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sambalpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good hotel, Good food. Near to airport. Maintained well. Breakfast and Meals buffet was good. There is touch of south indian foods in breakfast. It is bit inside from the main road. I stayed there for three nights. Hospitality was good rooms were clean bathroom was also clean with modern fitting reception area was also good. This has a relatively new building. No swimming pool. Overall, a decent stay but don't expect great stuff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maitisudip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying in this hotel.

As compared to many other hotels in Port Blair, this has a relatively new building and it's very close to the airport.

Being a newer building, the rooms are clean.

But the hotel is not the best and certainly not something which I had expected. No swimming pool, no great in house restaurant (an Ok Ok restaurant). What's appalling is that this hotel depends on solar energy for providing hot water in rooms. So on a day when there's no sun, you need to call room service and they will provide you a bucket of hot water in 30 minutes. They could have done better than that.

Restaurant of Peerless portico is much much better. The buffet there is much better for dinner and even for breakfast, Grand hotel restaurant isn't great.

Room is clean but they don't provide water bottles. You need to purchase them also. There's no mini bar in room and the washroom doesn't have shampoo and other requisite utilities. Even the TV is much smaller ad compared to room size.

Overall, a decent stay but don't expect great stuff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MananShamihoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we went to honeymoon through makemytrip package they made us to stay
tsg grand we stay thay for 2 days one day before going to Havelock another
day returning from Havelock hospitality was good rooms were clean bathroom
was also clean with modern fitting reception area was also good.but the food
were bit expensive overall we had good experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohan585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Good hotel, Good food. Near to airport. Maintained well.
First floor rooms are older compared to others.
Breakfast and Meals buffet was good.
Road is small and narrow to reach the place.
It is bit inside from the main road.
Shop in the hotel was OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManasaGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzaffarpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayd in grand for a night returning fromm havelock .It is very close to airport so we chose to stay there. Its a big property bt its situated inside a residensial colony. Its enterance is very small with respect to property. Room were clean and big, Bathroom were clean with good fittings.But as it was new property ther were civil works going on and that makes some disterbance.Room service was not as good as it should ,was little bit slow.Its restaurant was so so type ,not such that i write a 3-4 line review, bt u can have your dinner one time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
0.0 mi away
TSG Emerald View
TSG Emerald View
#9 of 32 in Port Blair
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)
0.8 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port Blair
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 32 in Port Blair
416 reviews
22.8 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TSG Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TSG Grand

Property: TSG Grand
Address: Andaman Trunk Road, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744103, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proud symbol of elegance and hospitality, Hotel Grand, is a spectacular destination in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands providing guests nothing less than the best in service and accommodation. This 3-star wonder is a business class hotel and a class apart from other hotels. We are obligated to provide you with only the best in luxury and assistance of any kind. Hotel Grand proves to be an ideal stay for guests visiting the beautiful Andaman and Nicobar Islands not only by it's exquisite charm and design but also with the convenience it give guests who visit by flight as the hotel is situated just 10 minutes away from the airport. Our staff is well trained and seek only to provide the best service to our guests. We have been and will continue to run on the trust we gain from our guests. So the next time you visit the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, plan your stay with is and give us the chance to make your stay a memorable one here at TSG Grand ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your TSG Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TSG Grand Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing