We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Da Bay Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sentinel(Port Blair)
$112
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
J Hotel(Port Blair)
$72
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SeaShell, Port Blair(Port Blair)
$121
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Haywizz(Port Blair)
$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sun Sea Resort(Port Blair)
$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
13
15
37
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
15
37
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea facing roomfront office staffnice foodtop floorbuffet breakfastfirst floorhotel is locatedchathamhoneymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 86 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went to the Andamans on our honeymoon in December 2012 and stayed at Da Bay Inn for 3 nights. The hotel is in a pretty odd location; almost on the outskirts of Port Blair. It is primarily in a residential area so dont expect to see much happening when you step out of the hotel. The location also makes it very difficult for a tourist to get a rickshaw if, God forbid, they want to move around. So we pretty much ended up depending on the car we got through our package deal (yatra).

If you look at the pictures taken from outside the window of any room of Da Bay Inn then you'll see beautiful waters and a mountain in the background. But pictures never tell the whole story. The problem is that there is a huge amount of garbage lying outside the hotel in between the hotel and the sea. I presume that this gets zoomed out in most pictures.

Our package included Breakfast but owing to the weird location of the hotel, we ended up having quite a few lunches and dinners there. We stuck to vegetarian fare and they were pretty satisfactory. Nothing to write home about but nothing to upset your stomach on a honeymoon as well.

Speaking of upset stomachs, my wife and I both suffered from food poisoning during our stay in Havelock Island (Vegetarians, please take care). So when we reached Da Bay Inn, we were in no position to undertake any gastromic adventure. The Khichdi and plain curd came to the rescue and took good care of us. The hotel staff, particularly a person named Somnath, was quite cordial and helpful. They made up somewhat for the fact the the hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

Final Verdict: Da Bay Inn is a new hotel and pretty well constructed. But the location is a major drawback. If you dont plan to spend too much time in the room then go ahead. Otherwise, ask your package dealer to give some other options.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room. Insist on it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murthism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

- The location of the hotel is not good. There is an awful stink coming from the sea as the hotel is opposite that part of the sea where lot of dirt is floating around. Actually, you cannot call it a sea. -- The hotel is also far off from the main market and you have to get a vehicle to travel. The hotel has a Xylo but you have to pay for it separately. 3-wheelers that pass by may be hailed if you are lucky.
- The hotel area and rooms are a little crammed to enjoy the stay. The water from the A/C drain pipe is casually left to flow in the bathroom and you feel very awkward with the water touching your feet when you enter the bathroom.
- The TV reception was awfully bad. Hotel management blames it on cable. The hotel can easily install satellite TV like Dish TV or Tata Sky.
- Room Service is okay. Nothing to appreciate or criticise about.
- There is only one restaurant where you will find most of the things not available. There is same breakfast every day. Maybe because standard eatables are not easily available on the island. They have to be brought from Chennai or Kolkata.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with numbers 101, 104, 201, 204 etc. which are bigger in size.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nitinbrahma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my family. It was booked in a group package tour through Yatra. The Rooms are clean, but other then that their is nothing else worth mentioning. Once inside the hotel you have nothing else to do other than being in your room. Food is very average and half of the items mentioned in the menu actually don't exist. Specially all the tandoori items and Dal Makhani. Will recommend to have your own ready to eat packets or go down to town for food. Breakfast is below average with very very limited options. You will only get Aloo Puri,bread toast and tea. No Hot/Cold milk or cornflakes. The Hotel Staff is courteous. One thing make sure, only go for rooms facing the front side, cause then atleast you can enjoy the view from your room.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms with front side view only
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed there from 3rd july 2012 to 11 july 2012. The hotel rooms are good, clean and sea facing. staff's good except one man ( i dont remember his name) who was about to charge almost 20% extra on food. But the M.D Mr. deepak kundu is a fine man . very helpfull guy. looking forward for another stay in jan 2013

Room Tip: The front rooms are great
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dulal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

we stay here 2nd may 2012 to 9th may 2012,hotel rooms are excellent ,food quality is average, but staff is very helpfull spl thanks to mr Savanta,

The rooms in front are best, so ask for front rooms.

@amit from bangalore, a2bscd@gmail.com

Room Tip: The rooms in front are best, so ask for front rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmiTAsarA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews