We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SeaShell, Port Blair
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Certificate of Excellence
Surat, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited this hotel in Feb 2011, only as an en route to Havelock island and upon returning from there. We stayed in the Deluxe sea view room, and it was really good. Chic design, extremely soft cozy bed, glass walled balcony and a very good bathroom. The view from the balcony...Open Expanse of the Indian Ocean right from our room, was worth paying for. The food was very good, including the breakfast. The hotel staff is courteous, helping. Room service was prompt and efficient. Only thing which we disliked is their checkout timings which is 7:00 AM in the morning! Really uncomfortable for us tourists. The hotel is not very pricey considering the good location and comfort. Definitely worth staying here.

Room Tip: Choose the Sea-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikhilMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    182
    60
    16
    14
See reviews for
132
212
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Good clean spacious rooms. The food is also good. We got a room with good sea view. Hotel is located close to the port. It's easy to commute. The roof top lounge bar plays music in the evening. Room service is also good.

Room Tip: choose higher floor rooms for better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The place is neat, free from noise and has 2 good restaurants. There is hardly any property on beach in Port Blair so this place is also not different. Roof top bar plays music in the evening, many times live or DJ and offers good sea view in moon lit nights.
The level of service is good and the staff is also quite helpful. They can arrange adventure sports for you without any extra cost. Be careful not to be too much carried away by talks of these gullible adventure sportsmen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohitLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

After a lot of research I had booked the Sea Shell Hotel, Port Blair and Havelock for my recent trip (27th October- 2nd November). The Bookings were done in May,2012.
The Hotel is clean, good,room are spacious and we managed to get a good sea view too. However one thing which irritated me is the lack of co ordination between their own two hotels at Port Blair and Havelock. The staff in the reception are totally unaware of my package details and told me that I have only room booking. The staff's are unaware and so mislead you in a cool way.The charges for the city tour were too much and when I sought clarification from them the staff in the reception gave an excuse that Rabin , the booking in charge has not yet reached office( as if Rabin does not even have a phone and cannot be contacted).

The hotel belongs to a politically empowered person in the locality and so they think themselves to be the best.

Fellow travellers there are far more better hotels in the same range and go for them rather than staying at Sea Shell group hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sumit_Dhar_kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

while decided the package for tour to port blair, we needed to choose out of 2, and we feel lucky we choosed the package offered by Sea shell hotel. Excellent hotel by management, location and building. Very good staff and reception. We got very good room with marvellous view of Sea. We enjoyed one of our best trip ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinaySoni1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very nice hotel in Port Blair. New construction, neat and clean, bedding could be better, but otherwise no complaints. Excellant staff, nice food, nice view from the amaya bar which featured live music. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GurgaonNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

While booking for our stay at Port Blair, we were advised by our travel agent that this hotel has the best rooms on offer at Port Blair.

The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable, with the balcony offering a beautiful view of the sea and some islands.

The only problem that we faced at the hotel was that there was no hot water in the bathroom. This is because the hotel has installed solar water heaters which are ineffective in the monsoons. We were provided with hot water buckets by the hotel whenever we asked for it.

Restaurant is decent. For some weird reason, unlike other hotels in Port Blair, the restaurant here does not provide packaged breakfast for people leaving for Havelock by government ferry early morning at 6.00.

The best part of our stay at the hotel was the time we spent at the roof top lounge bar. It has a lovely view and a wonderful ambiance. They play good music and serve excellent drinks and snacks at reasonable rates. Fantastic place to unwind as there is nothing at all to spend your evenings in Port Blair.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navneet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 32 in Port Blair
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port Blair
306 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in Port Blair
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#15 of 32 in Port Blair
238 reviews
22.4 mi away
SeaShell, Neil
SeaShell, Neil
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaShell, Port Blair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaShell, Port Blair

Property: SeaShell, Port Blair
Address: Marine Hill, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of Marine Hill, our property provides a panoramic view of the sea as well of the city of Port Blair. Its well-appointed rooms with modern amenities and 24 hours housekeeping services, ensure that guests are comfortable and care for. Banqueting and conference facilities are available at "Utsav" and "Moksha" respectively. Dining options include our all-day dining "Salt & Pepper" which serves a multi-cuisine fare. "Amaya", our roof top lounge bar which overlooks the Andaman Sea and the iconic North Bay, is sure to WOW you with lip-smacking seafood delicacies from the live kitchen, signature beverages from the bar and a live musical band to keep you entertained. With a menu specially crafted by our chefs and a personal butler, "Amaya" is the perfect spot to have a Candle Light Dinner with your better half. Being centrally located from the harbour, Aberdeen Bazar, bus-station, Cellular Jail, water sports complex, this the preferred hotel for the tourists visiting Andaman before they proceed to our resorts in Havelock and Neil Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your SeaShell, Port Blair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SeaShell, Port Blair Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing