We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Driftwood Hotel & Resort
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
A TripAdvisor Member
“Decent place to stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Driftwood is a decent hotel for a short stay. Location of the hotel is good.Staff is very polite and well behaved..Facility provides good value for your money. They do not accept credit cards and there is no ATM nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    24
    6
    14
See reviews for
39
30
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel and rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff is well behaved and cooperative. Stayed at hotel for 2 days. Well guided for local tours and trips. Overall good value for money. We will prefer to visit again.
It is suggested to add a travel desk to arrange local bookings.




  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Anupam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel Driftwood is an excellent place to stay when in Port Blair. The hotel is located in Haddo, which is a quiet and a peaceful locality. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all functional amenities.Both the restaurant & bar are good and reasonably priced. I loved their chinese and tandoori cuisine. The hotel staff were courteous and very helpful. Ms. Jaya deserves all praises for her all round management of the hotel. Mr Sameer and Mr Vishvajeet also deserve praise and appreciation. Lastly but not the least, Mr. & Mrs. Rajeev Anand deserves all the praise for their personal involvement and supervision. I have stayed here once on business and another time with a group of 70 school children. I would recommend this hotel to all (tour groups, Family, Individuals & couples) the people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayomandElavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Really a very good hotel. Full value for your money. They have a fully functional bar and restaurant. The food is very good and the staff very curtious and helpful. Some of the rooms are large and very spacious with the latest fittings and accessories, like a flat panel TV, hot water facility. On the whole a very good trip, really enjoyed the hospitality given.

Room Tip: They are planning to have a swimming pool in the near future. Rooms at the rear have better view tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarhadC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is average but what makes it great are the people! great service, very amiable and always ready to help. The service was prompt, food was good and people were just oh! so lovely! Esp Jaya Ma'am, Sameer and Vishwajeet :) The rooms are also pretty and very clean and beautiful :)

Would love to come back here someday, was a fantastic experience :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivangi_narayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was the best trip i had with my friends ever...Hotel Driftwood is an excellent n elegent place to live in, provided with a good bar lounge n a restuarent with perfect ambience...also with magnificient rooms...i loved my tiour specially after a long tireing day comin back to this lovely hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: the rooms that they have constructed r the best ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90003263572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is rather new. It looks impressive when you enter from the restaurant side. Its 2 mins from Andaman Teal House and on the V junction between JN Road and Panipat Road. Its about 15-20 minutes from the airport and an auto should charge you anything between 40-50 bucks to get there. Because, its right on the road it can get a little noisy, but all is quiet at night.
It has great reception staff who are very helpful and try their utmost to make your stay comfortable. They also have decent WiFi which is a huge plus in Port Blair. One is about 10-15 minutes from the main market - Aberdeen Bazaar.
We were given Room 102 at first and it was a huge let down. We were only staying there for a night so we didnt make a huge fuss but it was quite unkept with critters routinely appearing from all corners. When we complained, they sprayed up, but since its poorly ventilated, it made matters worse for sleeping in.
On the way back, they gave us a room on the second floor (Room 205). The room dimensions were the same, but it was much cleaner. However, on that day itself, they forgot to switch on the pump motor for water and as a result the entire hotel had no water in the evening for an hour and a half. Very annoying since we didnt have heads up notice of this problem!
However, they have aircons which is a boon because it can get pretty humid. Be sure of what plan you are on so that you get good value. The food was pretty good in the restaurant. Ask them specifically to make the food non spicy if you want it that way.
The helpful staff members include a chap called Ratan, the lady manager and another lady at the reception. They are prompt and efficient.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms at all costs (all room starting 101, 102 etc.). It gets better as you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pakhibagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Hilltop International
Hotel Hilltop International
#23 of 32 in Port Blair
84 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port Blair
309 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in Port Blair
330 reviews
3.7 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 32 in Port Blair
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel & Resort

Property: Driftwood Hotel & Resort
Address: 88 Jn Road, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744102, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Hotel & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Driftwood Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel & Resort Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing