We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable rooms and great food”
Review of Sun Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Sea Resort
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Port Blair
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms and great food”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent a week at this hotel and stayed in two rooms in early Jan 2014 . The size of the rooms and the beds were very comfortable.We found the restaurant staff very attentive and helpful, the food was yummy - every time. The location of this hotel is very central and the tour operator the hotel put us in touch with organised all our tours.

If you are travelling with a foreign passport, you will need to register on arrival at Port Blair airport and carry the 'registration form' with your passport to the other islands - if you plan to stay on Havlock Island you will need to register when you arrive at the island. The police sit right at the jetty - you cannot miss them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozland_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    50
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
44
42
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

In simple words, Sun Sea Resort made our honeymoon an unforgettable one.
Yes, Honeymoons are supposed to be unforgettable, but the places that you spend them also play a great role in making it all the more special.
Special rooms with complete privacy, central town location, great managers, helpful staff and an awesome foods were the reasons why I would always recommend Sun Sea Resort to anybody looking for a great stay in Port Blair.
Sun Sea Resort has a good network of travel agents and holiday experts who would always be at your service, thus will help you make the best of your vacation.
The staff availability for help at any odd hour pleases one to the core, as does their ever helpful nature.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

On our recent Andaman visit in late november'13 we choose to stay in this hotel booked through our travel agent after going through the internet and found the same to be as per our expectations. The hotel is very nice, clean, decent, well located and really suitable for family stay. We booked 3 AC Rooms for 6 nights in 2 phases
The Room Rates are reasonable. The restaurant is nice with good food quality and variations. The Room service is very prompt. In fact they have arranged for our packed breakfast (complimentary) in the odd hours of 3:00 AM prior to our baratang visit.
They have also adjusted our booking dates due to change of programme for cyclonic weather and didn't charge extra. They are also very generous to allow us to overstay even after check out time on our return date without any extra charge.
The only problem is that demand for this hotel is very high and direct booking is not available most of the time and you have to go through travel agent.
Overall our experience has been very satisfactory and we highly recommend this hotel at port blair.

Room Tip: Go for AC Deluxe Rooms in 2nd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauravmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dombivli, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The only advantage of booking this hotel is 1.5 km away from Veer Sawarkar International Airport and in heart of Port Blair. But there are very negative points regarding this hotel i.e. very average service, service providers doesnot remains on place, reluctance in attending calls, etc. So many deficiencies in services makes your mood very negative. If any one is expecting good service beyond area advantage, then it is better to keep away from this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guruprasad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at Sun Sea for a week with my family during our vacation to the Andaman’s. This place is in Port Blair, the capital of this heavenly place called Andaman’s. The best thing about Sun Sea is that it is very close to the airport (though not walking distance) and, is right in the heart of Port Blair along the main road called M.G Road. Even then they had provided us a van which was highly appreciated as all of us were really tired after the long trip even though we did make a one day stop at Kolkata. On our arrival, our check in was really smooth and hassle free. The art work in the lobby was really attractive and we got the chance to inspect it very closely later without any staff prompting us not to touch it. Yes they were very helpful and friendly. Our luggage was transferred to our room while we completed the formalities. We had booked two Executive rooms- one for me and my husband and the other for my kids. And we were delighted when we saw our rooms. They were spacious, clean with a really big and comfortable bed covered with soft, fresh white sheets. The room had a perfectly functional AC (Thank God. It was burning hot!!) and a TV (not very modern but no complaints). What I found really funny was that most of the channels were in southern language but no complaints because we were hardly interested in watching TV. The bathroom and toilet was combined but they were very clean and stocked with all the toiletries. The most interesting thing was the electric working of the room. The room key they had given us also doubled up as an electricity switching on-off system. There was a socket where we kept the key inserted upside down and everything kept working. So when we had to go out of the room, we used to take the key out to lock the room and everything switched off instantly. This was really clever and customer friendly apart from being power saving. The breakfast here was a buffet and free. The continental cuisine was absolutely fresh and delicious (The coffee was heaven!! I couldn’t get enough of it!!). It also has a bar. The place is a km away from Aberdeen Bazaar and there are other shops nearby where you can get stuff made out of cane as memento, a specialty of Andaman. However the hotel doesn’t have much of a view to boast of but it is very peaceful here. They also provided us with a van for the purpose of sightseeing. The dinner was also very lavish, with many Indian dishes to choose from. The staff was very warm, very friendly and easy to talk to. We will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shandhya_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Blair, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good hotel within 3 km from Airport and 1 km from Aberdeen Bazaar. Hotel has a dedicated resturant and bar. Indian food are good whereas chinese is on the average side (sometimes good). Hotel has a conference room for group travellers. Just opposite the hotel you get a cheap fast food snacks, which is one of the best in Port Blair and famous for South Indian crusine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank formulax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. Good place to stay. It was a movie theater and the building was built by the britishers during thier rule. This was supposed to be declared as a heritage building but takn over by a hotel chain. Over all it was a nice experience. The food was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Velpula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel & Resort
Driftwood Hotel & Resort
#27 of 31 in Port Blair
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.6 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hilltop International
Hotel Hilltop International
#20 of 31 in Port Blair
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#15 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Sea Resort

Property: Sun Sea Resort
Address: M.G. Road | Middle Point, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Sun Sea Hotel Port Blair
Sun Sea Resort Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing