We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sinclairs Bay View
Nearby Hotels
Anugama Resort(Port Blair)
$61
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sentinel(Port Blair)
$95
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$110
$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
J Hotel(Port Blair)
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$50
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
SeaShell, Port Blair(Port Blair)
$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Haywizz(Port Blair)
$44
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shreesh(Port Blair)
$27
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de Marina(Port Blair)
$51
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
205
278
123
38
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
278
123
38
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomjapanese bunkersea facingsinclair bayswimming poolcandle light dinnerexcellent viewour honeymoonlobby arearestaurant staffhotel is locatednice propertypacked breakfastvisiting port blaircomfortable stayrooms are spaciousgreat hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 682 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was my second visit to Port Blair and we booked same hotel.
The airport transfer was prompt and the check in was fast. The rooms comfortable, clean and tidy,
And the food served was tasty and excellent. Room service was prompt and fast.
There was a cyclone on and the staffs were trying their best to keep the entire guest happy with smiling faces, very professional.
We appreciate the way the staff cooperated with us and made our stay so much more comfortable even during a crisis like this.
Would love to come back again, its home away from home.

Room Tip: Book your travel tickets for havelock in advance
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sincere appreciation of the service and facilities at Sinclairs Bayview.

We take extreme pride in our resort and strive hard to make each holiday with us a memorable one, so such reviews make our effort worthwhile and motivate us to work harder.

It was unfortunate that the cyclone hit during your holiday, but we are happy that everything went off well and it was well managed.

Do return with your dear and near ones in the future. We are eagerly look forward to your visit.

Thanks & Regards,

Rajesh Venkatraman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was in this hotel a few days ago for three days. The moment you get into this hotel you get a old world feel. Its completely ruined. There were no pros but only cons in this hotel. The staffs were rude. Did not pay a heed to anything. This is my third stay in any of Sinclair group hotels and all of them were terribly bad. But this one tops them all.
Cons :-
1. WiFi available but no internet connection for 3 consecutive days
2. Water sipping through all the rooms
3. Terrible food and for three days they had no chef, so no Ala-Carte and were only serving buffets with only 4 - 5 options including starters, main course and deserts
5. No co-ordination between staffs, no clue about their tariffs and charges.
6. Room locker was not working
7. No fridge in the room
8. The whole hotel was dirty, stinking and unclean
9. Very high price
10. Zero facilities

Pros:
1. Location

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gairik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had an opportunity to stay in Sinclairs Bay View in Port Blair during my vacation there in October 2013. Apparently there not may star category hotels in Port Blair so we choose this one for our stay with family.
I had booked a deluxe room which was fairy big in size with lot of walking space , neet & clean toilets which is quite surprising as we never get to have these large rooms in 5 star category hotels in India.
Location is good almost at the sea side slightly away from the city , which hardly matters as Port Blair itself is not a big city.
Service is descent but i guess the food options should have been better as tandoory items are not available during lunch time although they are mentioned in the menu

Except the food stuff i guess the stay was quite comfortable

Room Tip: A deluxe room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you Sir for your kind review on TripAdvisor which would help future guests too.

Glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel, overlooking the sea, our service, and your stay in the deluxe room.

Our team takes great pride in their work and selflessly strives to make every visit a memorable one. So really appreciate your mentioning us as a "nice and decent hotel".

We have noted your feedback regarding the buffet menu, and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Do recommend us to your near and dear ones and we look forward to your next holiday with us when you visit Port Blair once again.

Warm Regards,

Rajesh Venkatraman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Making the booking was like running half a marathon especially if you want to book their attic rooms , the attic rooms are bigger and better and what i would recommend to any one travelling with family.
The attic rooms on the 3rd floor in the second block have the best view to offer. Room 610 is the best! My folks and i were staying in next room and the view from the little balcony was lovely too. The bathrooms are very clean and they offer all the basic amenities, their room service is quick and house keeping is very attentive and keeps the room clean and aired. the sheets were spotless and bedding very comfortable.
The property is along the sea and is quite and peaceful. There was some renovation going on but you would not even notice unless you did a walk about the property. The pool is really small and but offers a great view from its deck. Their gardens are well maintained . They have a small set of stairs that lead you down from the garden to a large terrace like area where you can catch a magnificent sunrise (don't forget to take your camera to catch the play of colors as dawn breaks) or if your weary of taking the steps in the semi-darkness you can catch the view from their terraced patio or the lounge deck.
The staff is very approachable and helpful,they managed to hunt down a 3 pin plug for us without breaking a sweat.
The food was decent nothing spectacular.The overall experience is good and i would go back again.

We made the trip mid September. There was the intermittent shower but it made the experience even better. A great place to stop over if your catching the makruz the next day to Havalock. its close to cellular jail and its a great walk with the sea on one side if your heading to the Rajivi Gandi sports complex too.

Negatives: they should start the morning breakfast earlier especially cause a lot of visitors head out early- to catch ferry etc and the packed breakfast is very boring as compared to the decent variety served at breakfast.
They need to improve booking process and also could consider adding a small rail along the stone steps leading from the garden to the sea terrace cause it tends to be a little tricky.

Room Tip: the attic rooms are the best, they are on the top floors in the second block. room 610 is particularly bigger and has great view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyannpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor. Second, on behalf of my entire team at Sinclairs Bayview, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our location, services and facilities such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and, that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will certainly share your report with all our colleagues and we are convinced that accolades such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.

We have noted the comments regarding starting breakfast earlier, and we do provide this, if a guests requests for it. We have also informed all our sales offices to handle bookings better to avoid any confusion. We apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Bayview in the future. Please join us on Twitter and Facebook to keep updated with our promotions/offers.

Regards,

Rajesh Venkatraman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went in the month of Dec i felt it is the best time to visit. We stay there for 1 day very nice and sweet experience. Hotel is clean and well maintain. The room which we got it has a very beautiful view. Food is nt that good ok ok. By the way u can get good food out side. Staff are really nice and sweet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAdvisor107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to appreciate your holiday with us. Your experience only reconfirms our staff attitude to sincerely help every guest have a complete holiday experience with us and your review helps me to motivate them further.

The location of the hotel is our USP and most guests are in awe of the picturesque views that we are blessed with, and make the most of the photo opportunity they present.

We are a bit disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the food at Sinclairs Bayview. We hope you can write to us in detail about our shortcomings, and we regret any inconvenience it may have caused you.

Thank you once again for your appreciative mention and we look forward to welcoming you to Sinclairs Bayview in the near future.

Please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Rajesh Venkatraman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews