We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay View”
Review of Sinclairs Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sinclairs Bay View
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Bay View”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A decent resort with air conditioned sea-facing rooms. All rooms do have a good view of the sea, but lack a much desired balcony to enjoy the sea-view. Rooms on upper floors provide better view.The restaurant serves good food. The hotel has a bar and pool table too and provides free WIFI internet in the lobby, but the internet speed is not very good. The hotel also has a swimming pool, and a small enclosed protected sea area for the guests. The staff was courteous and prompt. The standards of cleanliness and hygiene were good. My advise for people planing visit to Port Blair is to plan and book the accommodation early as during the tourist season, it will be difficult to get last minute booking due to the popularity of the place. I would like to return to Port Blair and stay in the same hotel. A recommended place

Room Tip: Book early and ask for rooms on 5th or 6th floor for good sea view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARTIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recommendation and preference for Sinclairs Bayview Port Blair. I do agree with you that the views from our hotel are the best in Port Blair, as we're the only hotel with most of the rooms facing the sea.

We regret to learn about the inconvenience experienced with the wi-fi speed, and this shall be looked into. We are continuously looking to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment, and we fully appreciate the time you took to bring this matter to our attention.

As a valued guest, we would like to invite you to our other properties at Bengaluru, Dooars, Ooty and Darjeeling.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to be updated with all our promotions and offers.

Best regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    244
    102
    34
    32
See reviews for
243
212
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

positives:

1. Excellent location on top of a cliff on the sea...(no real beach though)..great view from our room 302
2. Good property with "multi-level" construction ..top level bar/ reception..below that restaurant..then 2 more levels below that with a terrace..all 4 with excellent slightly different view of the sea
3. Great service---milk for our toddler ready at a moments notice...great room service...tasty food.....
4. Clean and well kept (exteriors could be done up better)
5. Large room

Cons:
1. Slightly expensive..we paid 7K+ for couple+ 8 yr old.. after 15% discount.....for late March...should be lower....there was some trouble with my agoda booking but the manager dealt with it nicely
2. A little away from the city..so you need taxi support...or like us you could use a local agent...we used andamantrek..couldn't be happier

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback! I am glad to see your 5 star rating of our hotel.
What really made us proud is our ‘’great service’’ which transforms a normal stay into a memorable one.

We hope this review will motivate future travelers to visit us during their visit in Port Blair.

There is no better way to promote ourselves but with the experience of happy guests like you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Bayview in the near future.

Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I with my family stayed at the hotel for 4 days and nights. The hotel's best part is its view. I could see the sunsets, sunrises and moonlight right from my room. The sound of waves breaking on the shore was heavenly. I would also like to comment on the delicious spread of buffet for breakfast. All in all Sinclairs definitely added that special touch to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrutiMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are extremely happy to know that you had a memorable stay with your family at Sinclairs Bayview. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodation. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the location and food of our hotel.

Please note that we have tailor made packages to suit each and every guest need. Next time you are visiting Port Blair, we hope to welcome you to Sinclairs once again!

As a valued guest, we would like to invite you to our other properties at Bengaluru, Dooars, Port Blair and Darjeeling.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to be updated with all our promotions and offers.

Good Day!

Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

i have been to have a good food in this hotel, unfortunately the service and the attention of the management was towards other group. never minded to even care/ask about the food. quality of food was very bad more over F&B Manager was very rude when we had asked for some fish item to be served from a la carte menu. we just payed money for buffet which was pale and dirty (not well organised)
suggestion for management never take walk in guest if ur not capable of handling.
one of the worst F&B experience we ever had.

Room Tip: Never have food in this property. very very bad service and standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghuarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are very sorry to have disappointed you with our 'disorganized service' and that you felt we were rude. This in huge contrast with so many other reviewers who think that our staff are extremely friendly and hospitable.

It is disheartening to read that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback is appreciated and will be communicated with the team. We do hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My stay at Sinclairs bayview from 13/3/13 - 17/3/13 , with my family was excellent and comfirtable. Starting from reception till departure the hotel management took utmost care for us The location of the hotel and position of the room is really amazing . The rooms and toilet are also very clean but some lacking is there in maitainance and also some furniture should be repaired or replaced.
I would also suggest the hotel management to improove a bit on in house room service though overall service is OK )

Room Tip: Take any room in 5th or 6th floor - All rooms are sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed our location and friendly service. We try our best to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable experience when they stay with us and its comments like yours that make it all worth while.

We are glad that you enjoyed the sea views from our property. Sinclairs Bayview opens out to the crystal blue Indian Ocean waters. The unique distinction of this island hotel is that it is on the edge of the sea. In fact, we have named the hotel because of this. Most of the 46 guest rooms are more than sea facing; they are virtually on the sea!

We apologize for any inconvenience you faced regarding the maintenance and room service, and shall look towards improving the same.

If you do visit the Andamans again, we hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

A good hotel with a WONDERFUL sea view. One can enjoy it even from the room or from the huge terrace off the lobby. The location of the hotel is also good, just a short distance from main area, markets, jetty, airport and tourist spots. It has good n helpul travel desk n own tourist vehicles with good n curteous drivers.
The food is very good and was always served fresh and warm, but slightly over-priced. The only thing I was surprized at they did not have a simple thing like curds one evening when id ordered room service. Breakfast was delicious again with with a fair amount options.
The rooms are huge but the size of the double bed was small. There was a safe available in the room.
The hotel could do with a bit of maintenance but service at the hotel was excellent. The staff were more than helpful especially the reception staff. They went out of the way to arrange transport for us at short notice. ( we were a group of 9 people) to the airport when on that day there was a tourist vehicle strike in the city.
On the whole a good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recommendation and preference for Sinclairs Bayview Port Blair. I do agree with you that the views from our hotel are the best in Port Blair, as we're the only hotel with most of the rooms facing the sea.

We regret to learn about the inconvenience experienced with the food at the restaurant for which we would like to present our sincerest apologies.Also, that the maintenance of the hotel did not fully meet your expectations.

We are continuously looking to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment, therefore the points you have raised are of great value to us and we fully appreciate the time you took to bring these matters to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family as guests at our hotel once again.

Best regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed with family, kid and parent, premier and deluxe rooms both excellent with sea view. Had MAP plan, dinner was excellent, some days had buffet other days allowed to order a la carte. Amazing choice of food, very helpful and courteous staff. Had sandwiches packed for lunch, wud recommend that for a beach picnic. Bar with facility for snooker was very enjoyable. Overall an excellent and very enjoyable stay. Walking distance to Marina park- good evening walk.

Room Tip: 408 best view for premier room 405 for deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshvinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Sinclairs Bayview as your preferred accommodation in Port Blair as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Sinclairs we strive to offer quality accommodation and food at affordable prices. Our goal is to deliver ‘value for money’ to our guests, with thoughtful and welcoming service. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that your stay was "awesome".

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Bayview. Please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
1.4 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 32 in Port Blair
409 reviews
1.0 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port Blair
302 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in Port Blair
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#15 of 32 in Port Blair
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Megapode Nest
Hotel Megapode Nest
#3 of 32 in Port Blair
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Bay View

Property: Sinclairs Bay View
Address: South Point, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744104, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the Bay of Bengal, Sinclairs Bayview is Port Blair's only hotel to offer a spectacular ocean view from most of its rooms, as it blends seamlessly with the surrounding landscape. The hotel offers 43 rooms and 3 suites, built in a series of levels, split against a sloping hillside overlooking the sea. All the rooms are equipped with cable TVs, direct dial STD telephones and modern facilities. Aesthetically designed, the rooms are refreshingly uncluttered and functional. The hotel has a lovely seaside garden restaurant, The Bayview, with an extended garden deck where guests can enjoy multi-cuisine fare. The Alto Espirito Spanish Bar with its elegant interiors and tempting selection of cocktails and snacks is best visited in the evenings. Guests can listen to soft music while enjoying a game of pool here. The freshwater outdoor swimming pool is open all year round. With a stunning view of the sea, it offers a tranquil experience. The 1,600 sq. feet Wood House is the hotel’s beautiful conference venue opening out to a lovely garden and overlooking the blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sinclairs Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Bay View Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing