We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for an Overnight stay”
Review of Sinclairs Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sinclairs Bay View
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
redmond
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel for an Overnight stay”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the way back from Havelock. The hotel has awesome sea views. Its a short auto ride to most attractions but finding an auto is a bit tricky as the hotel is not centrally located.
The breakfast was good ( better than the lunch and dinner we had there) and the hotel manager is extremely helpful. He went out of his way to try and find a restaurant for us. The reception staff is friendly. Their check out time of 9:00 am is bit odd though they extended it to 10:00 am for us.
I believe they are renovating the hotel - as there was some painting work going on. Also, the room we were in had a musty smell - possibly related to ongoing work and tropical climate.
I think the hotel is bit expensive for the location, room and service - especially given that we paid the same for an absolutely amazing experience at Munjoh resort at Havelock.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redmonduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and friendly service. We try our best to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable experience when they stay with us and its comments like yours that make it all worth while.

We are glad that you enjoyed the sea views from our property. Sinclairs Bayview opens out to the crystal blue Indian Ocean waters. The unique distinction of this island hotel is that it is on the edge of the sea. In fact, we have named the hotel because of this. Most of the 46 guest rooms are more than sea facing; they are virtually on the sea!

We apologize for any inconvenience you faced regarding the renovation work. In terms of room rates, we are competitively priced as compared to all the hotels in Port Blair, and cannot be compared with the hotels in Havelock.

If you do visit the Andamans again, we hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Sinclairs Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    246
    105
    35
    31
See reviews for
244
213
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Sincair Bay View for a couple of nights in their superior rooms. While the room is clean enough, we found way too high priced for the facilities and the room itself. The breakfast was quite tasty (even if the spread is not big) and the staff at the reception were quite friendly. They have an odd time of 9 am for check out but extended to 11 am on request. The hotel is located quite close to the city attractions like Cellular Jail and the Port and so getting around was easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sudeesh,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are all pleased that you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast and good service. We try our best to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable experience when they stay with us and its comments like yours that make it all worth while.

We are disappointed to hear that you found our hotel steep in terms of price, but our rates are very competitive as compared to all other hotels in the region.

Do visit our other properties at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Ooty and Bengaluru and please follow us on social media like Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with all our offers and promotions.

Hoping to welcome you back to Sinclairs with a better experience.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Sinclairs Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We used to travel always in package tours, this was the first travel where we booked tickets and hotel by ourselves. We initially had some apprehensions about this tour. Sinclair hotel, port blair service and hospitality was very homely. The hotel crew were very polite. We took a package option from the hotel, they booked all our tickets (boats, cellular jail etc) in advance. The hotel has a excellent beach facing view, a nice warm pool. We went in peak season but still found the service in the hotel and hotel restaurant excellent! Food is made to order, fresh & Delicious.
The only confusion we had was on our travel itinerary, which wasnt clear enough. We thought Havelock was included in the package but latter we found that it wasnt. The hotel staff helped us to get Havelock tickets in spite of heavy rush and we spent a day in havelock beaches.
Overall a memorable experience, thanks sinclairs !

Room Tip: 501 series is a beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashok A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Sinclairs Bayview, Port Blair and thank you for your 5 star rating! It will be a delight to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

It gives us great joy to read positive reviews as it gives us the opportunity to truly monitor our standards and service, which in turn helps to enrich the experience of our customers.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused regarding the package booking. I am glad that this was sorted out.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel when you are planning your next visit to the Andamans.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Sinclairs Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our first trip to Andaman & Nicobar and our stay at Portblair couldn't have been better, thanks to Sinclairs! Firstly, our rooms had a sea facing view which was completely breathtaking! The ambiance of the entire hotel is wonderful. The GM, Mr.Deepak Bothra and his staff took care of us and made sure we did not face any problems. Mr. Deepak was always very proactive in making sure that each guest was comfortable. The staff was equally helpful and courteous.
Food is excellent! We stayed there for 5 days and each meal was different, surprising and delicious.
Only point of development - WIFI problems which I understand is a problem throughout Andamans. But in case some measures can be taken to improve this area, that would be great!
Overall, has been a wonderful experience for me and my family. I look forward to my next stay at Sinclairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyoti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Jyoti,

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star reviwe regarding your recent stay with us! We value all feedback whether this is positive or negative as this enables us to improve the standard of service we provide to our guests.

It was a pleasure looking after you, and your positive words will be passed on to all those who contributed to making your stay a comfortable one. We are pleased to know, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction.

Thank you for appreciating the sea views from our property. Sinclairs Bayview opens out to the crystal blue Indian Ocean waters. The unique distinction of this island hotel is that it is on the edge of the sea, and this is why we have named the hotel "Bayview". Most of the 46 guest rooms are more than sea facing; they are virtually on the sea!

If you do happen to visit Port Blair in the future, we would be glad to host you.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Sinclairs Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dlf , Gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I visited the Andaman and Nicobar Islands last week with my wife . 99andaman.com is known for trips to Andaman because of its wide range of resorts and effective Rates. We booked a 5 day 6 night package ( flight ex Chennai) in June only ( thts planning..lol) and were happy packing our bags with a low priced & high quality deal!!

The Hotel Sinclairs Bay View was our abode for the trip for 4 days ( remaining days on other island hotel) and we got a pick up from the airport. This hotel is situated at the South Point located on the outskirts of the capital, Port Blair. The resort is right by the sea. It is nicely positioned, far enough to be away from the chaos and commotion of the town, but near enough to the auto stand.

The rooms were close to 450 sq ft and gave a fantastic view of the sunrise and sunset. The swimming pool was another major attraction of the resort and the evenings spent by the deck-chairs with my wife were quite memorable. Most modern amenities were available in the room and the crew was quite efficient in arranging our necessities at the earliest.

However despite these facilities there were a few blips in the resort. Some part of the property was in need of a major refurbishment. The interiors of the resort though made of teak wood, needed fresh polish, the walls required new paint, the gardens needed proper beautification. Moreover some repair work is piled on in front of the hotel which could act as a deterrent to some. The ugly metallic debris placed there is a major eyesore for the guests. The dining area also could do with some refurbishments with a change in lightings etc.
Despite few goof-ups we had a blast of the journey.Pre planning made us relieved of all tensions of taxi , ferry (tickets can be sold out fast) etc etc.I would suggest to book Andaman flight tickets/packages at least 3 months in advance for cheaper rates as flight tickets can range from 5000 to 21000 on peak dates !! with so much of variation , I always suggest to book wen u r sure

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Shyam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to respond back with feedback regarding your recent stay with us - we value all feedback whether this is positive or negative as this enables us to improve the standard of service we provide to our guests.

It was a pleasure looking after you, and your positive words will be passed on to all those who contributed to making your stay a comfortable one. We are pleased to know, that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear about the shortcomings that you have encountered during your visit. Please accept my apologies. I do agree with you that we are well positioned in terms of location, and it's something that each and every guest at our resort appreciates.

Yes, some parts of our hotel require a facelift, and we are working on the same. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Sinclairs Bayview Port Blair and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Sinclairs Bayview Port Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our first trip together after marriage. We were expecting the resort to be quite good since we had read good reviews. When we went there on the first day, the GM Mr. Deepak and his team was very receptive and helpful. We discussed with them about the places to visit. In most of the cases they gave us more information than we ever expected which was really useful.We told them that we plan to stay in Sinclairs for 4 days and then move to Havelock for 2 days. Then on the last day we plan to catch a ferry from Havelock to Port Blair and catch our flight the same day. The people at Sinclairs were quick to point out that it would be risky (in case of high tides ferries get cancelled). They went overboard and Mr. Deepak himself shifted our reservations in Sinclairs and also called up our hotel in Havelock and made sure that the reservations are shifted there as well. So our plan was changed from 4+ 2 days to 3 +2+1 days in PB and Havelock respectively. All this was coordinated by them. Otherwise it would have been impossible for us to have such a nice trip.
And of course it is not required to mention the rooms were awesome, exceptional service (smiling faces all around), excellent ambiance, very supportive people. Good food.
Thank you a lot !! You guys made our trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Ambika,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed our rooms, ambience and good service. We try our best to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable experience when they stay with us and its comments like yours that make it all worth while.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra,
General Manager
Sinclairs Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First of all, Sinclairs Bay View is at a great location. It has great views from the rooms and from the lobby as well. It is also quite close to the places of interest in Port Blair.
The service at this place is really good. The guest's satisfaction is of the utmost importance to the staff. The restaurant offers a good variety of tasty food. And the breakfast was something my family and I looked forward to each day of our stay.
This is the place I'll probably be staying at during all my future visits to Andamans.
Bottomline: Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Murthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Bayview, General Manager at Sinclairs Bay View, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Mr Murthy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. All of us at Sinclairs Bayview are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the entire team, and this will make their day!

Your feedback is appreciated and we do use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed the views from the rooms and from the lobby as well. We are pleased that you appreciated the service and the breakfast!

We are all looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra,
General Manager
Sinclairs Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
1.4 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 32 in Port Blair
416 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in Port Blair
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port Blair
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#14 of 32 in Port Blair
239 reviews
21.6 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Bay View

Property: Sinclairs Bay View
Address: South Point, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744104, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the Bay of Bengal, Sinclairs Bayview is Port Blair's only hotel to offer a spectacular ocean view from most of its rooms, as it blends seamlessly with the surrounding landscape. The hotel offers 43 rooms and 3 suites, built in a series of levels, split against a sloping hillside overlooking the sea. All the rooms are equipped with cable TVs, direct dial STD telephones and modern facilities. Aesthetically designed, the rooms are refreshingly uncluttered and functional. The hotel has a lovely seaside garden restaurant, The Bayview, with an extended garden deck where guests can enjoy multi-cuisine fare. The Alto Espirito Spanish Bar with its elegant interiors and tempting selection of cocktails and snacks is best visited in the evenings. Guests can listen to soft music while enjoying a game of pool here. The freshwater outdoor swimming pool is open all year round. With a stunning view of the sea, it offers a tranquil experience. The 1,600 sq. feet Wood House is the hotel’s beautiful conference venue opening out to a lovely garden and overlooking the blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sinclairs Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Bay View Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing