We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Maya Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Vista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Tela B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at Maya Vista for a few days in April 2013, with my parents and a friend.
As it was semana santa everywhere in Tela was pretty packed, but we managed to get a room at Maya Vista, and it wasn't so expensive as some places.
The room we had was lovely - two double beds and one single, and the room was split by a half partion-wall, so it made two separate spaces. There was also a tv and a sofa, and everything was a really nice standard - 'I'd say better than what I had expected from seeing the photographs! The bathroom too was lovely, marble and with a nice big shower with hot water. Comfort wise it was great. Just outside the room we had a table and chairs so we could sit outside in the sun, with amazing views over Tela! There is also a balcony/roof terrace which is accessible for guests and gives amazing views of Tela.
It is fairly close to the beach, but the only downside for some if probably the fact it's very high up, which means a lot of steps. But if you've got an average level of fitness then I can't see it being a problem - only perhaps for older people or those with physical difficulties. Once you're past the stairs though and on street level the beach is just across the road.
The restaurant was also lovely! Maya vista restaurant has a great reputation in Tela and it's easy to see why - even the setting is great with an outside terrace in the trees with amazing panoramic views. The menu is also quite varied, and everything is of a great quality - no-one in our party had a meal that they didn't enjoy.
The staff were very friendly towards us all the time and very helpful whenever we had any questions, always up for a joke and a chat. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrfoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
30
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

It's like staying in a very nice tree house. The view is amazing and so is the hospitality. It's not unusual to chat with the owner and his family. It's also within walking distance to town and to beach. Very affordable but feels luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mundee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

A nice very clean hotel. Very well maintained. It is siting on a hill away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Has wonderful views of the ocean and the city. However, do expect to climb up quite a few steps to the hotel. We took the taxi from the bus stop for about $2.5. The restaurant has good food at reasonable prices.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2sonTravelerAtLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Maya Vista for a few nights before departing for a small side trip to one of the neighboring Garifuna communities a few miles away. Pierre, the owner, is a very friendly and accommodating host. He is extremely knowledgeable about the area too.

Though the hotel is situated on a hilltop- reached via a side street about 3 blocks away from Tela's main beach- you feel like you are miles away from all the hecticness and movement of the downtown area. The views alone afford a certain sense of serenity that is hard to match .

Accompanied by my 11 yr old daughter, we appreciated the new pool and sun patio. The restaurant is very good too. We ate frequently at the hotel's restaurant for breakfast and dinner, when we did not feel like chugging up and down the hill to travel to other eateries near the beach, especially since we were in Tela at the start of the rainy season.

Staff is friendly, especially Wendy and Antonio. Every morning their smiles said it all despite my lack of Spanish. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a71602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honduras
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at the Maya Vista a few months back for the first time. Absolutely great location and very friendly people. We stayed for two days while being in town for a wedding, and it was just wonderful. Would stay here anytime again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent a long weekend there, the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was great, it's about 2 blocks from the beach. It's on a hill so you have a GREAT view of Tela and the ocean, it also means some steps. Air conditioning worked, hot water worked, no complaints. My wife and I were very happy there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've been living in Honduras for the past 3 years and have gone to Maya Vista several times each year. The food is generally very good, the views and the atmosphere are wonderful as well. However, each and every time I've gone, there has been one problem or another. Most recently, the key of our room broke off into the door and we were blamed for it. On top of that, the staff insulted us, told us to "shut up" and said we were white and we could afford to pay for it. Never have I been given such poor treatment at a hotel. Other times, the rooms have flooded, the air conditioners have not worked and we have never been compensated for it. One final thing to be aware of, they charge a lot of tax and tip which increases your bill at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tela hotels
1.1 mi away
Telamar Resort
Telamar Resort
#6 of 15 in Tela
467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Bonita
Hotel Playa Bonita
#5 of 15 in Tela
68 reviews
6.4 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#4 of 15 in Tela
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Tela
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Vista Hotel

Property: Maya Vista Hotel
Address: Tela Nuevo, 10 Ave 9 Calle | Lempira Hill, Tela 00504, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maya Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing