We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annex to Cesar Mariscos, cheaper but decent for budget”
Review of Cesar Mariscos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cesar Mariscos
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed at the original Cesar Mariscos in the past and was happy there but opted for the Annex this year due to the high price of the original hotel. The rooms are decent, good beds, TV cable, hot water, etc. just like the main hotel, just no view. The pool is nice to cool off and access to the main hotel is nice. They have Kayaks to rent for $10. Our rate for 3 in a double room was L900 which is about $47. Warning: we were in the room right next door to the king room the previous reviewer recommended and the king room was a smoking room and stunk so heavily of smoke we could smell it as we entered and left our room next door!! They were trying to air it out but no way that strong smell goes away just opening the window. Having the open balcony overlooking the water at the original Cesar Mariscos is really awesome but for us we decided it was not worth nearly double the price. The night desk man, Mr. Dick, was very nice and knew our names each time we came and left saying hello by name. No breakfast included with the room at the Annex as is at the original hotel. I would recommend this one for those on a budget but if you have the funds, the ocean front one is definitely nicer. Warning: the Honduras tour book map has the wrong location for the Annex and the taxi driver we had did not know where it is, but the staff from the original Cesar Mariscos which is easy to find walked us over as it is just a couple blocks away.

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool side don't have the street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I are staying here off season and during the week so managed to get an amazing rate for our 3 nights in the annex property which is much quieter but comes with the ocean front amenities. Mildred and the other receptionist were extremely friendly, accommodating and not only acted as receptionists but also concierges. Those girls deserve a raise. The room was surprisingly large, clean, had very good working a/c, ceiling fan, hot water, cable TV and Wi-Fi. We had a water dispenser right outside or door. There are pool facilities at the annex and you can use the roof top pool and jacuzzi at the main beach-front property. All for $35 a night (keep in mind, off season).

There is an ATM 10 feet away from the hotel and a supermarket 5 blocks away.

The next day, I had the misfortune of planning my morning on-line reading over breakfast at the hotel restaurant which has a beautiful beach view. The internet was not working! I informed Vivian, who seemed to be management. She was unapologetic and offered no solution or alternatives. We choose this hotel for their advertising of Wi-Fi. Very frustrating! This continued the rest of the day, even on the roof top pool.

If they fix their WiFi and Vivian's customer service, I would have given it a 5.

Room Tip: The quietest room in the annex is called "Dona Julia", king-size bed. If you're lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyG786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in course of a backpacking trip Belize-Guatemals-Honduras. Tela has a great beach. Town bit beaten up, old banana shipping port going to seed. This hotel was a great find, $60 US night for a 2d floor room fronting the beach, nice woodwork, balcony, great soft bed, good large hotwater shower. Nice art on the walls of the hotel, front desk very helpful. I am a 56 year old still annually backpacking Canadian lawyer, often stay "low rent" on these trips. This was a couple of luxury nights, any woman would like this place. Even a rooftop pool.

Restaurant also very good, good breakfasts and cafe con leche, had a very good $10 dinner also.

Definitely my "Tela hotel" - uniquivocally recommend.

Michael,
Vancouver, Canada, November 2012.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancouverguy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

First of all, Esa and Juan, hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. Juan even drove us to a local liquor store to buy rum! They then drove us, for a small fee, to San Pedro Sula to catch our bus.

The hotel is very nice, very clean with beautiful furniture. Our room was on the first floor with a patio on the malecon. It was fun to see the Tela world go by and talk with folks. The beach was beautiful and at our footsteps. Breakfast was included with our room and it was good, not terrific, but good: toast, jellies, juice, (strange) eggs, etc. We ate dinner there one night as that was much better.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had an amazing time staying at the hotel however the quality of the food was terrible. on my first night in the restaurant I found a whole fake nail in my salad which I nearly swallowed. when I mentioned this to the manager he did not give me a new salad and did not give me a refund. it put me completely off eating anything else there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Cesar Mariscos is a family operated business with loyal and long-term staff, all willing to go the extra mile to help. From great food to clean, comfortable rooms, free wifi, warm water and most importantly warm smiles and a constant willingness to help make your stay in Tela a complete delight. Beach right in front of the hotel and a nice small pool as well. Beach is great for running and/or yoga in the mornings!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sierraraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was described as one of the nicest in Tela. It was true - great location, nice rooms, excellent pool (always welcome in the tropics). The staff was pleasent and professional. We had a nice view of the Caribbean, and it was amazing to wake up and watch the people on the beach getting ready for their day. The price was quite reasonable, and the rooms were very clean. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tela hotels
6.1 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Telamar Resort
Telamar Resort
#6 of 15 in Tela
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Coral Inn
Caribbean Coral Inn
#9 of 15 in Tela
47 reviews
0 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Tela
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesar Mariscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Mariscos

Address: Avenida Uruguay, Calle Peatonal Playera | El Centro, Tela AT2200, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tela
Price Range: $76 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cesar Mariscos 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant Cesar Mariscos is a small hotel located in front of Tela's beach, wich allows our guests to enjoy the beach, as well as the sunsets and sunrises. Hotel Cesar Mariscos counts with a total of 2o rooms, some triples with two double bed and a single bed specials for litle families. Doubles with two double beds, specials for friends that come to enjoy Tela tours or for vacations. If you preffer rooms only for one person, we have single rooms with double bed. If you have a romantic plan don't worry we have single rooms with King bed with beach front view for those couples that like to enjoy the beach. If you have a litle familly and you have independent sons, the Hotel count with an apartment wich haves two rooms, one with double beds and another with a king bed, in the resting room a couchbed and a litle kitchen equiped for long weekends. Each of the rooms that the Hotel has counts with every service marked before.i. If you are a seafood lover, you won't regret to visit Restaurant Cesar Mariscos, couse it offers an excellent service with it's calificated staff. Cymbals are all prepared in the instant you order them to enjoy them, breaded shrimp, coconut breaded shrimps, our delite soups of seafood, conchs and shrimps soups. If you are comming with your familly don't worry we have "Seafood Cymbal" that includes, shrimps, crabs, conchs and fish fillet as you like it. If you visit us in season, ask for our delicious King Crab. Visit us, you wont regret!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cesar Mariscos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesar Mariscos Tela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing