We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relax! hope for the best!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Telamar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Telamar Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tela
rock forest,quebec.canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“relax! hope for the best!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

SUNWING???????how do you rate a hotel?? What is the difference between your 4* star in this hotel to comparison to other resort in other countries?
No water sports was so ever!
Bar selection ,is limited to beer, children's slush drink with booze is a Daiquri,or pina colada, screwdriver, rum & coke, vodka & tonic or tequila straight up!!!!!!!
No gin or after dinner drink cream mint....or even wine serve at the at the bar,,, yes can you believe it....never I have seen this in all my travels,,,,,,, poor excuse of a bar....
There is a snack bar where soft drinks & beer is available as well as nachos with cheese sauce is served,, as well as hot dog or cheese pizza.alternate each other day...popcorn on Saturdays??
All personnel are friendly and do a great job....
From front lobby ,chambermaids,servers.entertainment etc.
Food: is good, you don't have a huge selection...but is always fresh as 2-3 choices of meats. Always fresh salads and fruits,vegetables..fish,chicken and even the beef were excellent.
Yes they serve wine in the dinning hall...as well as soft drinks and beer in frosted mugs.
Again very odd..... 4 large t.v. screens in the dinning area,,,, just like a sports bar?? Soccer or animal plant,,, no sound? Fine dinning with a little music,,, not going to happen!
Rooms: very spacious and clean, fluffy white duvet ,lots of pillows,,, table with 2chairs lots of lightening, good air conditioning and WiFi at $15.00 per week(wifi and 2 computer stations free of charge in lobby)
Bathroom..lots of hot water and great water pressure,,, soap, shampoo, cream.and the whitest fluffy towels and face cloths.
Pools are nice, big one with waterslide and waterfalls,, as well as small shallow pool with 4little slide for the young children....loungers and patio tables and chairs with umbrellas and palm trees...nice layout.
Beach is public and lots of locals selling their junk at a higher price than in town???
Loungers and shaded roof top over you heads, and a large snack bar with soft drinks and beer and 5 choice drink selection! Nice area to sit, hear the ocean, and read a good novel.
The sand is brown and the water is not that Caribbean blue,,,, the wave are strong and you don't see many swimming, just dipping to get wet,,,, you can walk in each direction for exercise.walk close to water ,,,,,as not to walk in sandy areas for pieces of glass etc.
There is an exercise room, saunas, and massage service $25.00 for 45mins,,, she is good!
Pros: good place to come and relax, relax...
Cons: hotel has to offer a better bar selection.....not up to standards... by no means,,, like looking at bare selves???? Umbrellas should be provided in the rooms like other resort we have seen in our travels,,,, because when it rain here .......it really rains.... the rain season is worth checking before you travel,,,,, it has rained here 11days out of our 14day stay...rain,,,downpours for 12hours straight!!!!!!
Departure tax is $40.00us dollars.....expensive if you are staying only 1week,,,
Telemar is a good 2hour in a bus from airport as well,,,, this was our 2nd visit to Honduras (2007 at the Palma Real) which was closer to the zippline and other excursions as well as a busy city with great retail shopping mall....Tela ia a small fishing town and sell little trinkets and is safe to walk in daytime..it is an experience,,, we have walked every other day just to go something!
Will we return or suggest to others to visit,,,, NO.... but if you want to relax, sleep well,, and have alot of space this is the place,,,,,,,, the only guests here are French Canadians and Hondurans on conference or local families for the weekend....
Best parts no bug bites,,,,,never was tummy sick! t.v. in room have 5 English channels,,another life line if you didn't speak French! all the best as they say vacation is better than work anyday!!!
rain or shine

Room Tip: low budget ,not a lot of frills ...simple.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    193
    89
    40
    42
See reviews for
174
128
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

- The swimming pool is lovely - well-maintained and great for kids.
- The service is terrible. Try to order from a bar - the bartender was putting away glasses, and she looked up and saw me, then continued put things away and ignored me for a few minutes until she finally came to ask me what I wanted. I tried tipping to get better service, but it was hard to find service good enough to warrant a tip. It seemed as though none of them cared. We were trying to find chairs to sit outside at the restaurant (they were all missing for some reason), and the waiter watched us without offering to help. We would have sat inside the restaurant but the it was freezing with the AC on.
- Drinks are terrible - only beer is available at most of the little bars (including the restaurant - forget wine with your dinner), and they have a very limited selection at the swim up bar at the beach bar.
- Food is terrible! Limited selection, and we saw a lot of the same dishes. Breakfast was the only good meal.
- Buildings are getting worn down - needs a coat of paint, the faucet leaked, the room doorknob was broken, etc.
- The beach - would be nice (very high waves), except people kept driving by in their four-wheelers and full sized trucks. One truck drove through where we were sitting, waited for kids who were playing in the sand to get up and move out of the way, then kept driving. He did this repeatedly down the whole beach! And nobody seemed to think it was a problem.
- Overall we were really disappointed with the experience. I was sad to see the decline of the place since we were last there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Didi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tela hotels

Podgorica Municipality, Montenegro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was recommended as the best one and honestly we expected something special. However, we're disappointed. Although, our room was spacious and clean, the food in the restaurant was average. The staff at reception did not explain us anything about facilities, our lagguage we carried by ourselves to the third floor. When we had problems with Internet access, I called reception, but I could not get any solution from the staff, because the guy, who picked up was hardly able to speak English. For the price we paid - 175$ per night - it should not be like this:(
I would recommend to choose a room with "mountain view", it is much quieter than those "at the pool view".

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Olesika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
301 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Telamar provided for a very enjoyable weekend. Tela itself doesn't have the world's nicest beach, though Telamar probably has the nicest stretch of it. Far cleaner and safer than most other parts of Tela. Even if not picturesque it's still a great place to relax, swim, and have fun. Their pools are incredible. The pool area is huge with multiple areas ranging from quiter pools, pools with swim-up bars, and big pool areas with slides, kids, games.

While Telamar is not the place to go if you want something small and boutiquey, it's got everything you need and one could easily spend several days there without having to leave. There are multiple restaurants, bars, clubs, and even a small golf course. While none of it is world class, it's all quite nice and a great place to go with friends or family. It can also be used as a jumping off place to explore other spots in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank BlueTraveller711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

i visited this resort two times in sep 2013...

the staffs are very friendly...

checkin process is too slow.
and i made a reservation already but they gave me the wrong room.
i needed to visit to the reception agaain.

the room was clean but super disgusting smell from toilet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosAHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Villas Telamar continues to be a favorite. While the hotel has been in business for a while, they've managed to keep up with the facility quite well. They offer great accommodations at a reasonable rate. Be advised that their beach is public, thus the beach area is not as clean as one would like it to be. All and all, a choice of you
plan to visit Tela.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

love the food, the ambiance, and now the new side is quite modern ... but i favor the older side, the leftover homes from the banana plantation bosses... the houses have been updated but retain the absolute quaintness of a golden past ... try the 'sopa de caracol' with a cold Salvavidas!

Room Tip: if u r into modern comfort, do stay on the new part. if u want a taste of life in the early 1940...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon_Monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tela hotels
5.5 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#2 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Bonita
Hotel Playa Bonita
#5 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#10 of 16 in Tela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telamar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telamar Resort

Property: Telamar Resort
Address: Barrio Independencia, Tela Nueva, Tela AT2200, Honduras (Formerly Hotel Villas Telamar)
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Telamar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Telamar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telamar Hotel Tela
Villas Telamar
Hotel Telamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing