We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amenities but bad service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Telamar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Telamar Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tela
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and amenities but bad service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The attention in the lobby is very poor. Long lines and very slow people in the counter. We stayed for 3 days in the beachfront cabins. The kitchen is equipped with everything all you need to do is go grocery shopping and you are set. The rooms are very comfortable 3 bedrooms the master has 1 queen bed and the other rooms have 2 queen beds. The bathrooms needed some renovation as well as the living room. Overall, they need to work in the attention in the restaurants and lobby to improve the expirience in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleysnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    193
    89
    40
    42
See reviews for
174
128
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This resort has old rooms that are not very nice and an old pool that needs repair. It also has a new area, with newer rooms and a great pool. The beach is wide and has great sand. We had a room in the old section (provided by a tour service) and were quite disappointed. A strong cleaning solvent had been used in our room before we got it. The AC worked fine. The bathtub had been modified so you could not take a bath, only a shower. Tile in bath was moldy and cracked. The check-in staff was slow and unfriendly. Dining room staff and buffet were quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new 2/3 story area. The rooms in the one story bungalows area are very old and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tela hotels

Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Always the best hotel ... Clean, nice and so relaxing. We ot to the front desk and they were so helpful ... The only thing is that they had no breakfast service on a Monday morning ... The dinner buffet is really good !!

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michie2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were at Telamar from Feb 22nd to Feb 28th 2013. The weather was gorgeous and the pool area was lovely. Not too crowded except for the weekends. Buffett food was actually tasty (Better than Cuba). When we first arrived our room was down one of the roads and was what I would call a "barrack". I called down to the front desk and for a nominal amount they were able to upgrade my friend and I to the "newer" units which are in the yellow buildings by the pool. No complaints at all. But if I had to stay in that first room, I would not have been happy. No balcony; right near the main road; close to an electrical building..not nice at all. They should not even offer those rooms except for overnight travellers. Do not go here for night life. There are shows at 9pm and then that is it. No front lobby bar to sit and chat with staff; just the pool bar which was limited and understaffed and then closed by 11pm. The beach bar was OK. It was sheltered and of course faced the ocean, so was nice to go to around 3pm and get out of sun. Be aware that the beach is public so people will try and sell you things (although they are not pushy at all) and the stray dogs will make the animal lovers (like me) sad. Overall however, this is a good place to go and be in the sun and relax for a week. The onsite store sells some good souveniers as well, there is a place to buy bottles of wine, since the house wines offered were not for me.

Room Tip: In the newer "yellow" buildingfs by the pools that have balconies. Might be a few bucks mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a two night R&R stay at Telamar in February. The room was great, very spacious, clean and had a very comfortable bed. The pool area was exactly what it looked like on their website. I found the staff accommodating and friendly. Free WiFi was available in our room and in the Hotel Lobby. It was very windy when we were there so we were not able to enjoy the beach, so can't offer an opinion there. I will go back.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cousinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our team of mission volunteers spent our final night at the Telamar and enjoyed every moment of the stay. The beach and pools are clean. The rooms are bright and comfortable. Guests services is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is all-inclusive and the buffet is sufficient though not over-abundant.
We will return each time we are in Honduras.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville-sur-la-Rouge, Qc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would like to start by saying that all in all, we had a great holiday. The rooms were large, bright and clean, the view from our first floor superior ocean view room was beautiful, we spent a lot of time on our large balcony. The pool area was great, with slides for kids and adults. The beach was incredible, long, wide, perfect for long walks which we took every day (weather permitting). Water is warm, but was very choppy because of high winds during our stay. Being close to town, we also toured Tela on a couple of occasions. Armed guards at many banks and stores make it somewhat uncomfortable though. The food at the buffet was excellent!

They could easily make this resort a 4-4.5 star by paying a little attention to the following details:
-Check-in was done at the airport, which is a good idea, but with a 90 minute bus ride, the same could have been done on the bus with no time wasted. We received our keys, bracelet and a small map of the resort at check-in.
-When we arrived at the hotel, we all got off the bus ( 3 buses full of Quebecois travelers), grabbed our suitcases from the bus and were sent off to our rooms with our small map as a guide. It was actually funny to see all these people wandering around lugging their suitcases...
I feel there should have been more staff to direct ''traffic'' on arrival.
-When we arrived at our room, all was good besides a puddle near the door. We figured out that the empty fridge was leaking, and not very cold. We told the front desk about this on two occasions but nothing was done. You have to stock your fridge with water from the restaurant or bars and pop from the convenience store.
-There was a little mold around the bathtub in our otherwise spotless bathroom. A little bleach could easily take care of this problem, but I guess they don't use it.
-Service: there are only a handful of efficient servers and bartenders. Having worked in restaurants in my younger years, I wanted to show them how it was done!!! At the buffet, they don't automatically pick up the dirty dishes on the tables. They walk around empty handed... They end up with a bunch of dirty tables for the pigeons to pick on. This is a buffet, so the servers' only duty is to serve drinks and pick up the dishes. They really lack efficiency and I feel that most haven't really been taught how to work. At the pool bar, only two people work at once. There is only one blender for drinks, and they only make one order at a time, even when the bar is full. On the weekend, when locals fill the remaining rooms, they are preferred customers. They have to sign their bills, so they have one person at the cash making bills and the other making drinks. Walter was one of the good ones, such a sweetheart! By the way, my little bar cupboard at home is better stocked than the bars at Telamar. They have Rum, Vodka, Tequila and beer. They make Pina Coladas, Strawberry Daiquiris, Screwdrivers and Cuba Libre. A better assortment of drinks wouldn't be more work but would greatly improve customer service. Many people were looking for a ''digestif'' after meals, but nothing was available.
-Garbage: Not picked up often enough. The cans along the beach, behind the hotel rooms are overflowing. There was a bathtub next to one of the cans and it was there all week. Inside the rooms, there are no bags in the cans, so if you make coffee or tea, you have no choice but to dump it straight into the cans. No ashtrays anywhere. Quebecois have the highest smoking rate in Canada...Need I say more. There is no smoking anywhere covered which is fine, but they should put ashtrays out where you can smoke. There was a big storm during our stay and a lot of junk was washed up on the beach. They raked everything in small piles, but didn't pick anything up.
-Food: Excellent! Nice salad bar. Choices were few though. The main buffet consists of 6 choices: rice, beans, 2 vegetables and 2 meats. There is an omelet station in the morning. The croissants are really good and the banana pancakes were awesome! Desserts are small, usually 2 choices. I guess a little good food is better than lots of bad food...Again, very inefficient service. They wait until the containers are completely empty to fill up and it takes 10 minutes to fill them. Same with coffee. We reserved at the a la carte Steak House but really wasn't any different than the buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie-sur-la-Rouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tela hotels
5.5 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#2 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Bonita
Hotel Playa Bonita
#5 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#10 of 16 in Tela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telamar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telamar Resort

Property: Telamar Resort
Address: Barrio Independencia, Tela Nueva, Tela AT2200, Honduras (Formerly Hotel Villas Telamar)
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Telamar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Telamar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telamar Hotel Tela
Villas Telamar
Hotel Telamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing