We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty place, service is terrible.”
Review of Telamar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Telamar Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Tela
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The cover is great. The book stinks. The place is really nice looking. However, I asked to be helped with our bags and no one showed up. Then the beds were not changed from previous quests. Finally they charged my kids $17 just for having soup at the buffet. I asked if menu service was available and told no. Then the table next to us was offered menu service. When I complianed I was miss led. They said sorry and that they will talk to our waitress, but still charged me $17 for a bowl of soup. By the way the food was fair at best.

Room Tip: We only stopped on our way to Roaton because it got dark. The place is really nice, but the managem...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadwarriorjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Telamar Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 472 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stay here on our last night of mission trips, before we fly back to the states. Given that we often sleep on the ground outside, this place seems AMAZING by the time we get there. I have read other reviews about the check-in times. They can be a little long sometimes, but we usually have little problem.

The restaurant and service on property are very nice and a great way to end the week. This seems to be a great value for the money and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RSkyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed there for third time in the last 4 years from june 30 to july 01. To be fair I'll mention the good and bad things:
Good things:
Beautiful, renovated and very big villas.
Much better amenities! I really like this. They are now using a delicious and with a very good quality soap, bath gel and shampoo!!
The pool was clean. And they are perfect for both: kinds and adults.
Great and silence a/c
Beautiful decoration
Very, very comfortable beds (not the extra and single bed, that was very uncomfortable)
Bad things:
45 minutes for check in (but I understand this considering there where like 100 persons in front for check in.
At check in time, we ask for an extra bed, and they finally take it to our villa after 3 hours and some phone calls.
We also ask for some bags with ice. Wait three hours and no ice, call again, no ice. Finally after 6 hours I went to frontdesk to personally ask for ice! Maybe this didn't bother us that much because we were carrying some ice for our own.
Second night we ask for another extra bed due to another person coming and again no extra bed after 3 hours. We decide to exchange rooms so there will be no necessary to use an extra bed, so we call and cancel our request and guess what? After half an our they knock the door to give as the bed (of course we rejected).
Pool need some maintenance because there are certain parts that need to be plastered or you have the risk of hurting your feet.
No hair dryer in the room. In past stays there was a hair dryer, but not now. Maybe is because of they're "being green effort and energy saving"
When you walk from villas to the pool area there is a weird smell near the kitchen area.
Maybe you'll think we had a bad experiencie, but maybe because we where in a relaxing environment it really doesn't ruin our vacations. Specially kids enjoyed!!

Room Tip: If you're staying in a villa, choose the one that are in front of the ocean. They are more expen...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KC_HN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is nice, beach is beautiful but the client service, was horrible. We lost the first day trying to check in. Stood in line 45 min. Once we got to the counter they told us the room wasn't ready and come back in a few hours. Finally we went back for the keys and were sent to the back of the line... Another 40 minute wait we counted 5 people behind the counter but only 2 were checking guests in both with bad attitudes. By the time we made it to the room it was 5:45 pm. Don't think we'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I went here for a retreat and this place was great! I lived in Honduras for about 13 months and stayed here about halfway through my time. The price on this hotel is really, really high compared to other nice, clean hotels I stayed at in Honduras (usually around $30 a night), but I guess you pay tourist prices for a tourist location. The room was very clean and extremely comfortable. I loved the bed-so soft.... The beach is pretty good, though it's going to dissapoint you if you've been to WestEnd on Roatan. It's not crystal clear water with tropical fish everywhere, but it's nice for swimming. On the beach you will find women selling food and offering to braid your hair for a few dollars as well as men who are selling some innexpensive, but adorable jewelry. The TelaMar has a fantastic swimming pool that is great for all ages. The restaurant is pricey, but good and there are nearby restaurants within walking distance that are much cheaper.

As for the reviewers who are complaining about things taking a while or rooms not being ready- I saw "Welcome to Central America!" Life in Honduras runs at a slower pace and relaxation and enjoying life are often prized over efficiency. It's a vacation. Relax and take a walk on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

spent 3 nights there a few weeks ago. lovely resort . clean beautiful rooms. we took a beachview that was pretty much on the beach. amazing pool for those who spend time at the pool. the beach was terrific too. clean and quite quiet. Not a place for 'in the action' bars and shopping . the village is a walk away. more of a relaxing place - good for families too.
restaurant was very good and the service was all fine. i would definately go back anytime..

Room Tip: a beach view corner room was lovely..
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deeb e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We came here following a weeklong. Medical brigade. Hot showers
Beautiful sunsets
Dinner buffet was tasty and a great value
The pools are excellent

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennsylvaniaOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tela hotels
5.5 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#3 of 15 in Tela
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Tela
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
0.8 mi away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
2.7 mi away
Caribbean Coral Inn
Caribbean Coral Inn
#9 of 15 in Tela
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telamar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telamar Resort

Address: Barrio Independencia, Tela Nueva, Tela AT2200, Honduras (Formerly Hotel Villas Telamar)
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tela
Price Range: $196 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Telamar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Telamar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telamar Hotel Tela
Villas Telamar
Hotel Telamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing