We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Telamar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Telamar Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tela
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We were traveling with 23 people, the hotel knew we were coming. Even required a deposit, yet rooms not ready when arrived. Took was one and half hours to get to room. And not only that it took was and hour to pay bill after eating. The waiter did not want to give individual checks. The beach is not that great either. The bed was terrible. Stayed in better places that did not cost so much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    190
    89
    40
    41
See reviews for
173
125
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel part of Telamar and had a first floor room overlooking the pool area. It appeared to be the best beach hotel in Tela and possibly all of Honduras. If you have kids traveling with you it is a great place for them...huge pool area (wading to deeper) with a big water slide. They had a poolside bar and some evening entertainment around the pool. The reason I say it is a bit "Disneyish" is that everyone wears a wrist band, there are shops and different eating options (including all-inclusive) and access to the hotel area is restricted to guests only. The rooms are nice, spacious and clean with showers and bath tubs. The air conditioning needs some attention...it sounds like a 747 jet when it comes on! The food was good and bad. One day we had the best grilled shrimp we could imagine--big and succulent and the next night it was tiny little dried up shrimp. Also, do NOT order steak in Honduras...it was terrible all over the country! The breakfast buffet was very good...lots of options and great quality. The beach restaurant was your typical beach food...mostly deep fried stuff...not great. We found the staff to be very helpful. I left a swim suit and a couple other things by mistake and we called back and they saved them for us to come back and get a few days later. We enjoyed our stay at Telamar, but is is definitely not a place to get the real "flavor" of Honduras and the local people. The town of Tela is a much better place to find that type of experience.

Room Tip: If you like people watching, ask for a room poolside. But if you want a quieter experience ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had an awful experience. The service was terrible, the receptionist didn´t told us our room number and she send us to the pool to wait for our room because it wasn´t ready. About 15 minutes later we call to the reception to ask for our room and very impolite they told us that it was ready and that we had to go to pick the keys to the reception. The water bottle in our room vas opened, they didn´t changed it, so we wasn´t sure if they cleaned the room at all. The bars services and restaurants is very slow. And what ended our good spirit was, that inside the resort somebody hit our car and there was no hotel guard to keep an eye on the cars, so nobody got responsible, the hotel didn´´t know what to do. We had the worst experience for the price is not worth, I recommend La Ensenada Resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kizyaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tela hotels

Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Telamar is the best beach hotel in honduras.... I usually go to villas telamar with the family and is a wonderfull experience... You can chose from rooms or a house and both are clean.... Spacious.... Relaxing.... It has a great entertainment in the night .... The beach is wonderfull. As the pools..... It has greats restaurants .... So if you want to relax in a beach hotel i recomend this hotel.... Is a paradise in honduras

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luiszuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed as part of a large group that was there staying during a medical mission trip. We all stayed in the villas. The bathrooms were very clean, new, nice. Granite counter tops. The rooms were fine- they varied a lot even between villas. Beds were really hard and AC was effective (most of the time) but loud. Some had dresser's, ours didn't. Some have safes. The pool area was nice. The air conditioned lobby with free (spotty) wifi was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emilyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We usually travel a couple times a year and try to go to a different place each time which is one of the reasons we chose to go to Honduras. When we went, there was only one vacation provider that went to the mainland of Tela which meant it was not busy at the resort, at all.
The rooms were great, very clean and updated. We were in the last building (newer area are buildings not villas), with a garden view ,which was nothing spectacular but on vacation you probably aren't looking to spend much time in your room!
The pool was large with a kids area. Since there were so few people, the pool was not busy at all. We were are the beach one day (not crowded) and I had to go to our room for something. As I passed by the LARGE pool I noticed there was only ONE couple! There was a second pool as well and I am not sure I ever saw anyone swimming in it.
The food was good. The buffet was small but adequate.
The beach is public and although there were some people trying to sell items it was not out of control and we never felt bothered or threatened. The beach area is flagged off to keep patrons in a confined area but since there were not many people staying at the resort it never felt "busy". When you go to beach, there is someone to pull your chairs out and set up a sun shade for you. The beach bar was also nice and served some food too.
We went on a couple excursions. We went to Copa which is a few hours dricve away...but worth it! The mayan ruins are awesome and much larger then what I had anticipated. On our excursion we stopped in the small town which felt completely safe and had an amazing lunch at an amazing hotel. The way back to the resort proved to offer some great picture opportunities. It was very cool going through villages as people had their freshly picked coffee beans out to dry in the sun.
We did another excursion which took us on a nature walk through the jungle (my bf ate termites!) which led to a waterfall and then a boat ride to see the wildlife (monkeys, crocodiles, birds) Honduras is also a large supplier of pineapples (and other fruit) and it was my first time seeing them growing. It was cool to see the mini pineapples on the plants...did you know it takes a year to grow a pineapple?!
The people were great! I can't say a bad thing about our stay and would encourage anyone to check out this secret jewel...before it isn't a secret any longer!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank luvs2travellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We went on vacation and put down alot of money at this hotel and we're so dissapointed. The staff were very unprofessional and did not go through with what they said-EVER! We found a hair in our food , lost our appetite and we were still forced to pay for our food. We spoke to various managers and no one seemed to care or even apologize. We we're told that we would get help with our luggage and we ended up doing it ourselves. .and many more problems. The wi-fi NEVER worked either. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank StephyAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tela hotels
5.5 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#2 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Bonita
Hotel Playa Bonita
#5 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
0.8 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#11 of 16 in Tela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telamar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telamar Resort

Property: Telamar Resort
Address: Barrio Independencia, Tela Nueva, Tela AT2200, Honduras (Formerly Hotel Villas Telamar)
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Telamar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Telamar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telamar Hotel Tela
Villas Telamar
Hotel Telamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing