We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest Management / Gerencia Mentira”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Ensenada Beach Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Tela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The restaurant/buffet staff served my wife a glass of bleach water instead of the ice water that we had ordered. The night manager assured us that they would rectify matters After she spent the night vomiting with chemical burns, the head manager denied that the matter had ocurred and said that it was not the fault of the hotel. He indicated that the hotel did not use bleach to clean the restaurant or kitchen. I told him that i would not be paying for the night that i spent caring for my sick wife and he said that the best the hotel could do was offer a 10% discount. Ofcourse my credit card compnay, like any respectable business, did not honor the charge for that night.

This guy is a coward and a liar. He is the typical 3rd world mid level manager puke who odesnt really care about his guests, just the power play of being in charge. This hotel management is a disgrace to the hard working staff at La Ensenada that do a good job of trying to keep the place enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Martin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything was amazing except their service hours......... Bar and restaurants specifically....... Other than that it's an amazing place to relax for a few days and the staff are very kind and helpfull!

I would recommend it!





  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The 5 days spent at the Ensenada Beach Resort was very nice and relaxing. The 2 bedroom suite we had was vey spacious, clean and beautiful. The landscape was charming and well kept. The staff went out of their way to be very accommodating. Special thanks to Anna, Maxx, Dennis, and Chef Adrian for their attentiveness. Thanks Mario, for your help in creating great new memories for my friend’s, parents’ 50th wedding anniversary celebration. My time there was fun, yet tranquil.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zunilda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed early August for family wedding. New rooms , very clean, great food, super pool. Staff friendly. Beach was clean and the sea temp was just right and great for swimming. Good selection of drinks at the bar,and as much as you like.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tinahask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This all inclusive "resort" in Tela is pretty good.
Instalations are pretty nice and clean, Beach is not crowded, kept clean and has a nice relaxing spot between coconut palms and pine trees!
The food, well it could be better, but compared to what they serve in the "flagship" hotel in Tela, it is much, much edible.
Property is not that big, so if you book a lengthy stay you just might get bored unless you book a tour to punta sal (an awesome place accesible by boat only with pristine beachs, coral reefs and great wildlife) and a tour to one of the most amazing botanical gardens (Lancetilla).
Service in La Ensenada es pretty good, staff is friendly, although if crowded, don't expect to get promptly attended in the tables at the beach front.
Also carry insect repellent...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlvaroC_reaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights and 6 days. food was ok, but the resort was very beautiful. No hot water in the shower. The server's were very nice and most spoke English. I would recommend this resort only if you can not go to the island of Roatan. The town of Tela is very poor and not much to do in the town.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are the same room size as the more expensive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonduranWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Para los que están acostumbrados a pagar por un Resort con los precios que este hotel ofrece no es una buena opción.
Las instalaciones son bonitas y limpias, en ese aspecto no me puedo quejar... pero la comida es una decepción para los que esperamos comer mariscos cuando viajamos a la costa, la comida buffet no incluye muchas opciones de este tipo de comida y peor aún cuando las sirven no resultan tener un buen sabor, a diferencia de otros Resort este no permite más de 1 plato por persona, los cocteles no siempre los preparan bien.
Al menos vi unas 4 peleas entre el personal, lo que probablemente significa que no están felices en su trabajo, razón por la cual ofrecen mal servicio al cliente.
Las habitaciones no tienen espejo de cuerpo completo, para aquellos que les gusta verse antes de salir.
La verdad no es un lugar al que volvería, no cumplió mis expectativas. Si eres joven y quieres unas vacaciones divertidas busca otra opción! este hotel es como para gente mayor o familias.

For a person who knows about Resorts and this particular range of prices, this one it is not the best option.
The place is really clean and actually really nice, but the food is awful, for people like me who likes to eat sea food when traveling to the beach is really a disappointment, they do not offer sea food options and worst of all when they served sea food it did not taste good, also they do not allow people to eat more than one dish per person. The cocktails are not always well prepared.
I saw a lot of fighting between people who works there, which probably means they are not happy with their work that is probably the reason why they do not have the best of customer service.
The rooms does not have a complete body mirrors for those who likes to see themself before leaving the room.
It is not a place to come back neither to recommend, it did not achieve my expectations. If you are traveling with friends this is not the place to stay in, it is more like a familiar, elder people option.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WendyOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tela hotels
1.5 mi away
Telamar Resort
Telamar Resort
#6 of 15 in Tela
475 reviews
6.6 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#3 of 15 in Tela
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Tela
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ensenada Beach Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ensenada Beach Resort & Convention Center

Address: Barrio Terencio Sierra | Carretera Principal de Tela a Ceiba, Gasolinera Uno a la Izquierda Seguir Instrucciones, Tela AT2200, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tela
Price Range: $75 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ensenada Beach Villas & Resort is located at Bahia de Tela (Tela Bay) on the North Caribbean Coast of Honduras 90 km to the west of International Airport of San Pedro Sula. An excellent paved highway connects Tela to San Pedro Sula and further onto La Ceiba city which is a little over 100 km east. Bahia de Tela offers the most beautiful white sand beaches in Honduras, surrounded by lush tropical mountains and botanical gardens, natural reserves and wildlife refuges, as well as the cultural experience of the Garifuna Culture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Ensenada Beach Resort And Convention Center
La Ensenada Beach Hotel Tela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing