We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price performance in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Intourist Palace
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Batumi
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Located in heart of Batumi this is great place to access everything on foot. Easy parking. Rooms are basic but during winter they are warm and during summer you can cool them down. Never used any other facilities in hotel except restaurant for breakfast. Great hotel because of location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armands F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 118 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

My stay at Intourist Palace Hotel was an excellent one.The room was clean, big and spacious with nice view to swimming pool and seaside boulevard. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom is big enough. The location was great - a few steps Black sea, old Batumi and city center, so you can reach everything in a few minutes. There was free WiFi in the rooms (password was given in the reception). The good breakfast was an added benefit for this hotel. There is nice outdoor swimming pool and gym as well. The staff is friendly and efficient. So, overall assessment - nice hotel and excellent location!

Room Tip: Surely room with boulevard view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan_002_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I did not utilize the pool or gym (both closed in the winter for renovations). I also did not use the casino so I cannot comment on it. The best part of this hotel is the location - it's right near the Batumi Boulevard and the harbor area and central to many sights and restaurants. The breakfast offers a nice selection that should make various cultures/palates happy. My room was on the 3rd floor with a pretty large balcony facing Rustaveli Blvd - noise wasn't a big problem. They are able to get most of the cigarette stench out of the room but it still permeates the hallways. The rooms are large with lots of space but the bed coverings are small (I'm only 62 inches to boot!). Cons: supposedly cannot bring in food or drink from the outside but they don't provide bottled water. I guess they want you to purchase their way overpriced mini bar products. I just bought my own bottled water. On a rainy night I ordered room service. The food was decent (roasted veggies and chicken soup) but expect to wait an hour for your food. The bathroom also has a foul odor like the septic tank is not far away or sometime. Perhaps weirdly treated water? I'd say this place is a good deal cheaper than the Sheraton and Radisson and soon to be Kepinksi hotels. If you don't plan on staying in your room much and want a good location I would choose this hotel with the above caveats.

Room Tip: It's the low season right now so there is not too much casino traffic but my room facing Rustave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAR1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We chose this hotel based on good reviews on tripadvisor. Berofe arrival, I asked for an extra bed in a double room. Although we checked in after 12 at noon, which is a universal cehck-in time, our room was not ready. There was no extra bed. After 20 minutes in the room, a lady came to the room and set the bed when we were inside. Wifi connection was not working. I was not able to connect internet for 2 days during my stay.

Those were minor problems. Let me explain my major excuse. We ordered from room service about 11pm at night. Our orders were arrived on time. An hour later, about midnight, someone tried to open the door. There were 2 people in front of us and one of them was the same girl who served our room service just an hour ago! They didn't even knock on the door, just entered! They explained that they are checking the minibars. At midnight?

Next morning I talked to the manager and he said that they 'accidentally' entered our room and there was a confusion about room numbers! He also talked about cultural differences which I cannot understand its relevance! What kind of culture allows someone that you don't know to enter your room without permission?

I am working at one of the best hotels in Istanbul and I am both aware of any sort of cultural difference and how to provide a service which is memorable. The case I experienced in Intourist Palace was not a cultural difference; it was a disrespecfully mistake that they insistently did not want to accept!

Both staff and hotel management should be trained to understand how to provide a real service if they want to get better rank on tripadvisor. Beware!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EzgiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel is located close to the boulevard. Clean. A varied breakfast. All of the rooms are for smokers but this is Georgia. Local casino is a pain. At night taxi drivers can wake up everyone. Very friendly service. Really cool swimming pool, sauna and Turkish bath.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Krzysztof_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A negative for a starter - there is no parking except public parking on the street. That sucked, but we were lucky and being off season we found a spot on the street at the hotel and just let the car sit and get dusty for 4 days. The room was a good size, the bed comfortable and,overall, the room was relatively clean. The bathroom had a combination tub & shower which was nice but needed some maintenance attention - handhold on tub wall was falling off, the soap dish was falling off, a deep cleaning was in order along the edges of the tub Very good location. Easy walk to the beach and the promenade/bike path. Within an easy walk of the old town area and what shops were there. There seemed to be a lake of restaurants in the immediate area but the Italian rest. in the hotel was good as was the food in the bar area - all coming out of the same kitchen i would assume. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a very nice assortment of hot and cold dishes. There was something for everyone and was served from 7-11 so getting up early to eat was not an issue. I would stay there again, but I would not drive from Tbilisi. Rather, I would fly or take the train - a new bullet train will be in service in the near future (so we were told). Time will be 2.5 hrs from Tbilisi to Batumi. English is not widely spoken in Batumi and the front desk people were nice but hard to communicate with.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MALKYPOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Intourist is a refurbished, but still slightly rundown hotel on the main strip in front of the seaside park. It has a great location and.... That's about it. The rooms are tatty, smell of tobacco smoke, and are just not quite up to four star. I would say three star. But, they are probably about half the price of the neighboring Marriott or Sheraton.
Ask for a room on the south wing, overlooking the pool. The ones on the north wing have a lot of kitchen noises and smells, and many haven't been reburbished recently (I stay here a lot on business!).
Don't expect any help with your bags when you arrive. The staff stay inside the hotel and leap for a tip when they see you in the lobby. The security staff standing around outside just scowl at you and make you feel unwelcome. The food is quite mediocre, except for the breakfust buffet which has great choices and lots of fruit. Overall, the hotel could use with a management review and some clinet-orineted management improvements.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side (to your right as you walk in the lobby). Less noise and smells from k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giscome56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batumi hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Batumi
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Batumi Hotel
Sheraton Batumi Hotel
#1 of 45 in Batumi
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Batumi
Hilton Batumi
#2 of 45 in Batumi
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Colosseum Marina Hotel
Colosseum Marina Hotel
#5 of 45 in Batumi
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divan Suites Batumi
Divan Suites Batumi
#4 of 45 in Batumi
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piazza Four Colours
Piazza Four Colours
#17 of 45 in Batumi
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Intourist Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intourist Palace

Address: Ninoshvili St., 11, Batumi 6000, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Adjara Region > Batumi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batumi
#6 Casino Hotel in Batumi
#8 Spa Hotel in Batumi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Batumi
Price Range: $63 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intourist Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original five-storey building of HOTEL INTOURIST PALACE erected in1939, was designed by the well-known architect in the thirties of the Soviet period of time A. Shchusev. On the site of the present day hotel there was the unique orthodox St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral which to its architectural significance and rare beauty had been included in the number of the most famous Cathedrals in the world. Laying of foundation and sanctification ceremony of Cathedral was going on in presence of Russian Emperor Alexander III and his family members on September 25, 1888. The Cathedral had been acting from the end of 19th century till 1936 and was knocked down in the course of atheistic campaign of soviet period. The foundation of Cathedral became the basis of a new building HOTEL INTOURIST PALACE. Just this hotel was chosen for the significant meeting of heads of the governments of three allied powers but the last moment the meeting place was transferred to Yalta. Guest Also can visit renovated Intourist LOUNGE BAR & RESTAURANT , where you can waist your free time with friends and family , restful place to lounge featuring a menu with delightful selection of international and Georgian Food, accompanied with live saxophone music every Sunday . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Intourist Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern Intourist- Batumi Hotel Batumi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing