We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection on a plate with service to match from Haddy”

Muna's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 96 Restaurants in Kololi
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: African, European, Indian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Located close to hotels and 100metres from the beach in the new Senegambia tourist district away from the noisy disco bars. We have a wide menu containing many of the proprietor's favourite dishes. Also, we have a busy bar equipped with two TV's to capture major sporting events and some of the best kept cold draught beer in The Gambia. Our staff are friendly and prices are very competitive.
banjul
Level Contributor
140 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“perfection on a plate with service to match from Haddy”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

It is difficult to find really good food in the summer, due to the majority of restaurants being closed. It is also becoming problematic to find a consistently decent Indian at any time of the year. We tried Muna's because it has a Indian section in its menu. I had Goan fish and prawn hot curry - WOW, WOW and WOW! I smelt it as soon as the spices hit the pan. This was the best Indian dish I have had in 8 years living here. Diana chose pork goulash in a wonderfully rich and tasty sauce - excellent.

To follow, crepes with Grand Marnier. They also serve a good selection of freshly made juices and smoothies all at 100 Dalasi. We left feeling completely satisfied and after being looked after by the best waitress we have ever found here - Haddy - THANK-YOU!

The menu is very varied, with African, European, Thai, Indian, a truly International cuisine.

Location is also pleasant, overlooking vegetation and a distant view of the sea. Prices very reasonable - best value for money so far. I don't even have a single suggestion as to how anything could be improved.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magicain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful muna's”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

we were on holiday at the djeliba hotel right next door and we found muna's first night it wasn't quite open the year before. THE FOOD THE BEER WERE FANTASTIC. THE STAFF WERE VERY WELCOMING AND WE CANT WAIT TO GO BACK AGAIN IN JAN

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzyfinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good main meals!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you go here do not order a starter. I had the Atlantic bisque which was awful and not edible. My friend had a Greek salad, it was not a Greek salad, it was awful. When we complained about this our server a lady Ami became very disgruntled and rude, giving dirty looks and ignoring us. Thankfully a male server came and apologised and sorted things out. The main meals were much better and very tasty but by then the ambience had been ruined. I can say the male staff who promote this restaurant do a very good job and I would recommend eating there but do not order starters!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Really good choice”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This restaurant has a very good choice of food and drink. Always busy.
The owner and staff always very polite.
Good clean toilets.
Very varied menu.
There was continental food, Taste of Africa menu, snacks and drinks.
You could even get a large cup of tea or coffee.
Aloholic drinks were a reasonable price.
The steak was always cooked to perfection.
Portions just the right size.
The Prawn Tagine was to die for and also the Taste of Africa combination.
The grilled chicken breast cooked with gambas was beautiful.
Football on tv most evenings.
Free wifi available

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stokiesover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“local but off the main highway”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great food,cold beer,hot staff perfect combination.You ae close to the beach,t.v.is available if your that way inclined.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muna's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Muna's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing