We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gambia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Gambia”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The first room we were in on arrival was in the bungalows beside the pool, it was clean but in a terrible state of repair, bathroom door would not close, shower hanging of the wall, paper thin walls (you could hear every word the guests in the next room were saying) no cupboard space ,awful bathroom.
We upgraded immediately to a superior room which was lovely.
The breakfasts were basic bread cheese fruit cereal coffee tea and juice.
We did not eat in the Resteraunt as it looked dowdy with shabby table covers and hard upright dining chairs, which is a shame as we would have eaten at the hotel on a couple of occasions if it was more inviting.
All of the staff were friendly polite professional and hard working.
We found we did not get the hassle from the bumpsters like we have had on past holidays in The Gambia
We had excellent meals at Scala and African queen
Darboes had a happy hour between 12-6pm and jewbrews are 25dalassi (out of the front of hotel, turn left and its on your right.
Poco loco on the beach has free sun beds and does lovely food for lunch ( go out of the hotel onto the beach, turn right and its 10mins walk )
The hotel has a lovely beach bar with fantastic views out to sea.
We have stayed in a number of hotels in The Gambia and feel the standard rooms at the HBC are poor in comparison to others we have stayed in.
We enjoyed our 2weeks holiday and would return but ONLY if we could book a premium room again which was lovely and well worth the extra money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fliss18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    228
    104
    47
    36
See reviews for
76
289
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have just returned from the Gambia this week, we had concerns about the hotel after reading some reviews, we were in B block, at first we thought about moving but decided to stay, the room was spacious with two double beds and plenty of wardrob space. the bath room was tired and is in need of a face lift but the shower was good and we nearly always had hot water,before six pm. Beds were comfy and clean, the maids were lovelly and brought us clean towels everyday. The hotel is lovelly pity there is nothing going on entertainment wise, this would certainly be a plus as there is nothing to do outside in the evenings apart from the odd restaurant staying open later searving drinks. This is not a place to take children though and some of the bumsters can get a little too pushy, we talked to two couples who had been conned by bumsters offering them a trip to a local orphanage and then coxed money out of them, one elderly couple handed over £50 because they felt so intimidated, and couldnt find their way back to the hotel.
So be careful, we went on two trips with Arch tours who were excellent, the price you pay covers all food, snacks and drinks all day, we did not need any money at all, we did the 4 in 1 trip wich really shows you the real gambia, and we went to Senegal on Safari.
The strip in the evenings is mainly single older tourists with young local men and girls so go with an open mind,If this sort of thing offends you don't go, we were not expecting this, and the strip can feel intimidating at night. Overall we had a nice time the beaches are long and you do get traders talking to you, although the fruit ladies offer good value plates of fresh fruit for 150dls. Most locals are pleaseant but they all want money from you and openly ask for it, the poverty is awful and can get very upsetting in places. To sum up we spoke to people who had been to the Gambia more than once but most said they would not be returning due to the changes in the evening antics of people and the lack of entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Thanks to all the staff at HBC. Just back yesterday, OMG its so cold here. I found the HBC even better than the last stay. Cleaner excellent wish my house was so tidy. All the staff very helpful. Weather well what can I say only fantastic. Food at the hotel was also very good. Monkeys in full forse around 3pm so watch your stuff. Cant wait to return hope to be back in November.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siberianpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

just come back from the holiday beach club hotel well its a very nice hotel but the manager their is a really horrible person who sacks the staff just for talking with the guests . if you need a really good local guide go with lamin he is really good and is very well priced cheaper than arch tours.you will find him out side the kora restaurant about 6pm every evening dressed in white shirt and tie .for really good English food GTS just out side hotel is a must ,excellent fry up for breakfast and the evening entertainment is really good ,the one man four drums entertainment is exceptional specially when they have snake man with them he is brilliant he puts on e really good show.cant wait to go out there again .

Room Tip: if staying in blocks Aand B you hear all the noise from the strip at night but the rooms are adequat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Holiday Beach Club. This is the Gambia and you get what you pay for.

Hotel itself is a great location, right in the Senegambia strip, right by the monkey park, beach etc. Beach has eroded but a short walk will take you to beauitiful beaches. Rooms are traditional, cleaned daily with clean towels, beds on the older side but serve the purpose. Pool area nice and quiet, dodgy entertainment guy trying to tell watches on the side of bingo cards! Went to breakfast around twice, not worth it, just bread, cheese, cereals and juice, this doesnt bother me though, as i didnt go for the breakfast! If your looking for a full english go to Spain, not Africa.

Spent a few nights in George Town. Absoloutly fantastic, well worth it seeing the real Gambia. Amazing people and place. Fantastic trip. We hired a car from A&B car hire, just be aware if doing so they try to fob you off with mileage once you go back and tell you that you owe money! Also, they tried to charge us for existing damage, after they had done a full check!

Overall a wonderful holiday, would deffinatly use the holiday beach club when we go back in november!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms in the 300's are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KerrySmith62006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

first time at this resort, quite impressed. stayed in a bungalow opposite the pool, thanks to fatima clean towels daily room immaculate, clean bedding every other day, and a happy smile. gardens and pool area immaculate and clean. Breakfast could have been better. Restaurant not well used at night, but i ate there and had an excellent meal, although it took its time coming. Overall a lovely relaxing holiday. i would definately use this resort again.

Room Tip: ask for a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susrug1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This are third visit and must admit now all those silly signs are down you feel really relaxed. (Although hiding the kettle last visit was fun) its ideal for the strip were all the bars and resturants are. Staff are so friendly and helpful and welcome you back. Great value for money. Just love it. So safe

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gambiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.1 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,223 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
1.2 mi away
smartline Palma Rima
smartline Palma Rima
#4 of 9 in Kololi
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Club Hotel

Property: Holiday Beach Club Hotel
Address: Kololi Beach, Kololi, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Beach Club Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Beach Club Hotel is a simple traditional African hospitality facility of a Two (2) Star rating, situated on the Golden Kololi Beach. The Holiday Beach Club Hotel Complex features 81 rooms consisting of Superior, Pool view, Sea view, Single storey and Garden View rooms. It also has a swimming pool, Main Bar, Beach Bar and Restaurant. Its mission is to provide a simple but modest Gambian hospitality service of excellence, while aiming to make the Gambia a tourist haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel
Holiday Beach Kololi
Holiday Beach Club Hotel Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing