We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makasutu”

Bushwhacker Tours day tours
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Kololi
Attraction details
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Makasutu”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a faboulous half day trip to the Makasutu Culture Forest. After being collected from our hotel, we were taken across the country through local villages, and got to see and experience the real Gambia. Upon arrival at the forest, We were taken on a nature walk where were saw a wide range of wildlife, including bats, birds and an entire troop of several hundred baboons walk past us, no more than a metre or two away. We stopped and met the old man who still lives on the reserve, and he read my girlfriends fortune (for a small fee). We were shown how palm oil is collected by one of the locals, and tried some of the delicious palm wine. The morning was finished off with a beautiful cruise in a canoe down the creek through the mangroves.

The guides we had on the trip were excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable. We were regularly offered cold drinks and given time to relax. On the trip back we had a really good chat with the Bushwacker guide (Solomon), and obtained a real insight to the Gambia and it's people.

Highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_Emma18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    7
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Amands, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good guide”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We did the 1 day trip to Fatalah Safari Park in Senegal and the 1 day trip "Lazy Day" on the river The Gambia. For both trips, our driver was Modou. He's a very funny man that always laughs.
Our guide's name was also Modou. He is very professional. You can take the ferry with him without worries. His explanations are great and he does all the arrangements for you at f.e. the Senegalese border.
We enjoyed very much.

With Bushwacker tours, food and drinks are included in the full day tours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan_Luyckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2-day chimp project trip - perfect”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everything about this trip was magical. We were keen to go with a fully Gambian company and booked in advance by email; JJ came to our hotel the morning after we arrived to discuss details and options. After a very early start 2 days later and a two-hour (!) ferry crossing to Barra, we drove along the pretty good road north of the river, stopping frequently for cold drinks and wildlife; both JJ and driver Mo turned out to be brilliant bird spotters. At Kuntaur, we were collected by one of the chimp project staff for the half-hour boat trip to the camp, where we were given a delicious lunch and shown to our tents. Then off in the boat again for a couple of hours pottering around the islands watching the chimps, baboons, hippos and, as everywhere, stupendous bird life. Another great meal and then bed, to be woken up the next morning by bellowing hippos, screeching baboons and chimps and trees full of birds. The dawn view out over the treetops and the river was stunning - what a privilege! After breakfast and a guided walk (entertainment provided by the young baboons), back to Kuntaur and the car. A short detour to the world heritage Wassu stone circles and on upriver to Georgetown where we crossed to the south bank for the drive back to the coast. Home just after dark - a very full two days.
A relatively expensive trip (by Gambian standards), because of the cost of staying at the chimp project, but excellent value. JJ and Mo were highly competent and knowledgeable and a pleasure to be with. The only sour note was discovering that the other couple staying at Baboon Islands were there for two nights; next time!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Padaliuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2 days in our Gambian experience”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went on 2 trips, The Gambian Experience and the Safari to Senegal. We were lucky in that we had JJ as guide both times. This man is The Gambia, bright, cheerful, knowledgable and an all round great guide. The Gambian experience was our favourite trip out, all day seeing the crocodile pool (Good), Serakunda market (Experience of a lifetime), Cattle and sheep market (Interesting), Paradise beach (Beautiful), The lady farmers collective (Left us speechless) and the fish market (every step was a new memory). The Senegal safari trip got off to a slow start when the ferry was delayed 3 hours, but even the wait was interesting, looking at the ferry, the Gambian trucks and colourfull local people, ferry journey was exciting, the actual Safari was good, but the animals are not exactly hard to find.
When we go again, we will be doing at least 2 more trips out and asking for JJ to guide us. If you visit the Gambia, please dont hide in your resort, use JJ and Bushwhacker tours to show you the real Gambia and bring pencils and books for the children you meet. This little country has a big heart.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank davidgirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantasic tour company”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This company were totally brilliant. We emailed them in January and they promptly sent us a full list of their trips and tours. We emailed them again on arrival in Banjul earlier this month and again had a promp response from them. We were met by JJ the following day at the hotel and he outlined everything we needed to know. We did the North Senegal/walking with lions with them. We found JJ to be absolutely amazing with his humour, knowledge and extreme care and courtesy of his clients. Soloman also accompanied us in another jeep as there were also a party of Lithuanians on the same tour who were also staying at the Laico. Again, we found Soloman to be absolutely wonderful. We loved very minute of our time with them and they were so much cheaper than Thomas Cook and are insured. No hesitation at all in recommending this company. We will most definately use them next time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bushwhacker Tours day tours also viewed

 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Bushwhacker Tours day tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing