We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Roots" tour with Bushwacker”

Bushwhacker Tours day tours
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Kololi
Attraction details
Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“"Roots" tour with Bushwacker”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a great day on the "Roots" tour with Bushwhacker Tours. It was easy to set up--we were staying at a hotel just down the street, and were able to make our arrangments just the day before the tour. On the day of the tour the guide picked us up at the hotel and took us to the port of Banjul, where our boat departed for the 2 1/2 hour tour upriver to James Island, famous due to the "Roots" movie; Alex Haley was able to trace his ancestors back to this village in The Gambia (Abreda/Juffereh). James Island holds the ruins of an old fort where the unfortunate people intended for the slave trade were held prior to being boarded on the large ships for the ocean passage.

In addition to seeing the island, you also get a tour of the village, where you meet the village chief, relatives of Kuntah Kinteh of "Roots", and visit a small craft market. On the boat, you are served a morning snack, a very good lunch, and again an afternoon snack. At the end of the day the guide returns you back to your hotel. We were picked up at 8:00 in the morning and returned to the hotel around 6:00, so plan for the whole day. It was a great experience and everything was very professionally done. I would highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Azouma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    7
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bushwhacker Tours day tours review”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a great experience with Bushwacker. They are really looking after their customers and the staff is very friendly. We did so well not too choose Thomas Cook as it was a much better experience: price and staff related. Our guide Mo was particularly nice and made everything to make our trip unforgettable. We went to the Fatala reserve for one day and we did the South Gambia 4x4 and we highly recommend both of them. We will come back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4x4 tour”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The guide JJ picked us up from the Banjul port and made us comfortable the tour was for 6 attractions but he fitted 7 we booked on-line before we went to Gambia and paid when the trip finished highly recommended 8 hour trip including all drinks all day and a very nice meal on paradise beach Danny Dete John gloria

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paddypoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The real Gambia Experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Faboulous 4x4 trip knowledgable proffesional &reliable guides we had a fantastic day out mo & JJ our guides made this a great experience .
We have travelled to Gambia many times & done lots of trips but these guys were excellent and made it their aim to look after you &show you there beautiful country .very reasonable prices & by far the best trip we ever had would not hesitate to recommend & look forward to booking another trip on our return thanks for a great day our Mark& Della

Helpful?
1 Thank sunnydays43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
“Buchwacker tours in Gambia is the best!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We (15 persons) took 2 full day tours with Buchwacker tours. Safari in Gambia and 4*4 in Gambia. Both were GREAT!!! The main guide we has was JJ, he was better than sliced bread...... ie VERY good!!!! The rest of the guide and drivers were really good as well. I am sure Buchwacker tours is the best Tour Guide in Gambia

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bushwhacker Tours day tours also viewed

 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Bushwhacker Tours day tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing