We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th Trip to The Gambia - Best Hotel Yet...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aparthotel Djeliba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kololi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aparthotel Djeliba
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kololi
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“4th Trip to The Gambia - Best Hotel Yet...”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We went as a party of 6 to the Djeliba for 2 weeks on the 2nd April. 2 had booked flight only having prearranged the cost of a room on arrival with Omar the hotel manager via email. We had a room overlooking the main road and bars, which the hotel is located on, but having enquired if we could change this room due to the possible noise we were quickly, offered one of the newly finished suites which we readily accepted.

Another couple had prearranged to 'upgrade' to one of the many bungalows to the rear of the hotel grounds which were quieter and consisted of a double bedroom, separate kitchen/diner comprising of a hob, fridge, sink and plenty cupboard space.

Our room was very large and had a huge double bed, dresser with TV (we never switched it on), separate dresser and mirror, double wardrobe (with plenty hangers) and 2 single chairs which we used mainly to drape clothes over. The bathroom was large and spacious and had an excellent shower which not only was very powerful but very hot (managing to steam the mirrors up in Africa!) and a clean toilet and was tiled throughout. The safe deposit box was mounted on the wall inside the room and had a key rather than the battery keypad type which we have known to break continually.

The plug sockets were 3 pin UK type which made charging phones and tablets easier but please expect frequent power cuts particularly at night but only for 10-15 minutes. (Gambia is known for this)

The room was swept each morning and fresh towels provided (on all but 1 occasion) and loo rolls and bins were emptied. One thing which we didn’t experience were the beds being changed in the 2 weeks but if we had asked, I’m sure this would have been no problem at all.

Mosquito screens on the main window and patio window were in excellent condition but please invest in a good mosquito plug in device and a large can of insecticide spray to be on the safe side as we had the occasional night-time visitor, which kept me awake.

The staff change over at 7am was often quite noisy but we were usually awake anyway, but the rooms with balcony’s facing the poolside would have been quieter.

The hotel itself is very clean and the staff are all polite, helpful and always smiling.. Particularly Omar who most mornings came to the breakfast tables asking if things were ok and acted instantly on any enquiries we made (the air con in one of the rooms was turned off for 3 days which Omar said was an electrical issue)

Breakfast comprised of bread that you toasted yourself, local tapalapa bread (very tasty) and jams, cereal and marmalade with scrambled eggs, fried hot dog sausages in onions and baked beans as well as a chef offering omelettes with many different fillings (queue for this was often only 2-3 people). The breakfasts became very 'samey' after only 3 days leading a few of the party to go to the attached bar, Muna's on the main road and paying for a full English breakfast, which was an occasional treat.

The pool was very clean and maintained daily and the sunbeds and parasols were plentiful even if you had to be there early to prevent people placing towels on them. Only complaint was the 'entertainment' pool boy who although very enthusiastic, became annoying shouting continually and calling people lazy for not wanting to do pool aerobics at 11am or volleyball when most people wanted to sunbathe or read and relax.

The hotel grounds are very well maintained and were constantly tended to by the ground men and the pathways clean and we saw very few lizards and almost no insects.

We even borrowed one of the hotels gas BBQ's for an impromptu balcony side BBQ at the bungalow after a excellent days fishing on the mangrove's, which was a pleasant change from eating out..

The Lobby bar was open in the evening and plays traditional African music but Omar and Lamin would plug in our phones to their music system if we asked and played our music. In the lobby bar there are dozens of pieces commercial gym equipment which seemed odd and we never saw it in use.

The security lodge at the main gate was always manned by 2 people and throughout the hotel grounds other security staff wandered throughout the grounds and were always friendly and polite.

We will definitely go back to the Dejeliba next year and I know one couple we went with have already booked for November this year.

It is only a short walk via either the beach or main road to 'the strip’, which has dozens of very good bars, restaurants and other attractions.

Room Tip: Pool facing avoids the road and bar noise, enquire about the 4 newly finished 'luxury' rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank -Steve-Claire-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    51
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
13
90
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

we have just returned from a stay in the Djeliba hotel and it was great !!!! the hotel and the grounds were spotless as a frequent traveller to the Gambia we gave this hotel a go and I am glad we did we stayed in a deluxe room well worth the extra couple of pounds.(311).the staff were so friendly and helpful breakfast was good although a few more choices of fruit would be good,it was placed in a good position only a ten minute walk to the strip and a couple of minutes to the beach were they have a great beach bar called poco locos which has frequent entertainment of an evening and relaxed atmosphere. Also there are a few restaurant's on the way down to the bar /beach try eddies café the food is superb !!! .would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: choose a deluxe. We stayed in room 311 overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week staying here. The hotel is reviewed as 3 star but our holiday overall was 5 star and towards the end of t first week we were wishing we were staying for two. Our room was 215, no balcony but a terrace. The majority of the time in our room we had to keep the curtains closed as other guests could see into our room directly, one guest even helped himself to our terrace to sit and catch up on his emails!! Room was big but basic, no lightbulb in wardrobe, one pillow each, shower fell forward from the wall fitting, door would come from hinges in bathroom, tv only had 3 channels that worked. Bedside light fitting didn't work. Room service happened every day, but towels were never replenished so I got to know the reception staff!! Some days though we had rose petals scattered over the bed. Breakfast was standard for Gambia if a little boring. The pool guy who arranged water volleyball brought a bit of life to place. Outside the hotel, poco loco is fantastic the staff are welcoming, warm and a lot of fun. Watch out for the "bumsters" if you are firm with them they wont cause you too much hassle. Everything considered we had a fab holiday, if we were staying for two weeks we may have chosen to upgrade on the accommodation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have just got back from a weeks stay at the hotel. The staff were so friendly, and all went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect for us. Our room actually looked better than the pics on here. The pool and gardens are nice and maintained well. They arnt as big as some of the other hotels but you feel like you get to know people more here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from staying in this hotel 2 women on there own we was in room 216 it was by the pool it was lovely, pool bar staff was all lovely nothin was 2 much trouble, gardens were well kept upto, we had a guide who worked in the hotel but in his own time who took us to some amazin places, but i do have to say food poor in the hotel but theres so many place to on the strip,just 1 personal moan management let me down we told them we were there my birthday they said they would do something nice for me but later in day i was told they forgotten so that was that but lucky other staff and guessed made it a lovely day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ladymario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We would definitely recommend this hotel it is in a good situation being close to the strip but far enough away so that it is not noisy. The beach is a short walk at the end of the road where the hotels beach bar Poco Loco is situated there is an excellent restaurant next door called Munas which serves good food and draught beer all very reasonably priced. The hotel food was good the service of the staff was excellent they couldn't do enough for you we were talking to the owner Mr Salah one day and mentioned that the hotel could probably do with more sunbeds as the ones they had were a bit old and two days later there was a load of brand new sunbeds available. The rooms are basic but very clean, the entertainment staff 5 star was very good and did his best to make sure everyone enjoys themselves all the bar staff are good at their jobs and the reception staff will do their best to help you. all in all a very good hotel and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: rooms in the main hotel block are better in my opinion. There are some brand new pool bungalows whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week family holiday. We are regulars to The Gambia and usually stay at the Senegambia Beach Hotel however, we decided to stay at the Djeliba for a change this year and have no regrets about our decision. We had a slight hiccup at the beginning but this was very quickly rectified. The team were amazing and made us feel very welcome. The room was spotless and the pool area was nice and quiet. It is nice to see a hotel in The Gambia that is run by And employ Gambians. We will definitely return and will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family....we hope to go back again next year. Thanks to everyone from the Danso family

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room preferably one that begins with a 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 22NicolaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.4 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Djeliba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Djeliba

Property: Aparthotel Djeliba
Address: Seaview Plaza Street, Kololi, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kololi
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Djeliba 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Djeliba Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing