We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanchaba Yellow Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Kololi B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed at this property twice because it is a good alternative to the local hotels. There are just a few units but with early booking vacancy was not a problem. These are two bedroom two bathroom units with hotwater, a/c units and basic amenities. Kitchen has necessary stuff for living. Furniture is OK. TV is limited but you can catch international news channels. You can get an internet modem on request. Electricity is an additional expense but there is a back up. In short, it has all that is necessary for a comfortable stay. Lamin, the manager is always available and always willing. Weak point is the on-site caretaker who has no English ability and is not much help. Second issue for some might be location, near a market, in a neighborhood with a lot of outside audible activity. There is not a paved road for the last 200 yards and when it rains it is awfully muddy. You do get your space, privacy, and it is easily accessible to all the amenities you need. Price is SUPER reasonable. Beds are not great; mosquitoes will get you...but that is Gambia. Give this a shot.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs unit. Be sure and clarify your access to property if out late. Make an arrangemen...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Sanchaba Yellow Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 33 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Not only are the rooms fully equipped with everything that makes a vacation great but the people who run the place are just magnificent. Yellow apartments is the place to be. Lamin was so good, we can't wait to go back in December. It's so close to the ocean and yet very reasonable. My wife and I love the place. So will you......

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our stay at the Yellow Apartments was great, Lamin could not do enough for us, Abdul and all the staff were great. The apartments (we stayed there twice last year!!) are lovely and have all the comforts of home. In the heart of the Sanchaba neighborhood yet a small distance to the lively Senegambia strip, we really like the local flavour the location offers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomB324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Sanchaba yellow apartments definitely deserve an excellent feedback. Over Xmas to escape cold winter I went to Senegal first but after few days I decided to go back to Gambia where I had already been, Gambia is quite with much less troubles!
Going back to a place you know has some advantages, you already know how to move and organise yourself. And yellow apts offer a perfect logistic headquarter. Located in sanchaba a cool ad quite area of Serakunda, you are walking distance to the beaches and main touristic attractions but still in the middle of a local genuine area.
The staff, Abdul in particular, will spoil you offering fresh fruits from the garden, preparing you the gambian tea and driving you to his native village. Lamin, the manager, will advice you on everything. We managed to organise a fishing excursion and a natural walk in the nearby forest during the night. Something surely new!
The apartments, I was in the red one, are in very good conditions, cleaned daily, fresh with new mosquito nets. Electricity is there most of the time although unfortunately they need to switch on the generator. It is noisy, I prefer darkness but silence, but there are other customers that could not survive without electrcity!!
Deinitely the best option in Serekunda/banjul, and from my experience, I start thinking possibly one of the most welcoming place of west Africa.

Room Tip: go on the top floor, ask the manager not to switch on the generator if not strictly needed, choose r...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiotzFelsetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sanchaba yellow apartments were perfect for us, all the cooking and living equipment stated on the website were all present and working, every room was comfortably equipped and furnished. any minor problems you may find are immediately rectified by the brilliant ground keeper/ watch man Abdul. With out this man this place would not be the same!! i hope they value Abdul as much as he values the guests.... the building itself is a nice picture to look at (very pretty and well kept) the local shops and market are very very close by... we took our three young children this time and they loved staying at the yellow apartments and they loved all the staff too who seemed to all enjoy their company and occupying them too =)

I would recommend a stay here if your alone, with a partner or even with a large group or family. The owner, manager and keeper are all so accommodating

Thank you to Sheik, Lamin and most of all ABDULL.......

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Visited for the second time in November 2012 (previous visit April 2012).

I could not fault the apartments at all, all the staff are friendly and it was really nice to see them all again especially my pal; Lami, Lami, Lami!!!!! (If anyone else goes please call him this from Cat!!!!).

The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis except sunday! The gardens were as lovely as ever though sadly no mangos this time :(

My only complaint was that we never got chance to grab a cup of green tea with Abdul seen as we were busy and seemed to be out so much- but ill be sure to get my order in next time!!!!

Next visit April 2013- not booked yet as got to sort flights and save some money up! but they will be booked very soon!!!

excited about our return

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the appartments in November 2012 for 1 week everyone is so helpful and friendly, specially Lamin. The accommodation is of a good standard and very clean, have already re-booked for a 3 week stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.0 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Villa Heights
Ocean Villa Heights
#3 of 4 in Brufut
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bamboo Garden Hotel
Bamboo Garden Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kololi
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanchaba Yellow Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanchaba Yellow Apartments

Address: Sanchaba Sulay Jobe, Kololi 20100, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kololi
Price Range: $31 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YELLOW APARTMENTS is a totally new, beautiful twin storey building with 4 self contained apartments for rent.The house is situated in Sanchaba, 1.5 km from Senegambia in a heaven of peace and tranquility, being only a few minutes walk to shops, restaurants and all other amenities, and a short stroll to the sandy beach.There is 700 metrE square garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sanchaba Yellow Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanchaba Yellow Apartments Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing