We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic African food!”

Darboe's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Kololi
Cuisines: African, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic African food!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The African food that is served in this restaurant is authentic and delicious. We had the chicken with the peanut sauce and the chicken Jaffra, two traditional dishes and we loved it! My boyfriend ordered his chicken with fries, I ordered it with rice and vegetables and we loved it. The cook serves as well and she is very friendly. The only thing this restaurant should improve is the electricity. The van didn't work, so we were so hot! They should get a generator.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MA891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    158
    77
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect local restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's a very nice and clean restaurant and the food is very good. It is owned by a Gambian familiy, which is very rare cause most restaurants on the strip are owned be Europeans or Lebanese.
The average price of a main course is D300, which is around € 7,-
The best thing about the restaurant is the good service!

If you want to have a nice dinner, go to this restaurant and support the locals!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AMJJvanDijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
166 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Friendly, good option”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first choice of restaurant on the strip and we were very pleased.

The menu is varied and inexpensive. There are several African options and the Chicken Domada (Peanut sauce) and Fish Yassa were both very good.

Service was reasonably quick and our overall impression was that this is a good choice for good basis food. They also serve breakfasts and lunchtime specials, all reasonably priced. Darboe himself is usually around in the evening. There should be free wifi, but it never worked during our visit.

We meant to go back, but with so many choices, somehow we never made it, but if we return to Gambia, Darboe's will certainly be on the list. You could do much worse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Darboe's”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a fantastic time in Darboe's. Great food, great atmosphere. We asked our waiter to thanks the chef, and he came out and had a chat with us!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali_Emma18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a lovely little restaurant which everyone should head to. The food is always cooked to a high standard, and during the day beer is only 25D (about 50p). The staff work very hard and are always extremely polite and friendly. They were kind enough to make us up some takeaway sandwiches to eat at the airport the day we flew home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SunshinePleaseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darboe's Restaurant also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Darboe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing