We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a must to visit”

Palm Tree Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #80 of 96 Restaurants in Kololi
Cuisines: African, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Local African / Italian / English restaurant run by an English man opposite Mansea Hotel.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its a must to visit”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have just come back from Gambia, I have been going yo Palm Tree for three years. Friendly and clean place. Hank will always meet your needs. I love the place and the locals do also which is something to be said.

Taxi drivers are very friendly. Cobra who is very trustworthy will look after you, he is polite and friendly.

the next time I book which will be this year, I am hoping to stay at the Palm Tree.

Sally - Leeds

I

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Palm tree food and drink”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Have been going to the Palm Tree for several years and have always found the service attentive and efficient. Food is always well cooked and carefully prepared with attention to hygiene.
Chicken, bacon cheese melt is becoming a favourite with discerning customers.
Proper fish and chips is another mouth watering meal to enjoy
Deserves 5 stars

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap drinks, food and budget place to stay”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just came back from Gambia few days ago and stayed in this lodge for twelve nights. The staff were very polite, helpful and the drinks are cheap. They have good food and I eat in almost everyday. The owner Hank was very helpful and friendly and made my stay pleasurable. As pointed out in earlier review in trip advisor, yes they are dumpsters almost everywhere in Gambia, that is men trying to sell things or be tourist guides in exchange for money to survive but they are harmless and friendly. they are not threatening and if you just say 'no' they will leave you alone. I had no trouble or issues at this lodge at all

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddiedaviesnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great britain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“take the bar as it is and you will enjoy”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

opposite the mansea beach hotel, good bar to have a cheap drink not too crowded good music, if you dont want to listen to loud music sit out front. The food is good check out the butter fish and curries. buy the large house shorts and see how cheap they are you will be supprised. dont be put off try it once i bet you go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paully1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My daughter and myself stayed at the mansea hotel two years ago, we're we went to the pal tree restaurant everyday really good food brill price for food and drink the owner hank made us feel really welcome will be going back there to stay in one of there apartments in a few weeks really good place

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Tree Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Palm Tree Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing