We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of The Kora

The Kora
Ranked #16 of 96 Restaurants in Kololi
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the 'chic-er' side of the strip, The Kora has been dubbed the little oasis in the heart of the sometimes manic village of the Senegambia area. Serving a varied and international choice of cuisine, The Kora mainly focuses on a grilled style of cuisine using only the freshest catches and finest cuts of food. We are also very well known and popular for our bar (we challenge you to show us a better looking bar in The Gambia) containing what is quite probably the largest alcohol collection in The Gambia and dispensing the finest cocktails on the West African coast. Don't take our word for it - read our reviews and hear what the customers say themselves! An eclectic selection of music accompanies you at your table, setting you in a relaxed mood either around our outdoor bantaba (terrace) or inside amongst rich West African wood architecture. Soak in the relaxed yet intimate atmosphere and enjoy local art works/pictures/crafts/paintings that surround you.Once we have satisfied your belly and soothed your soul allow us to stimulate your mind and senses as we become a lively and friendly bar attracting a true cross section of Gambian residents and tourists in a welcoming melting pot.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

everything about this place was spot on,nice staff great food and just off the busy main strip,spicy chicken dish was superb.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKoraRestaurant, Manager at The Kora, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear S222JMW,

Thank you for your review here on tripadvisor. We are happy to you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Yas Musa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    54
    20
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“possibly the best...”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Went here twice in my holiday. The chicken fajitas were great. The service excellent and all in all, much higher class of restaurant in terms of appearance, setting and attention tobdetail, whilst maintaining high food standards too. Not the cheapest of course but compared to the Uk, great value and well worth it. A lovely place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKoraRestaurant, Manager at The Kora, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Nigel H,

Thank you for your positive review here on tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Yas Musa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“brillant dineing”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

had to go back a second time on a 10 day visit to this area food staff everything about the kora was 1st class definitely would be returning here on our next visit and recommend it to anyone visiting that area

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKoraRestaurant, Manager at The Kora, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Patricia M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on tripadvisor. We are glad you visited us more than once and you enjoyed dining with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Yas Musa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajara, Gambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking for a place with the best cocktails in The Gambia”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The Kora has the best cocktails drinks in The Gambia with professional bartenders this is one of the few restaurants and bars I can compare with to the clubs in Kampala or Nairobi The Kora surely raises high standard in The Gambia I definitely recommend the bar service for business people looking for a great professional place please to wind down, team easily makes one feel comfortable and relaxed

Helpful?
1 Thank Jmwesigwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKoraRestaurant, Manager at The Kora, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Jmwesigwa,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor. From your review you sound like you are a resident of The Gambia. We appreciate your custom and for pointing out that we are also a busy establishment for local clientele whether it be expat or Gambian. We take great pride in accessible in that way. We also thank you for mentioning our bar area that is especially busy on weekends. Most tourists do not usually get to see that side of Kora as bar drinking in The Gambia does not usually start until after midnight, by which time most tourists are already in bed as they usually have busy safari or beach days.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Kora in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Yas Musa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We ate here at the first evening of our holiday and it was very good and tasteful. Great service, good value for your money. It is one of our favorite restaurants in Kololi! You will not regret this one!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Remco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKoraRestaurant, Manager at The Kora, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Remco V,

Thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor. We are happy to have positively contributed to your holiday experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kora in the future.

Warm Regards,

Yas Musa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kora also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to The Kora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing