We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kora

The Kora
Ranked #16 of 96 Restaurants in Kololi
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the 'chic-er' side of the strip, The Kora has been dubbed the little oasis in the heart of the sometimes manic village of the Senegambia area. Serving a varied and international choice of cuisine, The Kora mainly focuses on a grilled style of cuisine using only the freshest catches and finest cuts of food. We are also very well known and popular for our bar (we challenge you to show us a better looking bar in The Gambia) containing what is quite probably the largest alcohol collection in The Gambia and dispensing the finest cocktails on the West African coast. Don't take our word for it - read our reviews and hear what the customers say themselves! An eclectic selection of music accompanies you at your table, setting you in a relaxed mood either around our outdoor bantaba (terrace) or inside amongst rich West African wood architecture. Soak in the relaxed yet intimate atmosphere and enjoy local art works/pictures/crafts/paintings that surround you.Once we have satisfied your belly and soothed your soul allow us to stimulate your mind and senses as we become a lively and friendly bar attracting a true cross section of Gambian residents and tourists in a welcoming melting pot.
stirling
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Service as always was fantastic we loved the atmosphere and being able to eat in the beautiful garden area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jayg98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    54
    20
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NI
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has it all!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place really does have it all...great food, sisha, late night partying, delicious cocktails and friendly staff.

Make sure to try the coconut prawns and chicken satay skewers - in my 8-month experience, these are unrivaled! The steak is also excellent and incredible value for money.

It can be hard to find a decent cocktail in the area but the bar staff at The Kora have it sussed. The Frozen Strawberry Daiquari and Long Island Ice Tea are especially good.

At the weekend, this place becomes a busy and lively bar with great music - best to hit it around midnight and stays open til 3am or so...it's the best place to go for drinks before hitting the bigger clubs.

Above all, the staff are very attentive and friendly. I couldn't recommend this place more highly - well worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JannersNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just as good”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

as last time!
On our visit to Gambia this time, we visited Kora on a couple of occasions. It was almost a year since our last visit, but the staff still remembered us! We started our evenings at the bar inside. Coctails are great, they keep a good selection of wines and you can have a good cup of coffee after your dinner. They have Nespresso, so it is not just instant coffee as you get many other places.
Food and service was great, staff very polite and not overwhelming. Menu had changed a little from last year, but we still found our favourites on it, and prices gives you good value for money.
We did miss the manager from last year, as we wanted to thank him for great advices on our last visit, but we understood he had travelled.
We will come back again, and can recommend this restaurant to all fellow travellers to The Gambia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travl1ight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good fajitas”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This restaurant was in a very nice setting.
They had a good choice of foods.
I had the beef fagitas which were really nice. You got alot of filling though for 3 small tortillas and i ended up eating the remaining beed and veg on their own!
They also had some lovely desserts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna10103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We really liked it here during a week in The Gambia. Good food (I loved the sizzling fajitas). Really nice service too.

Helpful?
Thank RobbyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kora also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to The Kora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing