We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
49
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews round house wonderful hosts absolutely loved our stay perfect place to stay massive bed walk in shower fabulous stay each morning other guests diane gianni taxis fridge holiday strip compound locals
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 52 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Well, this was a little gem! Only 5 minutes walk through African streets was the Senegambia strip with tonnes of restaurants, bars and clubs. Diane and Lamin were great hosts, helpful and so sweet. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the house and grounds were lovely. The location was quiet, the breakfasts were great and all in all we loved it. We didn't get to stay in the lodges (we stayed in one of the 2 large rooms in the house) but they look so bloody cool I may have to make a trip back to test one out!

This really is the Smiling Coast of Africa!!

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou9em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This place is beautiful and quiet and only a short interesting walk away from the main centre. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The owners are helpful and friendly. Many a nice night was spent chatting in the bantibar. A great place to base yourself to explore the Gambia.

Room tip: There are both african round houses and western style rooms. I stayed in the round houses in the garden because it was nice to sit outside and watch the birds.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 691Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Myself, husband and 11 year old daughter have just returned from the exceptional Mandinka Lodges situated in Kololi, we had a wonderful time in absolutely beautiful accommodation. Everything is of the highest standards at Mandinka Lodges and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, large comfortable beds, and peaceful private garden area, yet within walking distance of the beach, and restaurants and bars on the busy Senegambia Strip.

A different breakfast was provided daily by Diane accompanied by freshly prepared juice and tapalapa bread, the traditional bread of western Africa.

From start to finish the whole holiday was faultless and we would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation, we feel lucky to have stumbled upon what must be one of the best kept secrets in The Gambia.

To recapitulate, a most enjoyable holiday in a beautiful house with amazing hospitality. We must also mention the staff that Diane has who are polite and friendly and constantly wanting to please, again nothing was too much trouble. We will defiantly return, much more personal than staying in a hotel, we could not honestly fault any aspect of Mandinka Lodges.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Hi,
What a beautiful place. You can not believe you are so close to the Senegambia strip.
Mandinka Lodges are a hidden gem. Diane is a perfect hostess- nothing is too much for her.
The whole place has a quiet calm . The lodges are really beautiful and the perfect place for a relaxed holiday. I hope to visit again soon.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhouse_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

These lodges are so nice - located in the a very good local area - near Senegambia Strip, if you wanted to go to the restuarants - or Diana & Lamin can arrange a tailor made trip for you at reasonable rates.
The decor is so very African and is wonderful for wheelchair users as it is all on the level.
Diana serves very lovely breakfasts and evening meals and she adds a very personal touch with attention to detail.
If you want to experience the real Africa this is the place to choose!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews