We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to experience the Gambian culture”
Review of Arch Tours

Arch Tours
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Arch Tours are Gambian owned & managed ground tour operators with office in the Senegambia strip next to the scala restaurant on the strip to the monkey park. We offer ethical site seeing tours, tourist trips, safaris,educational tours,exclusive tours,cultural tours,scenic tours, airport transfers, hotel and private apartment bookings and reservation & excursions in The Gambia & Senegal.we have being operating as a fully insured and registered tour company in the gambia and senegal for 11 years.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great way to experience the Gambian culture”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Half term week was our first trip to the Gambia, and based on the positive feedback we had seen, we booked the 4:1 excursion with Arch Tours. What a great way to experience the sights, sounds (and smells) of the country! The tour guides were fantastic - very knowledgeable and engaging with plenty of banter and laughter throughout the day. Recommended!

Three top tips for you:
1.These guys operate a finite number of vehicles, so if you are on a one week vacation book early
2. Prices are quoted in UK £ and Euros, and as it is a cash society then paying by 'home' currency is actually better value then paying in Dalasi
3.Pack a bag of sweets - or nic-nacs like pens, pencils - as this is how the tour company 'thanks' the Gambian village children.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    43
    5
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful trips are provided by this company”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have just returned from The Gambia and booked two tours with this company, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. One was the "Roots" tour which was very sad but very informative. It is unbelievable how people could behave in such an inhumane manner to other people. Having said that, the trip was great and included a very nice lunch. However the trip that we enjoyed most of all was the one entitled 4 tours in 1 day. It was tiring but it was absolutely fascinating and we learned so much from it. The only part of it I did not enjoy was the visit to the cattle market as I was upset by the way the animals are tethered and treated in general. We had the most amazing guides with us on both days (the best on any tour I've ever been on anywhere in the world - Amy was absolutely wonderful but so were many of the others) and the next time we visit The Gambia we will definitely book with Arch Tours. If your read this review, Mr Konteh, please pass our sincere thanks on to your guides for their efficiency and their all round loveliness!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arch-Tours, Owner at Arch Tours, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
thanks for you honest review.at long last somebody is come to realise what me and the rest of the team put into our.we live for arch tours and customer satisfaction.infact we can boast of the fact that we are the only tourism entity in the gambia that start work at 430 am in the morning.as for me the owner i start at 330 am 7 days a week.we are so in love with what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Book your tours with Arch Tours!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I can't recomend Arch Tours highly enough for any excursions! I was in The Gambia a couple of weeks ago and did two tours with them. The Four in One and the overnight trip to Georgetown / Janjangbureh. We had a good chat with Abdul in the office before deciding and when we talked about booking a third there and then he said we should wait and see how we felt. He really could have sold more to us but was very sensible which was much appreciated.

The Four in One tour is a must if you are short of time. It includes far more than 4 things and gives you a great insight in the country in a short space of time. Numbers are kept small and the guides are fantastic. Somehow there is a constant supply of cold drinks available all day!

The trip to Georgetown is a long drive but if you are happy to take the time I'd highly recomend it but would advise a book or some sort of entertainment for the journey! (About 5 hours). All worth it for the stay at the Janjangbureh camp. I was ready for some very basic accommodation but was pleasantly suprised. The rooms were clean, we were provided a well set up mosquito net and we had a private bathroom with flushing toilet. Going to bed with the sounds of unidentifiable creatures outside was a wonderful experience! The next day was spent cruising up the river which was divine and we managed to spot hippos and and chimpanzees from afar.

The journey home was a little more eventful that planned as we had a breakdown but I can't praise Arch Tours enough for the way they managed what was a tricky situation. Thank to Ali in particular who was just wonderful and took control of the situation and found us an alternative way home. Rather than put me off this experience only makes me rate Arch Tours higher.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michellabella80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arch-Tours, Owner at Arch Tours, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
thanks for advising people to book with us.we cant blow our own trumpet .we will let you to kindly do that for us.even our competitors and detractors have high regards for us in the gambia they know they cant compete with us.they have a saying in the gambia that once anyone uses our service ,no one other than arch-tours can please them.they even accuse of spoiling the tourist by doing so much for them.well as far we are concered ,our customers are our family .treat the customer like a guest in your house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you want a trip book with these guys! We did the roots tour and north senegal both of which were excellent. Abdul the owner has clearly worked hard at his buiness and he and his staff deserve alot of credit. The roots tour is truly amzing and it was the highlight of our holiday a truly fantastic memorable day. The staff made you feel completely safe and well looked after. I would have no hesitation in recommending this tour company you will not be disappointed.I wish arch tours a continuing success for the future they deserve it. Thanku arch tours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tarmigan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Don't go anywhere unless its with this company. Absolutely brilliant time with these guides. Abdul the owner has done himself proud with his team. Felt very safe ,secure and had lots of fun. Mohammed ( Cassius clay!) top bloke! Amy wicked laugh ! I'm terrible with names so to all the other I do oppologise but you are certainly not forgotten. Don't miss 4 in 1 tour this is a must, North Senegal was an experience never to be forgotten ! Already booked our return trip to The Gambia for next feb and will be doing these trips again as they were so brilliant . Thanks to all at Arch tours for an amazing Holliday .
From
Tony ( tony Montana !) and Kim reeves

Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyandkimreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arch-Tours, Owner at Arch Tours, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
thanks for your splendid review.we are ever so grateful that though you were here for just a short period of time,you were able to realise that we put and do any thing humanly possible to make your travel with us something to remember.hope to see you one and thanks once more for using our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arch Tours also viewed

 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Arch Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing