We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice prawns but truly awful steak”

Gaya Art Cafe - The Gambia
Ranked #2 of 102 Restaurants in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of the bustling ''Senegambia'' part of Kololi, yet nicely tucked away from all the hustle and bustle, is a chilled, mellow place where you are assured of having one of the finest dining experiences in The Gambia, and meeting an interesting and sophisticated crowd.Our fresh tempting menu, draws on flavours from the Mediterranean, Latin America and Asia, and not forgetting our vegetarian friends, a delightful variety of tasty organic dishes.Our bar, an exciting mix of traditional and modern cocktails, delicious world wines, and a heavenly variety of coffee beans to choose from, all set within a gallery of exquisite African art, contemporary decor pieces, and jewellery on display for sale.Gaya Art Cafe is chic but comfortable, stylish but relaxed, and buzzy but not loud. Whether it’s for lunch or dinner, or just lounging on our terrace with a luscious cocktail, or simply having a great shopping experience, there is something for everyone, and much more in between.The place to see, and be seen. Come and enjoy the alluring and intimate ambience of Gaya Art Cafe.Hope to see you soon !
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went here on our first visit to Senegambia as it had such great reviews on TA.My prawns with taglietelle were gorgeous but my hubby's steak was inedible and he had to send it back. The manager/owner cam out and apologised saying he agreed it was a bad piece of meat and offered something else of the menu. Hubby chose an enchilda - smothered in cheese and again very chewy meat.
They knocked 10% off the bill.
Overpriced and not good enough. Good cocktails tho.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank troutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 280 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Really top notch service and setting in this fine establishment. Very unusual varied menu with gorgeous sweets. Well recommended for that special occassion whilst in the Gambia.

4  Thank MONDEO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our first time to The Gambia. Visited this restaurant & enjoyed the food, surroundings & the atmosphere. We would definitely recommend to others.

2  Thank Paulsuyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Visited it with my mom after reading positive reviews here, we both agreed it was the most dissapointing meal of the vacation. Other then the atmosphere of the place, which was really nice, I wouldnt advise the trip off the strip for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal H, Owner at Gaya Art Cafe - The Gambia, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to venture off the Senegambia strip, and coming to us.
We are very sorry and disappointed that your experience at Gaya Art Cafe was not as you had imagined, following all the positive reviews you had read about us.

We are very different from the eating places down on the strip, and wish you had taken a look at our menu on our website prior to your visit. We do cater to a completely different clientelle, than that, that frequents the strip.

Thank you for the nice comment about our atmosphere, and we do hope that you enjoyed your holidays here in The Gambia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice meal with fantastic surroundings. Some of the items were even older than me. Well worth a visit, on the main road at the junction of the strip. Taxi drivers know it well.

2  Thank PatriciaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal H, Owner at Gaya Art Cafe - The Gambia, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments. Hope you enjoyed your holidays here in The Gambia, and look forward to you visiting us again at Gaya Art Cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaya Art Cafe - The Gambia also viewed

 

Been to Gaya Art Cafe - The Gambia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing