We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit for the sizzlers alone”

Tahonga African Queen Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 97 Restaurants in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,771 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for the sizzlers alone”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A great restaurnt on the main Senegambia strip. The staff are helpful and polite and service is good compared to the usual 'GMT' for timings. The sizzlers are great, as is all the seafood. very good value for food and the Julbrew is one of the most competitively priced here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    200
    89
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try the fish and seafood”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stumbled in here on our first night in Kololi. The fish, seafood and local food were very good. The restaurant was busy but we didn't have to wait long for our food to arrive. Most of the restaurants on the main street were busy and there was always somebody outside trying to entice you in. Since it was our first meal on our first night it seemed memorable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mazkira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't go!!!!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This restaurant is truly dreadful! The service here is appalling and the quality of food very poor. The "sizzlers" end up burnt onto the plate and totally inedible.Food very bland and has obviously been sat for a while as it comes so quickly after ordering. What was really disgusting was the fact that they piled all the chairs and tables up while we were still eating!!!! and it wasn't even late, they just weren't as busy as other nights. We go to Gambia every year , but would certainly NEVER go to this place again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Try the sizzlers”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went here many times during our stay in Senegambia Resort and I must say, the service is great and the food delicious.
Definately worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Hadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Local Food”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We ate typical Gambian food a lot whilst we were away and the African Queen served the tastiest local meal I had during my holiday. Every time we passed the restaurant it always looked a lot busier then many of the others, however the food was still served pretty quickly. As it was fairly crowded its probably not a place I would spend the whole evening but for a quick meal its perfect!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoealicia830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahonga African Queen Restaurant also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Tahonga African Queen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing