We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy with atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahonga African Queen Restaurant

Tahonga African Queen Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 96 Restaurants in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Noisy with atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great atmosphere if you want a noisy bustle. Food good but service was a bit on the slow side.Bit pricey compared to others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    192
    85
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We came to this restaurant twice while in The Gambia. The food was was very tasty and really generous portions! Would definitely like to return here some day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigglet_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laugharne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Over the years we have eaten in this restaurant many times and we always enjoy the "Sizzlers" very much, the staff are really on the ball and very pleasant, we will eat there again next time we visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Tried this on recommendation. Very busy and conveniently located on the strip we found the food, service and prices average. Nothing to highlight in particular. It was just ok but with such a choice of good restaurants in the area we wouldn't bother going back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food but poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This was highly recommended by locals and visitors but whilst the food was excellent (I had the local dish Chicken Yassa), the service is very poor. We had a different member of staff serve us each time (drinks, food order, each course etc) and we had to ask for the desert menu and the bill. This was commented on by other customers as well who had similar experiences. Great food but needs to sort out the service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahonga African Queen Restaurant also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Tahonga African Queen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing