We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luigi's Complex

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kololi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luigi's Complex
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fab holiday”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Beautiful apartments, very well equipped with all home comforts. Spotlessly clean and tidy. Food at Luigis is fabulous, expect your waistband to grow after a holiday here. You can even have your food order delivered to your door at no extra charge. We had the beef hot pot with a pastry crust and big chunky hand cut chips, was beautiful. The choice on the menu is vast and every meal we had was delicious. Breakfast on the terrace was very good and it was so nice to be eating breakfast whilst looking towards the beach and sea, paradise. We prefer sunbathing on the beach to around a pool. The beach is only 100 yards from the apartments. We sunbathed at Kotu Point Beach Bar, if you walk to the beach and turn right and keep walking for about half a mile the beach bar is just past the wooden lifeguard tower and we loved it there. Huge comfy thick mattresses and sunbeds are free. It was well worth the walk. It is very quiet there and you get no hassle. Boubacar will certainly look after you there. He even brought us a huge bouquet of flowers as a leaving present. Have stayed at Gambia many times and there are some brilliant trips to do. You must see Charlie the crocodile and visit the monkey park (both can be done by local taxi) they are both brilliant trips and a real good laugh. If you go see Charlie the crocodile you can stroke him, an amazing experience. There is also a museum on the site which is very interesting and tells you about the Gambian culture and history. We have also visited the reptile park, which was really interesting as you can handle the snakes and they tell you about all the research they are doing. Another fun trip is the camel safari, really it is a camel ride along the beach, but a good laugh, we took our local driver with us on the trip and it was more fun watching him as it was the first time he had ever rode a camel and he was in hysterics, so were we. The roots trip was amazing, but it is a really long day. Lazy day cruise is just what it says and is a really chill out day and real good fun. If you want a good taxi driver recommending then there is Solomon who is based at the top of the road, he is a brilliant driver and very reliable. We have used him for years and he has never let us down. His mobile number is 0022 09992054. Another driver we use is Lamin and his number is 0022 09859426, we call him our Gambian oracle as he is so interesting and knows everything about Gambia. We have eaten at many restaurants in the Gambia as we have been to Gambia 13 times, our favourites are the Clay Oven, a fantastic curry restaurant, they do a buffet night on a Tuesday which is excellent value. Although it is a buffet night, the food is actually brought to your table fresh and hot and you tell them what food you want. The Clay Oven is a gem of a restaurant tucked away at Fajara, it is a taxi drive away but well worth it. We also love Scala restaurant which does fabulous steaks and sea food, definitely one of the best restaurants in Gambia, along with Luigis of course. You will absolutely love Gambia, the people are so friendly and helpful and you will be guaranteed glorious sunshine after only a six and a half hour flight, brilliant. Can't wait to visit Gambia again and would definitely recommend Luigis Apartments and the restaurant. Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaKYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
88
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Everything at Luigi's is perfection.... beautifully designed rooms and apartments, everywhere was spotlessly clean. We eat in Luigi's restaurant nearly every night the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. All staff were very efficient and friendly, we loved Luigi's and the Gambia so muh we have booked for next year already !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are of an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_payne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accrington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Excellent accommodation, excellent staff cant do enough for you, absolutely love staying here rooms are beautiful and complex is lovely and clean , very close to the beach and bars and shops, quite a few new bars opened this year aswell

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandraflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a month in the sunny Gambia. Stayed at Luigis again, absolutely fabulous. New this year were the amazing Italian gardens complete with ducks, a beautiful addition to a fabulous complex, very romantic at night when lit up to sit in the gazebo with a bottle of wine. Also new was what they called the games room, which is attached to the pool bar area. Pool table, air hockey, football table and a giant connect four game. It also incorporates the library and television for footie matches etc. It also had rows of tables and chairs which were used for Christmas and New Year parties. Shortly after this area was transformed into an elegant lounge area, with three piece suits etc. Lovely for evening cocktails with friends.
Some off the beach bars in this area have changed hands or had makeovers, all for the better.
Visited quite a few restaurants, all good but stand out places, Scala, Tao and Seashells. But several nights in, both in Luigis restaurant and "glamping" in the gardens. Food as good as ever.
Hosts as good as ever, absolutely amazing eye for detail and a knack for making you wecome and relaxed. For example my wife had recently had a hip operation and the day after we arrived the tiled floor in the bathroom was covered in a non-slip mat. We hadn't asked for it, it was just there, so thoughtful.
The pool area has been repaved and made more spacious. Breakfast and laundry services although we thought were very good before have also been improved.
Altogether a great place to stay, real value for money and to be honest wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. To Luigi, Julie and all the staff, thanks for a great holiday, happy new year, looking forwards to next visit.

P.S. I still think Thomas Cook is the worst airline, surley staff, treat you all like cattle. Just wish someone would give them a bit of competition.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank NickDee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool, england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is my 2nd Time staying at Luigi's, i arrived Christmas Day just in time for the amazing Christmas Dinner that Julie and all at Luigi's lay on. It was a great way to start my holiday. The apartments are great i had a double room which was made even more comfortable with a fridge to store my drinks in and air conditioning for the warm evenings.
All of the staff at luigi's are great and can't do enough for you, from the cleaners to the waiters! The rooms are cleaned to a high standard each day, you wont get a cleaner place in gambia!

I also met some great new friends that also made the stay a great one!
I miss waking up and having breakfast outside listening to the sea, it is in a great location and i was happy to see that Palma Rima road now has new bars and restaurants, no need to venture far for food and drinks in the evening.
Food at luigi's was lovely, never had a bad meal - the Pizzas are a must.
I have already booked for Christmas 2014 with my family and can't wait to return!

Keep up t he good work to all at Luigis - i would recommend to anyone looking for a friendly, homely and comfortable complex.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A Christmas and New Year to Remember. Stayed a Luigi’s for 2 weeks, my only disappointment is that it wasn’t for longer.
We arrived Xmas eve late, and so did not get a chance to meet with everyone before the Christmas day Party. However everyone went out of their way to join us in the company, as nearly everyone else was a regular and comes for a month.
The Christmas dinner was out of this world, one of the best we have had. The owners even took the time to give gifts to everyone. This was very thoughtful.
Celebrations went on through the day.
New Year was amazing with a fabulous meal and party with Karaoke which was great fun. Most in fancy dress, shame we did not know this, love fancy dress.
Luigi’s is by far the cleanest well run 5* complex we have stayed in the Gambia. The pictures you will see, I can assure you the place is even better.
We had a deluxe room first, 5*, clean and fresh. However it got better the apartments are amazing colour coordinated and new.
Above all the staff, Management and owners make this place special and rememberable. Nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast is wonderful with a great selection of cooked foods.
Sid arranges a great fishing trip on a Monday, and hubby said it was well worth the trip.
I must say availability at this place is hard to get, so my advice is book early. We had to go elsewhere for two nights, which I knew when I booked. Booked Ocean Bay, big mistake, lesson learnt.
The beach is very, very close and some great bars beside the complex. Oh and a fantastic hairdresser on site.
Green taxis outside will give a good price as good as the yellow taxis. Cheapest we have ever paid.
Don’t think I would stay anywhere else now, unless they are fully booked. Julie and Luigi very hard workers thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siberianpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanyang, Gambia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Sitting on the roof terrace under the stars, listening to the waves of the ocean and enjoy what ever you choose. Pizza or Pasta everything is delicious. Looking forward to my next visit in around 2 weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bettina245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
1.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luigi's Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luigi's Complex

Property: Luigi's Complex
Address: Palma Rima Avenue | Kotu Beach, Kololi, Gambia
Phone Number:
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luigi's Complex: Luxury Serviced Holiday Apartment and Hotel consists of 18, 1 and 2 bedroom self catering apartment and 14 bed and breakfast rooms. All rooms have free wi-fi and AC. Furnished to European standards. Reasonably priced with NO hidden extras. Ideal location for those who treasure their independence without sacrificing their comforts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luigi`s Complex Hotel Kololi
Luigi's Complex Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing