We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gambia's Best”
Review of Luigi's Complex

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kololi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luigi's Complex
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at Luigis for four months 2012 to 2013, three months the previous year,and already booked for four months next year. Enough said.Read the previous reviews to save me writing too much.The most important part is the home frome home.Here you become a friend.All the staff go out of there way to learn your name. Also you meet so many repeat guests you have(i hope) made friends with.All the previous positive reviews are spot on.The reason being apart from the staff the rooms are second to none.Everything is up to date ,spotless and works.Try staying in some of the surrounding hotels to see the difference.
The sandy beach within 100 metres is perfect, beach bars abound.We turned right at Solomons beach bar and walked to Kotu Point .Nice and peaceful + free sunbeds.
For eating out ,after you have tried the excellent Luigis, within walking distance is Cafe Denmark and Chef Henrys.Further afield is Scala ( book for outside) and the Green Mamba.
The Gambia is a safe West African country with a lovely culture and friendly people.
Julie at Luigis will do every thing to make your stay perfect.
A lovely place ,a lovely family who manage it .Book stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irvSkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 196 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

After returning from Gambia today I have to write and say what a wonderful stay at Luigi's. Extremely friendly staff, relaxed, personal, good location, great food nice pool and pool side bar to chill at the end of the day. OK club a little noisy next door a few nights a week, if you can't beat em join them and it only tends to be till midnight the music is not boom boom obtrusive! Thoroughly enjoyable stay if you are looking for somewhere a little more personal, staff get to know your name very quickly and just love to welcome you with an open smile. Rooms cleaned daily in the morning, very safe, clean with all facilities you need. No need for hair dryer, iron, fresh crisp towels, tv (good reception and fox films) if you fancy a night in, they even deliver fab pizzas to your room from the restaurant. Thank you had a great stay, just wish it was for longer, rest of the family still there for another week. If I returned to the same place twice, which I tend not to do, I would stay here and will certainly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Footprints38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Luigis in November 2012, apartments were well appointment and situated within 100metres of a beautiful beach.Excellent well kept grounds with a lovely swimming pool and very friendly staff. Luigis also have a restaurant with a very comprehensive menu which is highly recommended. Julie the owner also arranges transport from the airport to the apartments if required. Complex is also well situated for other nearby restaurants. If you have never visited The Gambia before you would not be disappointed to start with booking your vacation at Luigis

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keithkilhallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. Four of us stayed in a two bedroomed, two bathroomed apartment and were delighted with the facilities, immaculate rooms, the lounge & kitchen. The bedding was of exceptional quality & all the little extras showed Luigi & Julie take real pride in their hotel & restaurant.

The grounds & pool were kept spotless and the whole site was maintained to the highest standard.

The staff are long serving, efficient & extremely professional. The hotel is in an ideal location - just a couple of minutes walk from a good stretch of beach; decent local restaurants (plus Luigis own, of course) and a 50 Dalasi taxi ride from the strip. The best of all worlds.

We would not consider staying anywhere else in Gambia. Thank you all for a truly lovely holiday. Julie & Luigi - you choose your staff well!

Room Tip: From what we saw they are all of exceptionally high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Luigis is a great place to stay for a relaxing holiday. We booked just a few weeks before the holiday and were lucky enough to get the last available room. Their driver was waiting for us at the airport, we were soon in the mini bus, given a bottle of water and our way (approx 15 mins). The 'Complex' is well run. We had an economy double room on BB basis which was well equipped - air con and WiFi included. There was a good choice for Breakfast. The hotel is situated just 50 meters from the beach, beware the sea is not suitable for swimming but they have a nice swimming pool. We dined most evenings in Luigis restaurant and found the food good and the service excellent. We will certainly return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerryp186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from our third visit to Luigi's - this time with the family. Once again unable to find fault with the accommodation or the service we received. The entire complex is exceptionally well maintained. Noise from adjacent bars was not a problem during our stay. There seemed to be more frequent power cuts than usual and the generator was a little noisy - but better than no power. Would recommend the self-catering apartments as they really do have everything you need to keep your options open regarding breakfasts, snacks and drinks (which do tend to be more costly here than elsewhere.) That said there are absolutely no additional charges levied for safety deposit boxes or air con, which is unusual in The Gambia. Staff have all been trained to a very high standard. Julie really goes out of her way to make sure everything is perfect.
Restaurants in the immediate area are limited. Would recommend Henry's bar (next door to Maroun's Supermarket). The new Terrace Restaurant also seemed good. Not too sure about the smaller one next door to The Terrace (think we ended up with a takeaway from somewhere else but can't be sure.) Luigi's restaurant, as always, provides excellent service and food. A taxi into the Senegambia Strip is only 200 - 250 Dalasi return where the choice of restaurants is vast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue-and-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were recommended this resort by friends and not disappointed with hotel but be aware there is nothing outside except some mediocre restaurants and scroungers! Noise from adjacent bars a problem as room vibrated till early hours sometimes. Food, staff etc all good though some prices a bit off eg, water costs 3 times as much in restaurant than pool bar.
We felt that area much to quiet and lacking in choice so ended up going to the strip some nights. Beware taxis are all death traps and the strip is a big disappointed with dozens of money changers and not so brilliant restaurants. Would we go back? No. Go to Goa instead- just as friendly, better restaurants and at least half the cost when you are there.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
1.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
smartline Palma Rima
smartline Palma Rima
#4 of 9 in Kololi
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luigi's Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luigi's Complex

Address: Palma Rima Avenue | Kotu Beach, Kololi, Gambia
Phone Number:
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range: $33 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luigi's Complex: Luxury Serviced Holiday Apartment and Hotel consists of 18, 1 and 2 bedroom self catering apartment and 14 bed and breakfast rooms. All rooms have free wi-fi and AC. Furnished to European standards. Reasonably priced with NO hidden extras. Ideal location for those who treasure their independence without sacrificing their comforts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luigi`s Complex Hotel Kololi
Luigi's Complex Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing