We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Luigi's Complex

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kololi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luigi's Complex
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place is always a must for us we have eaten and stayed here nearly every year since 1997.
Owners Julie and Luigi's are always on hand and will answer any of you enquires.... Julie makes excellent cakes if your there for any special dates e;g birthday , wedding etc

Excellent Rooms, Food, Staff and Owners

All i can say is Luigi's '' Try it you'll like it we did ''

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
89
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Like most people we discovered the Gambia by accident and immediately fell in love with it. We actually discovered Luigis through his leaflets in the Airport and have stayed there ever since, sampling most of the accommodation and have never been disappointed. The decor, cleanliness and amenities are unbeatable anywhere in the world. Julie can't do enough for you and leads her staff by example, they are all fabulous. The restaurant itself is a lovely venue and the food out of this world, pizzas to die for, pastas, thai, even hot pot which my husband can't resist!
To get to the wedding, Dave proposed (whilst under the influence of champagne!) when we were at Luigis Christmas 2010 so it was only natural that we would want our wedding to take place there the following year.
We went out January 2012 and got married beginning of February. Thanks to Julie it was the perfect day. She literally organised everything down to the last detail, flowers, decorations, entertainment, beautiful wedding cake and a wonderful meal. The friends and family who joined us still rave about the canapes, all served by handsome, smiling staff. It really was a dream day, not forgetting the superb family breakfast that started it all.
Needless to say we have booked again for next year to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dianelucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here 3 times now usualy in January have yet to be dissapointed.On our last visit we took our 2 grandaughters Megan +Sophie who were both celebrating birthdays during our stay.With the help of Julie and her very talented cooks 2 amazing cakes were made for them.A Dalek for Megan who is Dr Who mad+ a Hello Kitty handbag for Sophie which looked great and tasted even better.Both girls loved Luigis and Gambia and are eager to return.As word spreads about Luigis it is becoming more difficult to secure a booking which is why i am reluctent to write this review.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waddyCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have just returned from Gambia, on my second off season visit and although i am a four times a year minimum, Gambia traveller, I have to say that I have never ever stayed in such a nice, well run, immaculately kept haven. I still cannot believe i have missed this place up to now, although i have heard about their pizzas which definately lived up to their " best in the country" name. I would maybe even take that statement a step further and say best ever, anywhere. The staff were first class, could not do enough for us, the owners were so friendly and hard working, although there was some off season improvements going on it was no problem and never obtrusive. As for the term "off season" why??? what are the tour operators thinking of ? the weather was fantastic, couple of short bursts of rain but nothing really, but it did make the landscape so nice and green, the smells of the country were wonderful, the beautiful gardens at luigis were so relaxing to sit in, i just loved it there and would most definately be making it a permanent place for me to go to, so anyone looking for the best hotel in the Gambia, the best food and in my opinion the best time to go for relaxation and great weather, it has to be Luigis, thank you guys x

Room Tip: I had a one bedroom apartment near the pool, perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackieLearmonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Third time @ Luigis, this time off season. Hotel quiet but still the same immaculate standards, still attentive and great staff. Want to come again just after Christmas but Julie is fully booked :( Here's hoping for a cancellation!
Can't fathom why Thomas Cook stop flights @ the end of April? It's the hottest We've ever known it, everything is still open, but very few tourists.Shame really, as both T.C and the local economies would surely benefit even if they extended by just a month.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilnsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This place is perfect, home from home....everything you need and more

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed in a 2bed, 2bath apartment next to the pool, jacuzzi, and menagerie of well-cared- for dogs, cats, and a horse. Perfect for families. Clean, wide beach one block away. Luigi, his wife and son run the place efficiently and warmly. We paid 75£ per night. Had a nice massage at Anna's Health Center, part of the complex. Italian restaurant on the premises, nightclub next door, though the music stopped before midnight so not to bother sleep.

Room Tip: Apartment 22, and adjacent units, are steps away from the pool, gardens, and poolside bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
1.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luigi's Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luigi's Complex

Property: Luigi's Complex
Address: Palma Rima Avenue | Kotu Beach, Kololi, Gambia
Phone Number:
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luigi's Complex: Luxury Serviced Holiday Apartment and Hotel consists of 18, 1 and 2 bedroom self catering apartment and 14 bed and breakfast rooms. All rooms have free wi-fi and AC. Furnished to European standards. Reasonably priced with NO hidden extras. Ideal location for those who treasure their independence without sacrificing their comforts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luigi`s Complex Hotel Kololi
Luigi's Complex Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing