We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manava Suite Resort and excursions in Tahiti”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punaauia
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Manava Suite Resort and excursions in Tahiti”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hello All,

We just returned from Tahiti and Bora Bora. Although it was short stay in Tahiti we did a lot, after arriving late, Marama tours was waiting at Faaa International airport for transfer to Manava Suite Resort everything went smoothly. Check-in was easy and our room (Lagoon Studio overlooking infinity pool, ocean, Moorea Island was lovely). The next morning began with a somewhat spendy buffet breakfast roughly $32.00 U.S. and 30,000 francs for the usual American fare (eggs, bacon, sausage etc.).
If you're in need of cash(dollars to francs) don't exchange at hotel the rate of return is far less than what you would get at a bank (Passport required to exchange money at bank). After that business was taken care of, we booked two excursions with hotel concierage. Half-day circle island tour w/Marama Tours our driver Trevor was a very nice guy. He explained about the history and plantlife of the island. Later in the afternoon, we booked a helicopter tour with Tahiti Helicopters $589 for two. Our pilot, (Can't remember his name Sorry!) gave us a memorable flight. 15 min. tour was 20 min. He needed to scope out a work site in the Tahiti mountains (our lucky day). After returning to Manava Resort, we enjoyed the beautiful Infinity pool largest in Tahiti (caution: pool bar mixed drinks were $20.00 ea.). A word of advice, eat dinner from the local roulettes (catering trucks) the food is very good and the price is reasonable compared to the resort. After 5 or 6 pm, walk (NW) up the road from the resort, the first truck you'll see on the right side of the road. About 200 yards further up the road (left side) more trucks (roulettes) gather in the marina parking lot locals and tourists were enjoying the local fare. Overall, our experience at the Manava Suite resort was very enjoyable and would definitely recommend to others.

Happy Travels,
KS50

Room Tip: Lagoon studio room overlooks infinity pool and Moorea Island as apposed to Garden View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_S50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    680
    239
    60
    28
See reviews for
227
934
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I cannot say enough about our stay at Manava. The room (stayed in lagoon view suite) was nicely appointed, nice view of the pool and the island of Moorea. One drawback was the position of a palm tree that got in the way of some pictures. Not much to complain about, huh?

We arrived on a Sat evening, checked in just before 5pm and the pearl stores were closing. One of my traveling companions was due to leave that night so Rogers at the gift shop, called The Pearl Market and asked them to wait on us and reception called a cab. Got us downtown pronto and we were able to shop uninterrupted to our hearts content.

Then my friend accidentally took my VAT tax papers with her when she left for the airport. Her cell phone was off due to the outrageous rates etc. I was looking at some serious taxes (hundreds of dollars) had the paperwork not been stamped by the tax office.

Edouard at reception called the airline, the airport and the VAT office. He promised he would call me as soon as he had any news. At 11:30pm, Edouard called the room and said the paperwork would be at the reception desk in the morning. And it was there as promised. I can't thank Edouard enough for going above and beyond to help me.

Tao, who also worked at reception was also very helpful and reassuring when I was on the verge of a meltdown over the VAT. He was helpful whenever I needed transportation or had any questions.

Kahaiea was also helpful on many occasions. One of the girls traveling with me wanted a tattoo and he was able to make a recommendation. My friend scheduled an appointment with the tattoo artist and ended up being thrilled with the tattoo she got!

My only 2 suggestions: they should wet mop the floor daily and I wish the air conditioning had been cooler. Oops one more, add 1 channel in English please. In Bora Bora and Huahine we had CNN and HBO. Not in our room much at all, but I like being able to see US news and sports scores when I'm away from home.

Nice place and would highly recommend the facility!

Room Tip: Room 5207, nice room but palm tree in the way of pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyfromIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We arrived here after spending 4 unbelievable nights at the St Regis Bora Bora therefore we tried to do so without expecting too much.

The good.

We were actually quite suprised with the room. It was nicely decorated and bigger than expected.The restaurant was equally surprising. It wasn't the St Regis by any means but the food was good and the service better than the other hotel staff. It also helped that they spoke good English.

The bad.

The hotel staff were very unhelpful on multiple occassions and basically spoke no English. I should have made more of an effort to learn more french before leaving but my wife could speak some but it was of little help. The remote for our Tv had been replaced with one that couldn't access all functions. I struggled to get the reception staff to point me in the direction of my room and after 3 phone calls to different people and a visit to reception my wife couldn't get a face cloth. The free computers and internet access were barely usable (after i spent 10 minutes) asking reception for the password to log on.

Definately wont be staying here next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metalmik84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The resort was very beautiful and the rooms had every conveniences we could have asked for. The staff was very nice and even checked us in 9 hours before the check in time without any extra charge. The food was very good but the restaurant staff was not as attentive as the rest.

The infinity pool was absolutely amazing and the view from our room could not have been better.
The hotel is not in walking distance of anything, so you have to take a taxi or shuttle (not included) to town or anywhere else on the island.

The activities rep was very nice and a good selection of excursions at a decent price compared to Moorea or Bora Bora.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: If you are facing the ocean, I recommend having a 2nd floor or higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Manava Suites for two nights before heading off to Bora Bora and greatly enjoyed our stay. We arrived on the red eye and headed off to the hotel with the intent of hanging out by the pool until our room was ready. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel at 7 a.m. and were told our room would be ready by 8 a.m. The hotel did not seem extremely busy while we were there so I suspect such an accommodation would be more unlikely during their busy season but it really made our day. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view suite and it was great. We did not really use the kitchen but it was nice to have a fridge to store drinks. The bed was really comfortable and we found the room very quiet. The only downside was the air conditioning in the living area did not work very well (the bedroom was fine) but since we were out most of the day exploring or relaxing by the pool, it was not a big issue and we did not bother reporting it. The staff was very friendly and while some had only limited English, we never had a problem getting help when needed. Breakfast was included with our room and was fine and we had a very nice dinner in the restaurant one night. Having read about the exorbitant prices in French Polynesia, we did not find the prices at the restaurant or pool bar to be outrageous. The pool area is very nice but could use a bit more shade and, like most of Tahiti, there is no real beach on the ocean to speak of, but you can still go swimming in it if you like. The hotel is also a very short trip from the airport and Papeete so it is very convenient for a short stay on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjjmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The resort is beautiful, no doubt, and the pool is fantastic, but the customer service is adequate at best. Front desk staff was not knowledgable, they did not show us to our room or point out how any features worked. We had no electricity in our room for an hour until the reception found someone to tell us to put the room key in the special slot. No washcloths to be had in the entire hotel. We were unsure if the dock area was part of the resort, so it was not until we were preparing to leave we found out we could have gone there. And as with most of Tahiti, food and beverage prices are super high...higher than they should be for a standard resort. I would expect it at a 5 star place with service to match; this was not it. Thankfully we were staying there at the end of our trip for only 1 day until we could fly home. Next time, I'll stay at the Intercontinental. Oh, and annoying as could be that the AC turns itself off every hour! So miserable when trying to sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here from May 8-10, 2013 in a regular room. Comfy bed, TV (try learning French fast), a nice bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower and enough room for your stuff. By the way less is more we learned the hard way by overpacking. You couldn't ask for more coming off a long flight from Los Angeles. The staff was totally nice and helpful, not what we expected especially knowing how much the French can't stand Americans. We took a half day tour of Tahiti, a must do excurision. We did a mini hike to a waterfall, saw a grotto where people go to get cool and to party, local surf spots and just the general beauty of Tahiti. Since it was super hot the best thing to do was swim in their pool that overlooks Moorea. Moorea in the morning when we first woke up was spectacular. A tip from the front desk : ) We could watch the Master's Surf competition from the pool. We were still recovering from jet lag and opted for bar food - cheeseburger, fries and a ceasar salad plus a Hinano cost us about $50.00 but who cares you are on vacation. We had breakfast as part of our room package. If you are thinking about coming to French Polynesia make sure you front end your package to include as much food as possible so you enjoy your vacation without worrying about how much dinner will set you back, relax : ) We are returning here for our final night, staying in a garden suite and will try dinner at their restaurant.

Room Tip: A room is a room unless you are going to spend a significant amount of time here do not get a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punaauia
15.1 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
5.6 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Suite Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Property: Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Address: PK 10.5 Cote Mer, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Suite Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti promises to be the premier Papeete resort for business and leisure travelers alike, offering 121 guest rooms ranging from rooms to multi-bedroom duplex suites and Manava Suites. Consistent with the South Pacific Management portfolio and decorated by Tahitian architect/designer Bruno Hervochon, all guestrooms will reflect authentic Polynesian decor, while still offering contemporary amenities and the comfort of home. With state-of-the-art technology and in-suite kitchen quarters, each room offer a luxurious, well-appointed home base for travelers of all kinds, from business travelers staying for a week, to leisure travelers en route to the outer islands. The resort encompasses five separate buildings, with the first housing the reception area, restaurant, meeting rooms and 12 guest rooms, and the additional four housing 109 suites on 3 floors. In addition, the resort features two bars, a restaurant, a fitness centre, a spa & beauty centre and the island’s largest infinity swimming pool facing the lagoon and nearby island of Moorea. The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti is located in the island’s northwestern region, in the community of Punaauia, conveniently located five minutes from Faa’a International Airport and ten minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manava Suite Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel Punaauia
Manava Suite Hotel Tahiti
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Punaauia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing