We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U get what u pay for”
Review of Relais Fenua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Fenua
Ranked #1 of 6 Punaauia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed for only one night until our flight to Bora Bora. Place was tidy and clean (although I found a cockroach sharing the bathroom with me). Air conditioner worked well but the noise from the neighbouring rooms woke me up early the next morning. The main issues we had though, was with the cost of the extras. For example, the airport transfers were really expensive (7000 cfp one way per couple). As we flew in at midnight, we paid for the transfer to ensure a smooth pick-up and transport to the right location. Next morning, to get back to the airport we went out to the main road and caught Le Truck (the local bus) for 200 cfp per person. Also, breakfast was not included with the accommodation even though it is supposed to be a b&b. Breakfast consisted of bread rolls, sweet bread and banana cake, with an array of jam spreads and tea/coffee. Hardly worth the 2500 cpf price tag. So while the accommodation is relatively cheap, the extras certainly are not value for money.

Room Tip: Tahiti is very humid, even in the rainy season. Stay in an air conditioned room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tifas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 254 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

My partner and I and our adult son stayed in the studio for 5 nights. It was very comfortable and had a very small kitchen area which we used everyday. It wasn't super equipped to make meals but it was adequate for preparing sandwiches or making an omelette. The room had good air conditioning and a safe. There was access to an area in the back where we ate breakfast every morning. This place has a laid back feel, we asked for what we needed and were helped with gusto. Davy was extremely helpful and Maeri booked our activities for us. If you don't mind being out of Papeete and want to be near one of the best beaches on the island, this is the place to be. A short walk (8 mins) to the beach where you can walk for ages, have access to great snorkelling, and a picture perfect view for sunsets. Bring swim shoes as it is rocky in places. There is a grocery store 5 mins away, a car rental 2 kms away and various roulottes to eat at. You can take the public bus into Papeete which runs regularly and is very inexpensive - it takes about 1/2 an hour.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karen D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I usually start my reviews with positives and then add any negatives. This time I havent got any negatives. As far as friendliness, this place would be hard to beat. Annabelle and Vincent are a young, enthusiastic couple (with the most adorable little 2 year old girl who makes herself feel at home in any of the guests rooms) and simply cant do enough to help. Davy, a young multi-lingual French guy works for them but to tell you the truth, you would think he was one of the owners. Take his advice if you're wondering what to do or where to go. (By the way Vince and Davy - we went to the Lagoonarium at Moorea just as you suggested and were amazed by the corals and fish. Thanks heaps for that suggestion). There is definately a very homely feeling about this place. We left feeling we had made friends for life. The rooms are set around a small swimming pool in tidy gardens. Everyone meets at the large table near the pool for breakfast, pre-dinner drinks, after dinner drinks (I must compliment Vincent on his choice of rum!!) or just to pass the time and chat when there's nothing going on. The rooms are basic, clean with a summery casual decore. You can have one with a kitchenette or not. Each one has a little private part out the back for privacy. This pension isnt a 5 star hotel but its extremely well-priced, clean and friendly. A bargain as far as we are concerned and if we come back again we wouldnt stay anywhere else. We hired a car and pretty much did all of the island. Weren't we thankful that we'd picked a pension right next to the only beach with yellow sand and worth going to - with really good snorkling. (About 10 minutes walk) So I simply cant rave enough about this place.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one not near the car park. But really they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed there several nights.
The room is impeccable, clean, air conditionned, TV, large shower, quiet. Decoration is a bit outdated but is ok.
Small swimming pool, not private, but nice for q last dive because going to bed under the stars.
The beach is nearby, only 10mn walk and you will see there the best sunsets on Moorea ever!
Davy, who is helping and managing the pension with the owners, is extra helpful and friendly - he will go the extra mile for you. Do not hesitate to ask! He can drive you in town or indicate you the best ways to get there.
The parents are the loveliest people I met, so kind and helpful too - you really feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marie59sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swanilda_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank laetitia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lepicurien33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punaauia
4.3 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
8.5 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
300 reviews
18.6 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pension de la Plage Tahiti
0.3 mi away
Pension Te Miti
Pension Te Miti
#3 of 6 in Punaauia
111 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mahana Lodge Hostel & Bacpacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Fenua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Fenua

Address: Bp 381 585 | Tamanu, Punaauia 98718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Punaauia
Price Range: $86 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Fenua 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Relais Fenua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fenua Tahiti/Punaauia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing