We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Banana

Blue Banana
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Punaauia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Polynesian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We enjoyed a meal here, which we found to be very reasonalbly priced. We were there for an early dinner and got to enjoy a sunset as we had a great table on the outside deck. The staff were great, and there was no problem with english. It was a close walk to our hotel, the Manava, and much better value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    121
    24
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were taken to the Blue Banana by a local cousin. While it is very French, it mostly serves local sea food but the menu has something for everyone. I had the Tuna tartar trio and it was very good. Of course the wine was excellent.

The setting is very polynesian, right on the sea shore. Tables are available inside or outside but everything is open. The staff was pleasant and the service was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JayBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Why, Lonely Planet, why..?"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We tracked down this restaurant on the advice of Lonely Planet Tahiti, which had raved about it and described it as a must-do #1 Attraction etc. But we couldn't see what all the hyperbole was about...it was nothing out of the ordinary. On the positive side, the food was reasonably priced (relatively speaking, in expensive Tahiti). And the waitress was friendly and helpful to non-French speakers.
But get some perspective, Lonely Planet...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
255 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice view,food so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I walked from Manava Suite Resort to this restaurant in about 8 minutes (Turn right when you come out of the hotel). I was surprised that there has not been any reviews in English for this restaurant over a period of one year.

The outdoor sitting area is very nice. We went there early at 6:15PM to see the sunset.(Dinner starts at 6:30). Unfortunately the cloud structure did not allow a great sunset!

My wife had the "Gratin de la mer". I ordered the "Menu Touristique" with Poissan Cru(raw tuna in coconut juice), chicken with vegetables and chocolotte mousse which we shared. Food was not very exciting, just so so. The total bill was about $73.

We had better meals at the "Roulettes" in the parking lot about 300 meter on the opposite side of Manava, at less than half the price!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“When your trop end in Tahiti, Blue Banana is the place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Steve and Capucine are The Owner always there to Welcome you.
She is running The show in The dinning room while Steve preparing The specials.
On friday and saturday night The place rock with live Band and DJ .
Blue Banana is The place i always go during stop over in Tahiti.
Instead of waiting at The airport i do recomande to hang out there watching sunset

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaiKaiBoraBora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Banana also viewed

 
Punaauia, Tahiti
 

Been to Blue Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing