We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and staff”
Review of Le Carre

Le Carre
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Punaauia
Cuisines: French, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Le Carre - Gourmet restaurant Discover impressive views of the capturing lagoon and the sister island Moorea at Tahiti's most gourmet dining experience. The Le Carre Restaurant offers an intimate setting accompanied by calming songs of waves and tropical birds while you indulge in large selection of wines and creatively refined dishes by our passionate chefs.
Lismore Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great spot on the water, really good high quality food and staff who are really friendly and seem to care that you are enjoying yourself and getting a wonderful dining experience

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HB00763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    79
    49
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous food.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Ate there the last two nights & the food was spectacular. Had the "hamburger" and the foie gras with risotto. Both were presented beautifully and have fantastic flavor. Kudos to the chef

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our best dinner in Tahiti!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A very pleasant location next to the lagoon. Efficient staff of the highest standard. Excellent food and wine. A more comfortable venue than the Lotus restaurant at the Intercontinental. I know it is expensive but it was worth it. I wish we had eaten here on our second night instead of eating in the regular restaurant at the Fire Show, although we enjoyed the show.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food with Impeccable Presentation”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The chef, Frederick Gigou, is a masterful artist with food. His creations left our taste buds in celebration with every bite. My husband and I went for dinner the first time. We ordered two starters, one beef tartare and one langostine ravioli. It was the best tartare we have ever had and the ravioli was a fantasy of flavors in our mouths. We chose the duck entree for our dinner which was inventive and full of duck variations, it was exquisite and very generous in size. The dessert we got left us giggling, it was soooo good. We ordered the Ananas pineapple that was accompanied by a champagne glass full of some sort of fluffily creaminess that was heaven and topped with puffed rice as well as a Snowball which was the perfect globe of crispy meringue filled with minced tropical fruit and layered with a saucy sweet creation which ended up being the perfect bite every time. We went back for lunch the next day and had just as an exquisite experience with a completely different menu. We ordered two entrees this time and shared the Mahi Mahi which was match with a tahitian vanilla sauce and a beautiful mixture of veges and udon and vermicelli noodles as well as the lamb shank which was served in a large ceramic terrine. Both dishes were out of this world. The prices were excellent for what we ordered but it is more affordable at lunch. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are any kind of a foodie and have a palate for divine food, beautiful presentation, and a deep appreciation for creativity in the culinary world.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KTabachnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pecsherr1
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food big prices”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ate here and enjoyed the veggie entree, the mahi was not quite as fresh as it could have been but food presentation and view were killer! The Creme Brûlée was great and glass of red was excellent. Had an equally great meal for far less dollars at the bar restaurant the night before but not quite as good a view. At Le Carre you are up close and personal to the ocean and that my friends is where the big bucks come in - you are renting space for the view... Well worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pecsherr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Carre also viewed

 
Punaauia, Tahiti
Punaauia, Tahiti
 

Been to Le Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing