We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small pension, very close to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension de la Plage Tahiti
Ranked #2 of 6 Punaauia B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have stayed here for three days and enjoyed the warm and helpful hospitality of the owners, Vincent and Anne-Marie. Very good continental breakfasts, enjoyed outdoors. Across the road, within one hundred yards, there's a public park area with beach access, and, in the evenings there are two roulottes - mobile restaurants - serving excellent dinners with steak, fish, pork, chicken etc., and one specializes in crepes - the orange with Grande Marnier is superb. Good library, with some books in English, TV with about six channels, all in French, and a clean fresh water swimming pool.
Within 10 minute walk of a small commercial centre with more restaurants, two banks and ATM's, supermarket etc.
Have so enjoyed our time here that, though we'd planned our last two nights in Polynesia following our two week Aranui 3 freighter cruise through the Marquesa Islands, we've changed plans and are returning to Pension de la Plage.

Room Tip: Rooms not backing to the main road are quieter. All have small covered terraces for relaxation and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nosamtrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 249 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Charming Motel in Puna'auia (Tahiti). The hosts, Vincent and Anne Marie are very nice, welcoming and helping. The rooms are modest but very nice and clean and with just enough Polynesian touch (I grew up there, I know). Vincent had re-arranged them so we could have 4 separates beds as we were travelling as 4 single persons. We stayed in 2 contiguous rooms for 6 nights while in business (and fun) at Tahiti. Great little pool and nice set up for breakfast where it is easy to meet some of the other guests. The beach is very close and snorkeling was great. A shopping center with many very local stores is also close. The Meridien hotel is also at walking distance and we went to enjoy a buffet and dance evening there. Few "roulottes" are around for dinner but for the last nigh we let Vincent and Anne Marie prepare a delicious "poisson cru" for us. Great price for Tahiti too. Had some trouble and frustration with WIFI internet access (but that is not their fault) but when Vincent heard about it he said he would have set us up with another access to download pictures..etc. Great time at the Pension and we will go back there without hesitation if business (and fun) brings us back to Tahiti and French Polynesia (and it will...).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pension de la Plage turned into our base while travelling around Polynesia and we stayed on 4 separate occasions as it was good value for decent accommodation and Vincent was very helpful, sorting car hire and storing our excess baggage (10kg limit in inter island flights!) for free.

You should take Vincent up on airport transfer as cheaper than a taxi if you arrive late at night. Ideally you should hire a car at the airport as the Pension is a bit out of town or to save money you can get one at about 30% less at Tahiti Auto Centre which is a few km on from the Pension (10 mins 250CPF bus).

You can buy water (tap is not drinkable) at the small shop next door in the petrol station. In the evening there are a couple of roulottes (snack vans) opposite but ideally drive into the main town for the food market by the port as quality better. During the day you can buy fruit opposite and fresh baguettes in the petrol station if you want to save money on breakfast.

Wall safe is a nice touch and we didn't have a problem with the wood bars that lock the sliding door, I am sure it works better than the original lock. The pension is surrounded by a high wall and an electronic gate at night.

Kids loved the pool. Aircon is extra or you can stick with the fan to save money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

While in Tahiti, my husband and I had the chance to stay at the Intercontinental as well as Pension de la Plage. Both were great experiences, but La Plage felt more like real traveling. The rooms were modest and the pool was small, but none of that matters when you are literally across the street from a beautiful beach.

We were within walking distance of Le Meridien, which was a fancy hotel where we ate dinner and caught a Tahitian Dance Show. The staff was very nice and we especially loved Tiki, one of the resident dogs.

Breakfast is served every morning and is included in your rate. It's very basic: coffee, fruit and some bread.

Great value for the room - if you don't need fancy-schmancy, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our staying here in the pension was very niche: Motel style rooms face a swimming pool in the middle of a garden; friedndly and helpful staff; nice atmosphere. The beach ist just one hundretfifty meters away, and there is also a "roulotte" just across the road.

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without kitchenette; we preferred the last ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kappepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Tahiti has a classic duel economy. Last time I was here was for four months in a sailing catamaran. With my floating living room gone this trip has been about living away from that expensive, inflated, touro economy while being based on land. Straight off a flight from NZ arriving at midnight, Pension de la Plage was to be our first such venture here.
Spending NZD3-400 per night at somewhere like the Radisson for an antiseptic ‘Tahitian experience’ is just not us. The Pension at NZD140 per night looked OK on the web site and being only 10kms south of the Faa Airport it would do on arrival I thought. Firstly I should have taken the warning from Vincent the proprietor saying he would leave the lights to our room on, as a portend of an unmotivated host. Secondly there was the startled sideways glance from the hire car lady when I said where we were staying.
At 1am the Pension was easy enough to find on one of the blackest of nights. South of Taina Marina all road lights have been switched off by this time. But in the absence of Vincent our host, finding our room was not so easy when 4 rooms had a light on and I didn’t fancy terrorizing occupants already in residence by a process of elimination. A local taxi driver dropping other clients off wasn’t as polite and woke up our reluctant host. At that hour we accepted keys to a spartan room and left examining it till the morning….but only after Vincent warned us about the non potable water and sold us some bottled! Generous!
We awoke already critical of the bed….both of us had had an interrupted sleep and sore backs. The offending mattress was thick rubber of the right hardness but it had been scalloped into the shape of its many previous occupants, which is both disconcerting and very uncomfortable. Matched with thin pillows it wasn’t a pleasant experience. The room was basically a concrete block space with furniture of cheap bamboo construction including fixed furniture. The fridge was off and empty…no coffee or tea provided, not even a mini soap in the bathroom and apparently even a cold bottle of water, or ready-made ice in the icebox was too much to ask for.
I was hoping to say …’at least the place was clean’, but the shower was mouldy especially in the tile grouting and the shower unit firstly sprayed water everywhere, before coming apart in my hand.
So what of pics on the website showing a pool that the units look out on. There are at a guess 12 units and the pool is 5m x 2m…tiny…just looks good in the pics. The landscaping is rough and as poorly maintained as the rooms…shoddy is the best description.
So how hard is it to provide cheaper but clean, comfortable and welcoming accommodation? It is not if you have a passion for it and if you have pride in your property, both of which seem to be sorely lacking here at Pension de la Plage. We have found superb examples elsewhere in the Society Islands which I have reviewed (Sunset Beach Motel in Papeete, or Linareva in Moorea), but for cheaper accomo when you first arrive in Papeete, my advice is to bypass this place and keep on looking. Tahitians are engaging, friendly, generous, hospitable people who take a great pride in their properties. This was not our experience with Vincent and his Pension.

I remain amazed at some of the positive reviews that have been posted. On our experience this place is a dive, you can do much better.

Room Tip: If you find good quality pension type accomo in Tahiti, please share it with us all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KiwiEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel, but the fact that it is called a Pension should alert travelers to this. Nor does it charge 5 Star rates, but we found it to be one of the cheaper options on the island. We stayed only 1 night prior to joining a cruise to Hawaii in Feb and didn't want to spend much as we had splurged a bit on the cruise and then had another week in Hawaii to budget for.There was my husband and 2 friends having the adjoining room. Ours had a little kitchenette and they both had their own old en suite bathrooms. (A freshen-up would be nice)
From the time of booking, the owner Vincent was incredibly helpful and delightful to deal with.I had been so impressed with our email interaction that I took him a bottle of New Zealand wine as a gift as it was like we were going to visit a friend of a friend.(For the record, I do not give away wine lightly). We utilised transport that Vincent had pre-arranged which appeared very reasonably priced and the driver was waiting to meet us at the airport. The rooms are basic but we found clean enough. It probably isn't the most secure, with the wooden rod being placed in the runner of the glass sliding door, but we didn't even worry too much. At night the gates are secured but I wouldn't imagine it would be that difficult to get onto the property. It is a single storey property that surrounds a basic but very clean pool, and each room has its own balcony/verandah. We arrived in time to look across to Moorea and watch the sunset on the beach and then walked across the road again by the beach & dined outside (with what I think were locals) at one of the 2 portable eateries, where the food was basically takeaways but very tasty, then we just had icecreams from the petrol station next door which had basic food commodities. The next morning we had a swim in the sea,( Wear beach feet), used our masks and snorkels as there was a bit to see, and then we walked down the road to a local shopping centre about 10mins away and went to a lovely wee bakery and had the most delicious brunch. Again Ice cream/frozen yoghurt at a parlour and we were set for the day.We could have had breakfast at the Pension for about US$10, but decided we wanted to explore a little. Vincent had allowed us to combine our bags in 1 room and we left about 1pm. It reminded me of Pensions I had stayed in in Greece and Paris in the '80's. Lots of charm and as I said Vincent was a lovely host.It is also their family home so there are a couple of delightful young boys and 2 dogs but I don't mind dogs or kids(both well behaved) so it wasn't a problem. It is on the road that circumnavigates the island and I did use airplugs, we were right on the boundary side of the property. As we hadn't used the Air-con(we hadn't figured out how to) Vincent dropped the rate on his own accord which I think was nice as he didn't have to. We would describe it as cheap and cheerful but for one night it was adequate and if you had a car you could easily park it here, for I imagine no extra cost and it would make a good base to explore the island especially if you are on a budget. Next stop on the cruise was Moorea, then Bora Bora, and it is not in the realm of the luxury over-water accommodation, but we would come back due to the homeliness and obviously the price, Merci Vincent

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid rooms along roadside if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AWOLkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punaauia
2.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
16.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
7.3 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relais Fenua
Relais Fenua
#1 of 6 in Punaauia
254 reviews
2 mi away
Pension Te Miti
Pension Te Miti
#3 of 6 in Punaauia
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension de la Plage Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension de la Plage Tahiti

Address: 4 Pk 15, Punaauia 98718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Punaauia
Price Range: $99 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension de la Plage Tahiti 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island of Tahiti, "Pension de la Plage" is built in colonial style and set in a colorful garden with tropical scents.Glowing in the center is a charming swimming pool.Where you can sun bathe, cool off, or simply stretchout and rest in a peaceful warm environment.Ours is a special family atmosphere and we will share our knowledge and love of Polynesia with you, and make you feel most welcome.300 m up the road is the Meridien Hotel, and a shopping square offering all the comforts: bank, pharmacy, restaurants, bookstore, physicians, jewellers, news agents, salons, florist, boutiques, petrol stations, curios, etc...The public bus stops at our door.It is 20 min. by car to both the airport and Papeete center, and 25 minutes to the port.Each room is approx. 32m² and has a private bathroom with shower, as well its own terrace overlooking the pool.Some rooms have a kitchenette for dining-in, and some are arranged especially to accomodate children.Every room has a refrigerator and television.Nearby is an open terrace with a palm-thatched roof for complimentary breakfasts and optional dining.We also provide wireless internet access.12 airy, light and clean rooms are decorated in Polynesian flair, with bamboo furniture and local artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Pension de la Plage Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Plage
Pension De La Plage Tahiti Punaauia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing