We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How many ways can I be impressed?”
Review of Cafe Abiquiu

Cafe Abiquiu
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Abiquiu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Café Abiquiu offers local beers, wines & nouveau Northern New Mexico dishes.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was such a totally unexpected find - what an amazing meal, and experience! The warmth and hospitality of the staff added to the delight. I ordered the blue corn fried trout, which was the best fish dish I've had anywhere - so perfectly and memorably prepared - it was served on two tamale cakes that were so fantastic! Try it! The food here is truly special, though you would never know it by the prices - bill for two was just over $20. "Barriga llena corazon contento" (full stomach, happy heart) Totally spoiled by the fantastic wait staff and did not want to leave.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank abstractmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dede_Abiquiuinn, Inn Keeper at Cafe Abiquiu, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

FIVE STARS!!! What a thrill for the staff here at the Abiquiu Inn Café to read your review. Thank you for your comments. Wish you could have stayed longer...look forward to your next visit. Happy Trails -Dede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Cafe Abiquiu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 309 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Thank you, Trip Adviser contributors! This is how we found Cafe Abiquiu on our drive from ABQ to Pagosa Springs - a beautiful drive, BTW! Got to the cafe about 10:15 so ordered breakfast - one huevos, one French toast, and one eggs Benedict. All were wonderful with stellar green and red chilis. The rosemary syrup for the French toast was to die for. Added bonuses were the REALLY nice gift area and the walk around the inn property. Will seriously consider Abiquiu Inn as a future destination!

Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dede_Abiquiuinn, Inn Keeper at Cafe Abiquiu, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for the five star rating! We really appreciate your taking the time to let other Trip Advisor visitors know about your great experience at our Café and Gift Shop. We look forward to your next visit when you stay with us. Room #17 is our most requested!! Happy Trails Dede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Abiquiu Inn is a staple of Rio Arriba country, located downstream of Georgia's old Abiquiu haunts along the Rio Chama. The restaurant is unprepossessing, but serves excellent enchiladas (red or green?) and other Mexican fare, as well as a killer burger for less adventuresome gringos. The staff is always friendly and the food good. Stop in for a bite and a chat with the locals before you gas up at Bode's

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank puckerstoppled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dede_Abiquiuinn, Innkeeper at Cafe Abiquiu, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Service gets Five Stars!! Thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to write a review. The spirit of Georgia O'Keeffe can be connected with and experienced in Abiquiu more than any place on earth. So perhaps in spirit, Ms. O'Keeffe was with you at dinner. Hope your journey brings you this way again. Happy Trails! Dede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Today I decided to go grab a burger with my old lady and right off the bat my old lady was rudely ignored by a "Desiree" at the front desk. To top it off she walked away from us and forced my old lady to call over a newer employee, who didn't know how to use the computer.. Overall i am disappointed with the way the girl at the front desk (Desiree) treated us. Extremely disappointed! And no bacon was put on my burger lastly! :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gavram25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dede_Abiquiuinn, Innkeeper at Cafe Abiquiu, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for the Five Star rating on our food at the Café Abiquiu. I am so sorry that your experience with the service on your take out order was unpleasant for you and your wife. Please stop by the Inn and I will be happy give you a coupon for a complimentary burger. Happy Trails! Dede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Lunch at the Cafe Abiquiu after a tour of the Georgia O'Keeffe Home and Studio is not to be missed and was a perfect finish to our trip to Abiquiu. Don't let the modest decor fool you. The menu offeres very creative takes on traditional southwest offerings. The Tamale Cake Napoleon was a refreshing spin on traditional tamale dishes. Everything was very fresh and the service was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dede_Abiquiuinn, Innkeeper at Cafe Abiquiu, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Five Star Rating !!! Thank You. The Abiquiu Inn staff appreciate the Five Stars on Service. The Georgia O'Keeffe Home and Studio Tour Office is just steps away from our Café and we are so happy to serve the tour Guests here at The Inn for overnight stays in our beautiful rooms, tasty meals and a great shopping experience at our newly expanded Gift Store. Hope you visit us again. Happy Trails! Dede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Abiquiu also viewed

 
Ojo Caliente, Taos County
 

Been to Cafe Abiquiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing