We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Spend a Week in The Summer!”
Review of Ghost Ranch

Ghost Ranch
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Abiquiu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a land of shifting light, boundless skies and fused culture, the 21,000 acre Ghost Ranch Education and Retreat Center in northern New Mexico is a place for renewal and retreat. The towering rock walls and vivid colors hold a hypnotic power. This is O’Keeffe Country.Visitors to Ghost Ranch will feel they’ve stepped back in time to days before the bells and whistles of technology vied relentlessly for our attention. People from all over the world come for spiritual development, to discuss issues of peace and justice, to work together in creation care, to paint, write poetry, to hike, ride horseback, to research globally renowned archaeological and fossil quarries… or simply to rest and renew their spirits. With over 300 courses each year, Ghost Ranch provides affordable ways to enrich your mind, body and soul.Available for overnight lodging as well, Ghost Ranch offers rustic , yet comfortable accomodations at a variety of price ranges to fit your budget. Our campground is open mid-May through early October.The Georgia O’Keeffe at Ghost Ranch Landscape Tour brings guests to a restricted area of the ranch to the scenes and actual locations of O’Keeffe’s paintings. O’Keeffe Landscape Tours are available mid-March through late-November. Reservations are required.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place to Spend a Week in The Summer!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Ghost Ranch, not only the home of Georgia O' O'Keeffe, and the founding location of the Coelophysis dinosaur, (New Mexico State Fossil), Ghost Ranch is an amazing, beautiful, enchanting, way to spend a week of the summer! Summer months at Ghost Ranch have amazing offerings that are hands down, the best i have ever seen from a place as remote and hidden away as Ghost Ranch! They have 100's of arts classes, spiritual direction classes, health classes (yoga), outdoors classes, and a great youth program for my teens. The youth program focuses on teen leadership, in which experienced counselors lead onsite and offsite activities that are probably worth as much as what us adults do in our day classes! Great for everyone! Food is very good, a lot of free perks are thrown in to program participants, and a great since of community is all over the ranch. MUST GO!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    119
    37
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colden, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning Scenery”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Has to be the most stunning scenery around. Can understand why Georgia O'Keefe painted here. Even if you don't hike any trail, the views are spectacular. We made it to about 50 feet from the top of Chimney Rock, steepness and rocks kept us from going to top. Even if you only make it up the first rise, the view over the valley to the lake and Chimney Rock are worth it. Quite a bit of the path is on the edge of the cliff or steep and rocky. A walking stick helps. Check in at the visitor center before starting out, they take info in case you don't return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bernice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great hike options”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Since we only had one morning to visit, we opted to just do the Chimney Rock hike as it promised the best views (frankly, I'd rather have done the more strenuous Kitchen Mesa hike and will return for that as well). It did not disappoint. Checking in at the visitor center was friendly and appropriate. We signed into a log so the volunteers would know what hike we were taking and if we made it back.

The hike itself was great. Trail was easy to follow, uncrowded and the view from the top was amazing. 360 degrees of fabulous. Thankfully there was also a pleasant breeze at the top as well.

Bring plenty of water and good hiking shoes. I definitely recommend this hike and a visit to Ghost Ranch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NotUrTypicalChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and remote”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Go for the scenery and solitude. There are also tours of the locations Georgia O'Keeffe painted, horseback riding, hiking into the adjacent National Forest, and adorable burros to pet. Basic lodging and meals are available. Don't miss the little museums, home to the New Mexico state fossil.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivergrl822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well-organized, great trails”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a beautiful site. It is *not* Georgia O'Keefe's home but is well worth the visit. There are a few hikes of varying lengths and difficulty levels. The views are spectacular. Register at the visitor's center (no cost). There are facilities here to spend the night as well as bathrooms, gift shop and a small convenience store. And some great dinosaur bones in the small museum. We met international travelers also hiking. The volunteers/staff were helpful. Really enjoyed the trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ghost Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing