We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Ranch for a wonderful birding workshop”
Review of Ghost Ranch

Ghost Ranch
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Abiquiu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a land of shifting light, boundless skies and fused culture, the 21,000 acre Ghost Ranch Education and Retreat Center in northern New Mexico is a place for renewal and retreat. The towering rock walls and vivid colors hold a hypnotic power. This is O’Keeffe Country.Visitors to Ghost Ranch will feel they’ve stepped back in time to days before the bells and whistles of technology vied relentlessly for our attention. People from all over the world come for spiritual development, to discuss issues of peace and justice, to work together in creation care, to paint, write poetry, to hike, ride horseback, to research globally renowned archaeological and fossil quarries… or simply to rest and renew their spirits. With over 300 courses each year, Ghost Ranch provides affordable ways to enrich your mind, body and soul.Available for overnight lodging as well, Ghost Ranch offers rustic , yet comfortable accomodations at a variety of price ranges to fit your budget. Our campground is open mid-May through early October.The Georgia O’Keeffe at Ghost Ranch Landscape Tour brings guests to a restricted area of the ranch to the scenes and actual locations of O’Keeffe’s paintings. O’Keeffe Landscape Tours are available mid-March through late-November. Reservations are required.
Mars Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Ghost Ranch for a wonderful birding workshop”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at Ghost Ranch to participate in a Birding Workshop on birds of Ghost Ranch and the surrounding area. I can't say enough about our wonderful experience provided by the Ghost Ranch and the leader of our group-Steve Cox-who is an accomplished wildlife and ornithology expert...and oh so patient. Although we grumbled about getting up at the crack of dawn (best time to view many species), Steve was unfailingly patient as he led us on various walks and trails searching for birds. After the initial early morning sessions, we all headed to the dining hall for breakfast-plenty of good basic choices. Then we prepared for the afternoon sessions which were either more hikes or piling in a big van to visit areas where particular species had been spotted. We were immersed in the area geology as well as the birds in that region. The workshop included 3 meals a day-either bag lunches which we could assemble from foods the kitchen laid out in a separate room, or a hot meal noon and evening. All meals were satisfying although not gourmet. Many other workshops were occurring at the same time along with many youngsters receiving outdoor education-it was fun to talk to folks from all over the country. I would definitely like to come back to Ghost Ranch for additional workshops as well as to hike in this gorgeous area. The elevation is around 6,000 - 7,000 ft. so try to get in some exercise before arriving or you may be huffing and puffing. There's a big variety of accommodations to suit most budgets ranging from tent camping, to shared rooms and baths, to separate rooms with private baths.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank msburddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    119
    37
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2nd time better than the 1st”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Amazing beauty, if not the most beautiful place I have ever seen. The hikes to Chimney rock and Box Canyon are not difficult, but I recommend a meal break in between. You are at 7000 feet, so drink lots of water and pace yourself. We ate at the Abiquiu Inn and that worked out well, but you cannot eat at the Ghost Ranch cafeteria unless you are a staying guest and the food isn't good anyway.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A place we'll never forget”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to Ghost Ranch on a crisp December day and were two of only a handful of people that were hiking the Chimney Rock trail. The scenery was just beautiful. We were so inspired that a couple of weeks later on our way driving to Phoenix, we decided to stay for two nights. Very quiet up there in late December. It was COLD as you'd expect.....but that added to the serenity of the location. This time we hiked the Box Canyon. Didn't get all the way because it was slippery due to some snow. We paid $130 a night to stay in the Tumbleweed, which is a cottage on the mesa with a private bathroom. The room was nice and warm (very important in late December). The thermal headed floors really generate a lot of heat. Our biggest complaint was the cafeteria. I can't cook at all, but this food was just BAD. And, not cheap. We paid $12 a person for dinner which consistent of beef that my dog couldn't chew. A chef running a lodge should know how to slow cook beef. We ended up having to fill the taco with lettuce and tomatoes. Yum!! That's it. A $24 dinner. Breakfast was just as bad; cold eggs. The next evening we drove to the Abiquiu Cafe. It was a bit of a drive and if you don't have a car you are just out of choices as the ranch is so desolate. Fortunately we had a car and didn't have to endure another dinner at the ranch cafeteria. Obviously Abiquiu Cafe was more expensive, but what a treat! Great, great meal. Obviously Ghost Ranch is a retreat, but even pilgrims need to eat. Would have given this a 5 star because of the beauty, but they have to do something about the food. Have read several reviews about the staff. We found everyone to be very helpful and courteous.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beauty of the red, orange, pink, yellow cliffs”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love Ghost Ranch. We always take the tour offered showing the sites pictured in Georgia O'Keeffe's paintings. We hike and just soak in the beauty of this glorious place. What we least like is the cafeteria. The food is actually not bad at all but it is pretty basic and the cafeteria has a limited and rigid schedule. On the other hand, we are always grateful for the cafeteria because you are miles from any restaurant!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank lillydogyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful country!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After visiting the Georgia O'Keefe house and studio, we drove over to Ghost Ranch, where she also lived, to do some hiking. There are three hikes there--we chose the one to Box Canyon, which was beautiful. It was an easy 2 hour round-trip hike on a well marked path--a few boulders to climb over, but nothing very difficult. The red rocks and badlands of Northern New Mexico are a site to behold--just spectacular!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LoriRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ghost Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing