We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Ranch”
Review of Ghost Ranch

Ghost Ranch
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Abiquiu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a land of shifting light, boundless skies and fused culture, the 21,000 acre Ghost Ranch Education and Retreat Center in northern New Mexico is a place for renewal and retreat. The towering rock walls and vivid colors hold a hypnotic power. This is O’Keeffe Country.Visitors to Ghost Ranch will feel they’ve stepped back in time to days before the bells and whistles of technology vied relentlessly for our attention. People from all over the world come for spiritual development, to discuss issues of peace and justice, to work together in creation care, to paint, write poetry, to hike, ride horseback, to research globally renowned archaeological and fossil quarries… or simply to rest and renew their spirits. With over 300 courses each year, Ghost Ranch provides affordable ways to enrich your mind, body and soul.Available for overnight lodging as well, Ghost Ranch offers rustic , yet comfortable accomodations at a variety of price ranges to fit your budget. Our campground is open mid-May through early October.The Georgia O’Keeffe at Ghost Ranch Landscape Tour brings guests to a restricted area of the ranch to the scenes and actual locations of O’Keeffe’s paintings. O’Keeffe Landscape Tours are available mid-March through late-November. Reservations are required.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Ghost Ranch”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Beautiful scenery, hiking trails, museums at the ranch where Georgia O'Keefe lived and painted. Toured the little Ghost House-lots of history-very spiritual place

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    119
    37
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Too bad about the food and lodging”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

It's one of the most beautiful places on earth. Which almost forgives horrible, institutional quality food and very basic lodging. We were in the most posh rooms in Coyote, which were nice enough, but the others were so very basic. It's an expensive place to stay and eat, but highly suggested to come for the scenery-- so wonderful!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank trientalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, MD
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Recommend the O'Keeffe Landscape Tour”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We arrived at Ghost Ranch early and did the hike to Chimney Rock. The views on the hike are amazing, and it is well worth the effort. We enjoyed the Landscape tour by bus quite a bit. The guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about and interested in Georgia O'Keeffe's life and art. We especially appreciated that prints of her work were compared to the landscapes that we were viewing. If you are a fan of Georgia's art, this tour is a must-do. It provides insight to her work - to see what she chose to paint and what she chose *not* to paint!

Everyone we encountered at Ghost Ranch was wonderfully friendly and hospitable. Do make reservations early - a number of people showed up the day of the tour, and were turned away because it was full.

On your way to/from Ghost Ranch, consider a stop at Abiquiu Dam, and Echo Canyon. We didn't know about Echo Canyon, but heard afterwards that it is a really interesting place and worth a visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank svetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Opera program”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Basically I would say that this was the most disorganized trip I was ever on. The program director kept us waiting until the day before the class started to give out information, and even then the info provided was inadequate. Do these people just not care. We stayed in sage inn in Santa fe, a rather dowdy place.

Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful spiritual Place.”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife and I visited GR after touring the Georgia O'Keefe home. The entire area is just beautiful. I love the camp atmosphere and simple spiritual nature of the GR. This is not a place for the types that have transformed Sedona into a tourist "trap". If you think your money makes you an icon and arriving in the big mercedes or porche will get you attention dont bother to come here, its not your kind of place and never will be.

This is for the folks that seek a retreat from the modern world, a place to find your soul and let it blossom. I can feel why O'Keefe loved this place.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank DHParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ghost Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing