We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend Anniversary Trip”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Abiquiu, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HLSWoods7...
Dundalk, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Weekend Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A friend of mine, who happens to be a local from Abiquiu, recommended Casita de Chuparosa for our weekend stay. The Casita is nestled in the beautiful mountains of New Mexico but with all of the amenities you may be used to in your everyday life. There is a window unit in each room if you are visiting in the summer and a fireplace as well in case you are visiting in the winter. Both of the bedrooms offer great views of the sunset each night and there is a little patio off of the main bedroom so you can enjoy the scenery outside as well. The owner/proprietor, Jeff, is super friendly and very easy to get along with. The Casita is essnetially an in-law suite that is attached to the side of his house, without any inner, connecting doors. The Casita is fully self-sufficient, down to the washer and dryer to clean clothes that may get muddy in a summer thunderstorm. My husband and I had to get up super early every morning we were there just to make some of the activities that we planned and I was worried that we would wake Jeff up, but he told me that we didn't make any noise sufficient to wake him. The Casita is about an hour drive from Taos and Espanola, though there are plenty of local things to do in the area. Jeff provides his cell number once you book the place and is super quick to text back about any questions you may have about the Casita, or things to do in the area. Many of the county roads in the area are gravel/dirt, including the one leading up to Duane Drive, so be sure to rent or bring a vehicle that can traverse difficult terrain, though the roads are well maintained so that's not 100% necessary. Jeff also has three donkeys, two llamas, and a horse that love his visitors and their willingness to feed them treats. Jeff recommends using Google Maps when trying to locate his property and that app led us there from Albuquerque's airport with no problems whatsoever, right up to the door of the Casita. Our stay was so wonderful. If we are ever in the area again, we will look to Casita de Chuparosa for our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery right outside the windows!
Liked least: Nothing - everything was phenomenal
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Hannah and Bryan were the most awesome guests ever! So complimentary, so appreciative, left the Casita in immaculate condition and left me a wonderful note in my guest book and this wonderful review. I couldn't ask for better guests. They are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candis W
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Casita de Chuparosa promised a lot, and delivered even more!
The Casita was spacious, gracious and absolutely charming. Decorated in the southwestern style with everything you need for a fabulous stay.
The views in every direction are breathtaking including the sunsets over Pedernal.
Jeff was an excellent host. All of our needs were met and exceeded. We had plenty of privacy in several sitting areas outside. And Jeff gave us maps and information on local attractions, places to eat, some of the local lore.
A piece of my heart will stay with Buster, Jeff's beautiful horse and the three miniature donkeys, who provided daily entertainment. A very private hot tub with views of the entire valley and the surrounding mountains... Under the stars… Ahh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mably
Albuquerque
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit - without a doubt!”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were charmed by this rental - from Jeff's thoughtful personalized welcome note to his offer to take some group photos of us with his beautiful horse Buster upon our departure. The Casita is outfitted with such care and an eye for beauty. Really, I could live there! Jeff sent a comprehensive email before our arrival, giving us tips on things to do, restaurants (with ratings), hotlinks to assist in making plans and reservations as needed, and very clear driving directions - we found the place in the dark. Written info strategically placed to guide you in everything, from how to use the coffeemaker to how to set the heat when leaving for the day.
We loved the hot tub set a distance from the house next to a pinon tree and open to the sky (starry, starry on the night we used it). Beds were comfortable, plenty of towels, good pillows and blankets. Tons of magazines and books with articles about the area around Abiquiu and Georgia O'Keeffe, Ghost Ranch and much more. Wi-Fi worked, kitchen is fully equipped, good provisions in the refrigerator and freezer - really, it would be hard to improve on anything. Hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How much thought, care and creativity was evident.
Liked least: I am digging here, but if there is one thing, it would be the toaster
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2016
Thanks Molly! I enjoyed meeting all 4 of you lovely ladies. Thanks again for your complimentary kind words! Thanks for being such awesome guests. Hugs to all of you, Jeff P.S. Please say thanks to Pamela, Jayne & Kate too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spikuh7
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Incredible hospitality in a beautiful area”
Reviewed December 24, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We truly had an amazing time! The surrounding area was incredible and the hikes were beautiful. Best of all was that Jeff really thought of everything to be sure our trip was perfect. He had the best tips for enjoying the area, had amazing coffee and breakfast foods prepared (in a fully stocked kitchen), and my wife got to spend all day with the animals.
Highly recommend and will surely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nearby hikes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR B
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The casita has every amenity you can think of!”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We came here for the Friday & Saturday after thanksgiving to decompress. Jeff & Marilyn are available to help you with anything but are not intrusive. We brought our dogs & they had dog bowls there & a secure courtyard to roam around. There's a big notebook to give you ideas on what to do. & how to operate the devices ( hot tub dish\tv etc) . You can tell that Jeff & Marilyn have put a lot of thought effort & love into this rental property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The amenities were great for such a rural location
Liked least: Lots of rules
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Thank you and your dogs for being such wonderful guests and for your very nice review!! We hope all of you can return again soon! All the best, Jeff & Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernie123m...
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPERIOR RETREAT IN NORTHERN NEW MEXICO”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Chaparosa is a quintessential New Mexico experience which allowed us to unplug from our frenzied lives. The views among the foothills were breathtaking. Long walks at sunrise and sunset on the many nearby secluded roads and trails were a wonderful way to begin or end our day. Under the always changing colors of the sky are the land below which changes with it. Dramatic landforms served as a backdrop to the wide open expanses.
Jeff, the owner, was attentive to every need. It is clear this man has put his heart and soul into this venture, and it shows. No detail has been overlooked. Our only regret is we did not find this gem years ago.
Chaparosa is a beautifully furnished classic New Mexican style retreat, both welcoming and comfortable. An abundance of local art was found in the finely appointed rooms. The kitchen was fully stocked with cooking equipment. Breakfast included farm fresh eggs and freshly roasted coffee. If there’s anything missing all one need to do is ask.
Carrots are provided for the three friendly burros which live on the property. Jeff’s two sweet dogs helped us overcome missing our dog back home. Each morning while enjoying breakfast on the front patio we watched dozens of hummingbirds flit about as they filled up on nearby feeders.
Chaparosa has every possible modern amenity…including a private hut tub. Abiquiu and Ghost Ranch are just down the road. We horse backed, kayaked, and hiked the general area, as well as visited the many fine wineries. We shall be back in 2016. Ernie & Jim Ann Arbor, MI

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The casita's modern and finely appointed rooms, the owner's interest in proving the best service possible, and the rural setting.
Liked least: Had to leave and go back to reality.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaburke
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“How Soon Can I Come Back?!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I have only stayed in a few vacation rentals, and was totally awed with this Casita when we came in. On a girlfriends get-a way with our horses, we were immediately impressed with the view, the "curbside" appeal and the whole ambiance. The dirt road going in was a little rough, but nothing we hadn't seen before. It was quite tight getting our 3 horse slant load gooseneck trailer in, but Jeff got busy with a branch trimmer and soon had us safely parked. After getting our horses settled ( in convenient, safe corrals) we left them to make friends with the llamas and burros.
We were delighted with the wonderful attention to detail we saw every where. Jeff, our host, quickly showed us around and where all the little things we might want or need could be found. Imagine....even DVD copies of all the movies which have been filmed around here! Farm fresh eggs in the fridge, local lavender products in the bathroom, split wood in the back.......heaven! I forgot a hair dryer and that was the ONLY thing we could have used, but air drying on a sunny porch is a nice option.
The serene setting from the back porch in the evening is astounding. The sunny patio on the front for breakfast is a delight. Our hosts knew just how much to greet and how much to leave us on our own, and even helped feed our horses one night when we got back from Santa Fe later than we anticipated!
It was a perfect set up for three lady friends, but I kept picturing how much fun it would be to come back with my husband! Oh, and I WILL be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: OUr hosts, the ambiance, the attention to detail!
Liked least: Access on the dirt road and into the property with a large horse trailer.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing