We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has everything I think”

Bode's General Merchandise
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Abiquiu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Has everything I think”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I couldn't believe the range of goods at this place and some very interesting stuff too. I don't think I'd have lunch at the cafe but as a general store and gifty type stuff it has it all in a somewhat remote area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank linnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    54
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“How about some hardware with that burger?”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

As the name suggests, Bode's is an old-school general merchandise store with little restaurant along the northwest corner of the building; the remainder offers everything from fishing tackle to knives to beer to enamelware menudo pots. Seating limited to about a dozen people, but this is more than offset by the fact that all the items on their menu are custom-prepared on the spot. Early morning arrivals queue up for breakfast burritos (eggs, cheese, bacon/chorizo), while the mid-day folks go after the green chili burgers. It's social hotspot of the valley and the locals will definitely give you their opinions about anything you ask about . . even if you don't ask. A fun place to visit always

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank puckerstoppled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The last general store in America”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place took be back to my childhood when you could buy a grape Nehi, a fishing license, charcoal and a plastic bouncing Jesus dashboard figurine all in the same store. Oh and they serve up a pretty nice lunch too! I had the BLT with turkey and avocado thrown in since I wasn't up for the green chile cheeseburger. Good stuff! And we bought some righteous groceries for later, along with some local wine and some imported beer. Bodes is the beating heart of Abiquiu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I had there green chile chesse burger....... it was good till I saw a long hair on my burger grossed me out....... I vomited

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daboss505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Rural Store!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Bode's is an amazing store and GREAT place to eat. Maps, groceries, good wine/beer selection, camping supplies and one of the best Green Chili Cheeze Burgers you will ever have a chance to eat! They even had a full selection of Yeti ice chests!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bode's General Merchandise also viewed

 

Been to Bode's General Merchandise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing