We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Abiquiu Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abiquiu Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Abiquiu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for the first time at the inn on the Friday of Memorial Day weekend enroute to Chama, NM for the excursion train. We have ALWAYS dined at the restaurant but this was our first stay. A little snafu with our reservations (their computers had crashed) but David more that made up for the issue. The establishment is nestled amongst various trees nor far from the Abiquiu River. The rooms were rustically furnished, clean and spacious. Everything you needed was available -- pillows -- my husband and I never have enough pillows and this king bed must have had 7 or 8!! Cookies! Homemade cookies were left in the room! We definitely will make the inn our stop again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dede_Abiquiuinn, Inkeeper at Abiquiu Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

FIVE STAR RATING!! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Abiquiu Inn. We love it when we get such positive feedback from our Guests.
Happy you enjoyed the homemade cookies we left for you and all the pillows. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit. Happy Trails! Dede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 407 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having recently had to miss a planned trip to the Abiquiu Inn, I am reminded of how much we love staying there. Each time we travel to the Santa Fe area, we include a sojourn at the Abiquiu Inn! Their restaurant is amazing. I think it is perhaps a 4 star restaurant but if not 4 star, at least 3, deserving 4!! The rooms are truly lovely and very comfortable. I believe most have fireplaces and an inner courtyard with a quiet fountain and flowers. Even though there is more than one suite in a building, you have the feeling of being all on your own due to the way the rooms are arranged around the outside of the buildings. The restaurant and a lovely gift shop are off the lobby/check-in area. Upstairs is a very nice art gallery with high quality fine art exhibited. The staff is friendly and as I said, the food is fantastic. And as a bonus, just across the road is Georgia O'Keeffe's Abiquiu house in the scenic village of Abiquiu. Ghost Ranch is just a few miles down the road. I highly recommend staying at the Abiquiu Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillydogyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dede_Abiquiuinn, Inn keeper at Abiquiu Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank You for the wonderful comments about our Abiquiu Inn and for the FIVE STAR RATING! We are so grateful to have such amazing Guests stay with us. I posted your comments for the staff to read and they were thrilled to know how much you enjoy your visits to Abiquiu and our Inn. Hope to see you again soon. Happy Trails! Dede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

WOW...This place is SO wonderful...It is somewhat remote- yet located in one of the most beautiful places i have ever seen...( very close to Plaza Blanca and other attractions)...We were greeted SO warmly and upgraded for no extra charge ( I think we were there at the very end of "off season" - fortunate for us!)..All of the hosts /employees were extremely friendly and helpful ...The room/casita was beautiful , spotless, and tastefully decorated. We felt so RELAXED there- It was truly a retreat to be in our room lounging after an active day...There were ample organic body products provided and really GOOD coffee! The restaurant is also something to RAVE about. ( the chicken quesadillas and all the breakfast food ( we shared!) is especially tasty!)
The grounds are interesting to explore and the view is also inspiring! We simply could not have been more happy with our stay at this Inn. I plan to make it one of my "homes away from home" whenever I can travel to New Mexico.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GypsyJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Based ourselves at the Abiquiu Inn this trip and were soooo glad we did. Loved the casita (ours was lovely; large, spare southwestern decor, clean, modern - including a landline and flatscreen tv which we never turned on). Perfect sleeping conditions (quiet with comfy beds). Enjoyed wandering around the grounds, sitting outside, star-gazing. Abiquiu was the perfect central base for heading out to the area (Plaza Blanca, Christ in the Desert Monastery, Echo Amphitheater, Overlook Park in White Rock, Bandelier National Park, Lake Abiquiu, Chimayo, Santa Fe, Taos, etc.). We also participated in the tour of Georgia O'Keeffe's Abiqui home. The tour conveniently departs from right next to the Inn. Apart from Georgia's home and a small church, there isn't much to see/do in Abiqui itself. Your eating option is basically the Inn - but what a wonderful option it is. We ate there as often as we could; every meal was a tasty treat. The main building houses the lobby, dining room, and a gift shop with enticing products. Staff are super friendly and accommodating. If you are addicted to your technology you might go into panic mode. Cell service was spotty to non-existent. Wi-Fi was spotty to very good. Didn't bother us as we weren't there to stare at electronic devices and, if we needed service, we could usually find a connection when we were out and about. Our Abiquiu experience was so wonderful, we didn't want to leave...however, we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We took the backroads after a day of hiking in Chaco Canyon and on a Sunday night weren't sure we'd find a place to eat. We pulled in just before they stopped serving and the food was fabulous. Inquired about a room and was given a quiet room that was a delight after a long day of hiking in the wind and cool sunshine. The room we had sported lovely decor, it was clean, had a fireplace, and plenty of charm. The bed was comfortable and if it had a pool I might return for a week's stay! The food in the restaurant was unusually good and the staff quite friendly. We'd hoped to see the O'Keeffe home but it was Holy Week and the tours weren't available, a bit ironic since I understood she was not a believer.

Hard to tell what it might have been like were there more guests but it's a quiet little spot and is worth making a plan to experience. Wanted to hit the hot springs but not this trip.

Room Tip: I asked to be away from the road as it's not a main thoroughfare but we are sensitive to road no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4oystercatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We liked the Abiquiu Inn very much. The room we stayed in was very clean, the cookies in the room were a treat, we had a great night's sleep, the staff was very nice and helpful and the attached restaurant/cafe had the best meal we ate for our entire trip. Our compliments to the hotel staff and the chef.
We would recommend you bring slippers, as the floor in the room is a fine-finish concrete. It is very cold when walking in your bare feet (in the summer this may not be a problem). Also, there is no cell phone service in the area (not the Inn's fault).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTraveler696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our third trip to the area and we finally stayed here. Great choice! Whether you stay put and simply take day hikes (or, perhaps just sit on the porch and drink coffee!) or you use it as home base to visit the surrounding area....you will appreciate the location, the hospitality of the staff, and the comfort of your room. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. Enjoyed both the porch and the shared courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskamclj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abiquiu
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
22.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
19.6 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
57 reviews
22.6 mi away
Canyon Inn - Downtown Los Alamos
21.8 mi away
Pueblo Canyon Inn
Pueblo Canyon Inn
#1 of 4 in Los Alamos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abiquiu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abiquiu Inn

Address: 21120 Highway 84, PO Box 120, Abiquiu, NM 87510
Location: United States > New Mexico > Abiquiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Abiquiu
Price Range: $155 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abiquiu Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abiquiu Inn is perfectly situated in the beautiful Chama River Valley close to the Georgia O'Keeffe Home & Studio. The casitas are lovely with cozy fireplaces & breathtaking views. Explore the magnificent landscape made famous by Georgia O'Keeffe. Cafe Abiquiu features a delightful New Mexican menu & AZUL Gift Store offers pottery, paintings and jewelry created by local & international artists. Wine and beer served and small meeting spaces available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Abiquiu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abiquiu Hotel Abiquiu
Inn Abiquiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing