We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice decor, but...”
Review of Abiquiu Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abiquiu Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Abiquiu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
222 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice decor, but...”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I reserved a king-size bedroom. The bed, sheets, decor, bathroom tile and fixtures--all beautiful! But like many deluxe hotels, you sometimes pay more and get less. For example, no free breakfast, no wifi in room, no frig or microwave, no pool or hottub, no coin laundry, no cell phone service here or in entire town. Power went out at 9 am, so our room suddenly had no lights, water, or landline phone. And no sympathy from the front desk--maybe not their fault, but an "I'm sorry" would have helped.
For a cheaper, more conventional motel try Española down the road.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travel963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    87
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
55
184
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, TX
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a lovely time, great room, better meal! We were able to bring our Boston Terrier. Very charming, well maintained and clean. No phone service for our cells, but that is alright, too. We plan to be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaaloa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My mother and I spent a single night and were completely charmed. The area is spectacular, the restaurant was excellent and the room decor was northern New Mexico perfect. Our room was one of several that encircled a small joint courtyard with flowers and fountains. Perfect for sipping outdoor coffee. Very clean, beds very comfortable. No cell phone reception and internet only at main building but that actually isn't a bad thing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you want to experience the exquisite Northern New Mexico landscape without camping, this is a beautiful location set just below Georgia O'Keefe's home in Abiquiu. We stayed in a very comfortable Red Mesa room far from the road, with just the hummingbirds and a neighboring cow to keep us company. We spent a lot of time sitting outside our room -- the view toward Plaza Blanca was spectacular and the mosquitoes were minor, considering our proximity to Rio Chama. It is true that there is no Internet or AT&T service but we found that a plus, given that we really wanted to be fully in-the-moment. The cafe is excellent - try the blue corn trout with tamales or the steak salad. It is a short drive to Ghost Ranch, Santa Clara and San Ildefonso Pueblos, Los Alamos, and Bandelier National Park, as well as Abiquiu Lake. Also, check out the Rising Moon Gallery next to the Abiquiu Post Office - high quality artwork and apparel with a very friendly and knowledgeable owner.

Room Tip: The best views are from the rooms in the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for three nights in room 21, one of the newer rooms in the back.
Large room, good use of space, no wi-fi or cell reception.
Room was clean and bathroom was great! Large, good area outside of tub and toilet..
We are dinner one night at The Inn and it Was very good.
The only downfall was we couldn't be outside at all because of all of the mosquitoes. We ran from the car to the room and there we still mosquitoes in the room. My daughter had over forty bites. We used the lavender oil spray that we bought in the gift shop but it didn't help. BTW, the gift shop is nice as well as the front desk staff.
I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in room 3 and the mattress was a killer - super soft. Loved the look of the patio but couldn't sit out there because of the other guests pit bull dog. He barked everytime I went out one time he even almost came in our room barking at us (not on a leash).
Bathroom had an "ick factor" and wasn't cleaned the first day we were there - the bathmat was still on the floor with dirt & bugs on it. It's a cute place but I wouldn't go back. No WiFi in rooms & sometimes not in lobby. Remember, there is NO CELL PHONE coverage up there. There's a "hot spot" about 2.5 miles away but you drive out of it quickly.
Yes! It is buggy in Aug. my legs are all bit up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holley-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I'd give this place a 3.5. We stayed in room 19, one of their two smallest rooms. AC worked great + strong shower pressure, but the toilet leaked, so it kept refilling itself every half hour, which kept waking me up at night. NO WIFI IN GUEST ROOMS- you have to go to the lobby to access it. The nearby scenery is gorgeous, but this little town is very remote; a sign in the restaurant says Abiquiu population is 478. Very few food choices (Bode's gas station/market nearby has hot food only until 3pm, and the next closest restaurant is El Farolito, 15 miles away), and the restaurant here is on the pricey side for us ($10 for breakfast entrees, $10-$13 for sandwiches, $13-$20 for dinner entrees), but the food is nothing special. Breakfast was NOT included with our room, but we purchased a breakfast option for $15 extra. The Inn also has a gift shop with $12 organic body lotions, bags of pistachios, and lots of art (jewelry, carvings, etc.) by local artists. There's not much to do around here besides hike at Ghost Ranch (I recommend the Box Canyon hike if you're reasonably fit and stable on your feet) and drive your boat on the lake. Echo Amphitheatre is not very interesting, just a short sidewalk path leading to a curved rock formation where you can yell and hear it come back to you. My favorite activity was a visit to the nearby Dar Al Islam mosque. Also, when we went in early August, it was SUPER BUGGY (i didn't expect this), and I had over 15 bites when I checked out (I always attract mosquitoes).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abiquiu
22.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
19.6 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
21.8 mi away
Pueblo Canyon Inn
Pueblo Canyon Inn
#2 of 3 in Los Alamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abiquiu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abiquiu Inn

Property: Abiquiu Inn
Address: 21120 Highway 84, PO Box 120, Abiquiu, NM 87510
Location: United States > New Mexico > Abiquiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Abiquiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abiquiu Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abiquiu Inn is perfectly situated in the beautiful Chama River Valley close to the Georgia O'Keeffe Home & Studio. The casitas are lovely with cozy fireplaces & breathtaking views. Explore the magnificent landscape made famous by Georgia O'Keeffe. Cafe Abiquiu features a delightful New Mexican menu & AZUL Gift Store offers pottery, paintings and jewelry created by local & international artists. Wine and beer served and small meeting spaces available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your Abiquiu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abiquiu Hotel Abiquiu
Inn Abiquiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing